We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for afterwork drinks or romantic drinks during the week”
Review of Casa Mezcal

Casa Mezcal
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa Mezcal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,976 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Lower East Side
Cross street: Broome Street
Transit: Nearest Subway: Delancey and Essex F, M, J, Z trains
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect place for afterwork drinks or romantic drinks during the week”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very nice decor, good service, great ambiance and very interesting spicy cocktails from which it is hard to get drunk (very spicy!). Not too cheap but it is worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brnensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Mezcaleria”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was very skeptical to get into this Mezcaleria.
Usually I stay away from all these Mexican bars and restaurants because of all my bad past experiences.
This Casa Mezcal had a very professional service, the food had a nice presentation and tasty as well.
Cozy place, warm and familiar atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jfbartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Margaritas”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have come here a billion times and I always sit at the bar to have a few margaritas during happy hour and end up ordering everything on the menu to eat. I love this place. The drinks are great, the staff is friendly and the food is yummy. They have an open kitchen so you can see them preparing your food right there which is always a nice treat. Every time I am in the area I am sure to stop by. They also have a good happy hour with margaritas and food items. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taimata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cute space but not what you expect from a NYC restaurant”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We went here because it was upstairs from an event at Obra Negra. The space is really cute, just don't look at the dust bunnies living on the ceiling lights(they will fall down in food one day). The drinks were ok but I now know I prefer Tequila to Mezcal. It is probably more authentic than what I am used to so while it was all tasty I wouldn't go out of my way to go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly place for Oaxacan food, drink and fun.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We went for drinks and food on the recommendation of a Mexican friend, and were not disappointed. We made a reservation for 7 people (they only take reservations for 6 or more), but ended up being 11, but there was no problem. The downstairs bar area just has stools and a few small booths, but there is a regular dining room upstairs that can seat at least 25. Delicious margaritas are half price from 5 to 7 pm, but they have many other concoctions as well featuring not only tequila, but of course mezcal (the drinks menu explains the difference). One of the owners of the restaurant has a mezcal distillery in Mexico. The other is a photographer who happened by while we were there and explained the interesting photos on display in the restaurant.

The food was great too. Favorites among our group were the braised lamb shank, the chicken with mole sauce, and of course the fried grasshoppers (yes, really).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArnepDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Mezcal also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Casa Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing