We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Diner Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonstruck Diner

Moonstruck Diner
Ranked #8,342 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Chelsea
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average Diner Food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Not much to really say about this place. I think it gets most of it's crowd based on it's relationship with the movie in which the diner was shown in. The food was ok, but if you are into checking out spots that's popular due to their movie relationship, you should check it out. I don't think you will be disappointed with the food, but I don't think you will be blown away by it either. So go for what you know.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average, but pricey”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Moonstruck Diner in my neighborhood (Chelsea) has been changed to the Rail Line Diner ... not sure if it's the same people or the diner was sold to another company. The staff seems to be the same but the prices seem to be a bit more. It could just be me. It's an average diner w/ average diner food. Nothing to really rave about. The newly decorated space is nice, clean and bright. However, if I saw this diner in a line-up or other 'so-so' diners, I wouldn't be able to really pick it out. That being said, the service is always good. The food is decent and comes out quickly. The staff is always really nice and especially to my little boy when he comes with.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie6420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
450 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“What you would expect from a diner”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This place is what you would expect from a diner in New York City. Nothing to write home about but nothing bad to say. This place is good to find good diner food at decent prices (for NYC). They have a good breakfast!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindful_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Standard Diner Food...”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Decent diner food, you're not going to get anything out of the ordinary here but if you want a generous portion of something to fill you on a slight budget you can't go wrong coming here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“stle bustle”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Hidden amongst the NYC hustle bustle is the place I met my husband in 1993 - Moonstruck Diner, which is still here! Chelsea is my favorite neighborhood in NYC. Chelsea offers beautiful tree lined streets, smiling people and great little shops and restaurants. This place feels like a neighborhood even own with some big name chains on the corners. Very diverse people live here in harmony.

And Moonstruck is open 24/7 for some of the best food in town and a wide array of foods.

Although our best friend is no longer with us in this world, Costa Thomas's spirit lives in Moonstruck! A must go!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4Cindy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonstruck Diner also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Moonstruck Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing