We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected the music to be great, the surprise is the quality from the kitchen”
Review of Iridium Jazz Club

Iridium Jazz Club
Ranked #3,676 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 51ST.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Expected the music to be great, the surprise is the quality from the kitchen”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was our second visit to Iridium. Last time was two years ago and we went to the 10pm show and really enjoyed the music and the meal. This time we went at 8pm and again the show was great, but this earlier set is quite a bit shorter than the later slot. Once again the food was excellent. We were a party of five and all our selections were good. I'd characterize the menu as Italian influenced American. Among our choices we had the fish special (Skate), veal, chicken, steak - all were enjoyed. The wine list is good and reasonably priced.
Next time I think we'll go for the later show and see more music and be more relaxed about leaving. Two years ago we hung out after the show with some of the musicians. Not possible when there's a second set scheduled after the early show.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    22
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Les Paul trio.”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We went to the iridium on a Monday night. We booked a table the night before. My husband has wanted to see the great guitarist Les Paul since he was a young man. Sadly les died a few years ago but his trio still play. It's a lovely small venue,we sat next to the stage, wonderful. We had dinner, the food was fine . I don't even remember what we eat as the music was the focus. We had the best night of our entire holiday. A night my husband and I will never forget it was almost spiritual. After the gig finished w e met all the band and chatted to them. My husband was introduced to les Paul's son which was an amazing experience .the service was good , prices ok food fine but entertainment outstanding .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes
Level Contributor
421 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Good music and correct meal”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Easy to find on times square,
Correct meal-the steak was excellent and also the caesar...
Special dessert depending of the artits . I take a strawberry cake in "honor" of Molly Ringwald: excellent show...
Nice cocktails.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jazz on Broadway...a little schmaltzy but fun!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We had the delight of attending Molly Ringwald's concert at the Iridium, and must say she was a delightful surprise! No complaints, a great concert and a great voice. Molly Ringwald a jazz singer - Who knew?

The room was a little bit Broadway tacky, but the sound was great and there were no bad seats. We bought a very affordable bottle of wine from a nice selection, and enjoyed the "Pretty in Pink cake" made in Molly's honor that evening - delicious and pretty to look at! The prices were reasonable, and by the look of those around us, the food looked delicious.

For a jazz club, the Iridium is a bit too Broadway-ish, but Molly more than made up for that. We'll be watching the schedule and will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmarcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
368 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Place in Times Square”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and reserved two tickets for Saturday night's 8pm show. We had never been there before. We located it easily in the center of Time Square area and were directed to the basement. It shares the building with Stardust Diner on the first floor. The place is really cool. The staff very friendly. There was a $15 per person minimum in addition to the music charge, but really not a major deal if you ave something to east (we did not) or a couple drinks, which we did. The sound was excellent and all in all a very enjoyable evening. There were a ton of young college or even high school kids in the place but that was not an issue. They were obviously not being served alcohol so the place was responsible. They were there for the show as well and I'm sure they also enjoyed it. The tables are a bit tight but however. We will definitely return for future shows. My wife and I both loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iridium Jazz Club also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Iridium Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing