We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but not totally wow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kin Shop - CLOSED

Kin Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Village
Cross street: between 11th & 12th streets
Transit: Take A, B, C, D, E to West 4th (north exit) 1,2 or 3 to 14th (south exit) F, M, L and PATH at 14th Street & 6th Ave.
Description: Kin Shop is a contemporary Thai restaurant opened by Chef Harold Dieterle and Alicia Nosenzo. The duo chose the name, Kin Shop, because “kin,” is the Thai word for “to eat” and the restaurant is the “kin” to their acclaimed restaurant Perilla, a mere seven-minute walk away. Kin Shop’s menu features both contemporary reinterpretations of traditional Thai dishes and wholly new items inspired by Thai ingredients. Complementing Kin Shop’s menu (which is meant to be shared), are Thai-influenced specialty cocktails, a 75-label, spice-friendly international wine list with many bottles priced under $50, and a diverse globe-spanning selection of beers, many from small, craft producers. The casual, but polished setting features comfortable banquettes, a long granite bar, and a chef’s counter for walk-in dining with a front-row view.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but not totally wow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Still looking to try good SEAsian food in NY (Pok Pok here I come)

This was perfectly pleasant The Khao Suey though good missed the drama of the real thing (no multiple bowl of condiments to mix in) Its an interpretation and a well executed interpretation of SE Asian food The service was excellent and the ambience a lovely retreat on a rainy May eve!
Go for simple and well prepared SE Asian food which has slightly been modified to suit the N American palate

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MICHAELBRAGALONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Valley, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impeccable service and most interesting flavors!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I attended a birthday dinner of 9 guests seated between the glass partitions. Not having a vast knowledge of Thai food, I was blown away by all the different flavors in each dish. They put together a wonderful sampling menu and I was so fortunate to taste many dishes in one evening! The crispy roti with a tasting of condiments is a nice way to begin. My favorites were the Gem lettuce salad, Crispy oyster salad, Fried broccoli & Chinese sausage, Peanut noodles, Roasted duck breast, Roasted monkfish, and Cauliflower Steak. Pretty much everything on our preset menu. Desiree was our server and very attentive to our group's needs. The only disappointment was the Coconut cake, not sweet enough for my taste, but the Mango sorbet is off the charts. My best advice is to go with a group that enjoys sharing so you taste all the different flavors their Thai cuisine offers!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank olivetravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff, accommodating chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Had dinner with two girlfriends recently, my 4th or 5th visit, the first for one of us. We all enjoyed our meals. They both had the roasted monkfish dish while I stuck with their braised goat. The goat is so delicious that it is really hard not to order it every time.
The menu is carefully curated with the freshest of ingredients, inventive combinations and marvelous tastes and textures. Good sized wine list including several available by the glass.
The service was exceptionally good this time. Attentive without being overbearing. The young woman wanted to make sure we were happy with everything and when my friend asked for a vegetable dish to be prepared without the soy-heavy sauce, a new dish came out within minutes.
The space is attractive but fair warning -- the room gets very loud, making intimate conversation all but impossible. But as long as you aren't having a top secret meeting, and you are willing to raise your voice, you'll be able to enjoy a terrific meal at New York reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lranewyorkparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Thai street food brought to the next level: Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We always enjoy our experience at Kin Shop. Harold D has done a great job bringing Thai street food to NYC. This restaurant has a neighborhood feel but with a contemporary upscale twist. Simple interior, friendly wait staff and most importantly fantastic flavors. The thai shrimp are spicy and fresh. The peanut noodles light and decadent. The fried broccoli were crispy and hot.
The duck was also nice. The drinks/cocktails are also creative. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Definitely not your run of the mill Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I've eaten at Kin Shop a couple of times. One of the pleasures is a menu that escapes from the cliches of the run-of-the-mill Thai. Kin Shop has a contemporary twist, and in a good way. It references Thai classics and Thai street food, while offering something fresh. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison_Albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kin Shop also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing