We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very hearty dishes, service a bit slow”
Review of Mason Jar

Mason Jar
Reserve with OpenTable
Mason Jar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,237 of 13,618 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 30th between Park and Madison
Transit: Take the 6 train to 33rd Street.
Description: Mason Jar serves mouthwatering American BBQ/Comfort food. There is an extensive Bourbon Menu and Craft Beer pairings.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
374 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“very hearty dishes, service a bit slow”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

tried the mac n cheese, hearty and creamy. went with the brisket sandwich (true mark of a great BBQ joint) and it was fall apart but a bit dry. the beans were very smoky and sweet. I'd recommend if you are nearby,buy Dinosaur BBQ is a place in NYC for a BBQ side trip or special out of the way move.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great end to a great day!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We arrived at Mason Jar just before 10pm on our first full day in NYC feeling rather weary... a local lager, few appetisers and the option to watch the Ice Hockey on TV made this feel like a great NY experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Eh...It's what you'd expect”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I heard about this place because a friend told me it was a "Carolina Bar." My wife and I made our way and expected a cliche bar in the NYC to try and pass things off as Southern. The bar itself is nice and inviting. If I lived there, I would go to watch the Carolina Gamecocks play with fans and alum. However, the wait staff was not friendly, accommodating or even interested in making me a drink. Maybe it was an off night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark_kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, null, Bermuda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big portions and great value”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although Mason Jar isn't a "high brow" BBQ place like Hill Country, it always hit the spot for solid BBQ at a good value. Check out the restaurant.com coupon for extra savings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Visited here on a recent trip to New York and was impressed with both food and service. It was quiet for a lunch time service but food came quickly and was very tasty. Would certainly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 91foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mason Jar also viewed

 

Been to Mason Jar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing