We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accom for family visit”
Review of The Canal Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Canal Park Inn
Ranked #12 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect accom for family visit”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We can't praise the CP Inn highly enough. The staff were equally welcoming and charming to the adults and to the teenagers in our party. The Batby Room was really comfortable, spotlessly clean and of excellent quality and the apartment had everything we needed. The location worked really well for sightseeing in a this lively and fascinating part of town and is close to a variety of subway stations. Thanks, Team, you are doing a great job!

Room Tip: Canal Street is a major thoroughfare, but we were not disturbed by noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    29
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
88
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After a delayed flight, a fraught subway ride and getting a bit lost in the dark, we arrived at the Canal Park Inn frazzled. But from the moment we opened the front door, we knew our stay in New York would be fantastic. The room was peachy with everything we needed, including quiet seclusion from the Hudson traffic: the towels were fluffy and smelt of home, the bed was warm and inviting, the décor was pretty and there was even a history of the building to read through. Our beautiful breakfast was served with fun conversation and genuinely helpful travel tips. The area was fantastic for travelling, sightseeing and having fun. I'm only sad our stay wasn't a bit longer so we could have fit in a show at the Playhouse. We can't wait to go back, and my only concern about writing a good review is that it'll make it such a popular venue, it'll be a nightmare to get a booking when we do!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FB_and_RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My friend an I have just come back to Australia after spending 2 weeks in New York. What a gem this B&B was. To be able to come "home" to our Batby Room after the frantic area in uptown was for us the icing on the cake. We also were not certain about its location but it is just a short walk and I do mean short to the subway to get to anywhere we needed in New York. This B&B was safe with coding and key access. We walked up Greenwich Street and found a new world. We went uptown and yes another new world. I believe that we were able to experience the people of New York from different walks of life because of this location. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. They were responsive and nothing was a problem. thanks you to the Osbornes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio-Indiana-Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I wanted to stay on the west side of NYC, near the new Hudson River Park, so we could walk out at night and view the sunset. At first I was concerned that the part of town (edge of TriBeCa was a bit "dead" but I was so wrong. It was peaceful, despite the busy Canal Street, because the Canal Park Inn is so well sound-proofed, and we could walk out to the park very easily (1 block) just as I had wished. And the park was so lively: tons of families and kids and people. Plus it turns out that there are LOTS of places to eat, hang-out, a farmer's Market, a Whole Foods, and clean, safe streets to walk at night! The subway was very close and we never had any trouble hailing a cab when we were in a hurry. Kip & Sarah at the Inn were super helpful and we had a great breakfast each morning! We're hoping to make this our home away from home when in New York!

Room Tip: We stayed in the DeNot Suite, on the street side. The whole place seems very well sound-proofed--li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
226 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was my 4th visit to NYC in the past 5 years. I had previously stayed in a upper West Side vacation rental, a Times Square hotel, and the Tutu Conference Center in Chelsea. All were pleasant and fit the type of trip well.
The Canal Park Inn was yet another, & completely different, experience. I was visiting with my husband and grown daughter and so needed a room large enough for 3 adults. CPI's suites were perfect for us. There was not a room available for all 3 nights of our stay, but the owners were very accommodating and allowed us to stay in one suite and then switch to another for the next 2 nights. This gave us the ability to enjoy two of the very individualized spaces the CPI offers.
Our first suite was the Denot. The next one was the Sinnot Suite. Each had their charm and each was incredible large for a NYC room! We had no problem fitting the 3 of us and our luggage. The bathrooms were spacious and accommodating. Our daughters room was truly separate and each had a lovely and useful kitchen area, too. Each had a book that gave the history of the area and the building---which was actually really interesting.
The differences: Denot is on a lower floor---less stairs to take luggage up & down but closer to the noise of Canal Street. Denot's tv is in the main bedroom. Sinnot's is in the sitting room/2nd bedroom. Denot has a table & chairs in the kitchen; Sinnot's is in the sitting room/2nd bedroom. Both are charming. The beds in both were super comfortable!
The hosts are possibly the best part of this B&B. They had the rooms made up for 3 before we got there; moved our luggage themselves from one room to the other and from the downstairs up when we arrived before the room was ready. Put a cold breakfast of granola, berries, & milk in the frig for the day that my daughter and I had to catch an early train and were just generally incredibly helpful and friendly without any sense of intrusiveness.
Finally, it was also fun to explore a part of Manhatten that we hadn't explored yet. My friend who lives in Manhatten was impressed with our Tribeca address ;-)
We would highly reccommend this inn to anyone wanting a great NYC experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frauduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It's all been said! We found The Canal Park Inn tops in comfort, location, amenities, breakfast and care. The personal touches provided by Sarah-Doe and Kipp made us feel completely at home. Book and stay with confidence.
If you want non-stop action and shopping next door, book near Times Square. We took the subway to all the action spots and returned to our little enclave to rest. Our room was as quiet as a night in the country.
This place offers a calm, safe neighbourhood with several great restaurants around the corner. It's two blocks to the long ribbon of Hudson Park where you can walk, run or bike for miles in either direction.

Room Tip: We stayed in Denot for a week. The extra room was a great place to keep our bags. The bathroom is &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our second visit to New York and it was just a joy to stay at the Canal Park Inn instead of the usual mid town hotel. Kipp and Sarah are so welcoming, friendly and accommodating and this made our stay so much more enjoyable. It was lovely to have breakfast with the other guests in the morning (breakfasts are delicious, thoroughly recommend the French Toast and Granola with berries and yogurt!) and chat to Sarah and Kipp about our plans for the day. The location was just what we were after, much more residential and low key than where we stayed before near Times Square. It was a short walk to the World Trade Centre Memorial and there were lots of nice restaurants near by for dinner. If we get back to New York in years to come we would not hesitate to stay here and we will be recommending to any of our friends thinking of a trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sinnot which was on the top floor at the front. Very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Arlo SoHo
Arlo SoHo
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Canal Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canal Park Inn

Property: The Canal Park Inn
Address: 508 Canal St, New York City, NY 10013-1303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Canal Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the border of Soho and Tribeca, our landmarked 1826 Canal House is ideally situated for experiencing the best New York has to offer—and still having a quiet place to call home at the end of the day. Surrounded by 5-star restaurants and a block away from the landscaped parks, open grass, tennis courts, and stunning sunsets at the Hudson River Park, we strike a perfect balance between nature and culture.The Osborne’s have owned 508 Canal Street since 1980. In this building, they raised their daughter, providing the building with family history built into the very walls. (Behind a renovation wall on the top floor of the building is hidden a mural painted by children at a particularly creative third birthday party.) The beds and several end tables in the Inn were built by Kipp Osborne, coming from the days when he and his wife, Margot, were furniture makers in Soho and Tribeca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Canal Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canal Park Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing