We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong”

David Burke Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
David Burke Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,099 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Thompson
Transit: A, C, E, J, N. Q, R, Z, 1, 6: Canal Street Stations
Description: David Burke Garden at The James New York is an unparalleled outdoor space with its own bar and seating for 130. The space, along with the hotel's urban garden, is landscaped with herb beds and flowers by horticulturalist Rebecca Cole and decorated with sculptures made of recycled materials that reflect the rustic, whimsical vibe. Guests can begin a meal at David Burke Garden with snacks and starters such as a tomato, ricotta and eggplant trifle, tuna tartar tacos with whipped avocado and tomato gazpacho with watermelon and rock shrimp. Sandwiches such as the soft-shell crab with salted mango puree, pickled vegetables and Old Bay mayo and the bacon cheddar Kitchen burger with jalapeno fries complement the open-air space, which also features a 14-seat chef's table and private cabanas. At the bar, sun-brewed iced tea is served in glass jugs, with flavors such as Meyer lemon, hibiscus and ginger-peach. David Burke Garden is open weekdays from noon to 10pm and from 11am-10pm on weekends.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I went here for dinner during restaurant week. It was great. There were many choices (which is appreciated during restaurant week when s many places give very small portions and very few choices) and the portions were more than adequate. All of Burke's restaurants are delicious and this one lives up to the reputation. The watermelon tomato gazpacho was amazing and the short rib is the best!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathleenTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    141
    64
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DB never disappoints”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Dined at David Burke Kitchen for the first time with a few girl friends. Our server was very accommodating with special requests. Meals were fantastic. I've been to the other two David Burke restaurants in NYC (DB Townhouse and DB Fishtail), and this restaurant easily measures up to those in service and quality of food. We discovered the 2nd floor garden after our meal; it offers outdoor dining and bar with a view of the Freedom Tower at the World Trade Center. Had we known, we might've requested a table there instead. Next time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal in Manhattan”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Unique gourmet food combinations. Even the "bread basket" was fun. The bread is served on a wooden cutting board with grapes and pickled carrots. The butter is served on a Himalayan salt block which is used throughout David Burke's cooking techniques.

Our family had the Cauliflower Steak which was served on a delicious bed of faro, raisins, toasted almonds, and artichokes, the Filet Mignon, and the Branzino which was the whole fish with a olive, lemon, tomato and fennel vinaigrette. Try the jalapeno & parmesan fries as a side.

Too full for the monkey bread, but would have tried that if we had room.

Parking can be a challenge as you are in SoHo, but Eric at the James Hotel New York was very helpful for our family. We initially were seated upstairs and outside in the Garden and Treehouse, but fortunately moved inside as it poured rain 15 minutes after we moved downstairs to the Kitchen. Our server was the best and our mason jar water glasses were never empty. A fantastic meal in a great location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrs314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service ”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a family dinner party on the top floor patio/ private room. So, the service was excellent. Setting was great: an open air patio under the moonlight. Except, it was a bit windy that night and there was no lighting. We didn't have joy of visual tasting. (Well, this is still a traditional in-the-cave non-lit dining table set up.) Food was great except i couldn't see well. I had beef. Excellent meat. Wine selection was good, too. I usually do not have dessert, but i enjoyed the dessert here.
The restaurant is located close to a metro station.

Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Food is wonderful. Service is outstanding! Options for wine is excellent. Definitively coming back. Ambience and attention to detail is fab.

Helpful?
Thank ILLUMINOUS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Burke Kitchen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to David Burke Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing