We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for Lincoln Center Pre-performance Dinner”
Review of Arpeggio Food & Wine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arpeggio Food & Wine
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Broadway and 64th
Transit: 1 Train - 66th Street Stop, City Bus, M66, M11, M7, M5, M104
Description: A casual, stylish, full-service a la carte restaurant highlighting innovative Mediterranean cuisine and seasonal ingredients as well as local and global wine selections along with specialty cocktails and mocktails. Guests can dine at the bar, in the lounge or in the center room choosing from appetizers, main courses, artisanal cheeses and cured meats.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Convenient for Lincoln Center Pre-performance Dinner”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Located on the east side of the Avery Fisher Hall lobby, Arpeggio is a convenient place for a pre-performance dinner at any Lincoln Center venue. Ask for a table by the windows where you can watch the pedestrian traffic on Columbus Avenue outside and might even catch a glimpse of a favorite ballerina on her way to the stage door. The attentive service can be as leisurely or fast-paced as you chose. Servers will usually ask you if you have a curtain time to make, but will let you have a relaxed meal if you chose. There is a 3-course prix fixe dinner for $46 with a choice of 2 appetizers, 3 entrees, and 2 desserts. Our party of 4 had tasty meals with wine or beer for $67.50 per person including tax & tip. The food is generally on the light side and the quantities are modest, so you don't need to worry about nodding off during your performance because you ate too much heavy food. The noise levels aren't excessive making conversation possible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dam&gwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Prices reflect the convenience, not the food...”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

If you are looking for a quick meal and want to eat better than one can at the coffee-kiosk then be prepared to pay too much. The food is not bad, it just isn't very special. Some of the wine is very good though. And you will be close to your seat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just horrid”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Imagine one of those mediocre buffet places that handle tour buses of seniors. Now put it in the lobby of Avery Fisher Hall. The food is just bland and severely overpriced. The waitstaff acts hassled and disconnected. We waited 45 minutes for fatty greasy skirt steak ($30) while everyone around us was served, and we were told repeatedly "it's coming right now" for 20 minutes. The ONLY reason to eat here is convenience, and considering that we had no time to finish our meal, spending $140 for two (without any alcohol, dessert, or coffee) was ridiculous.

And no, this wasn't an isolated incident. We gave it 3 tries, hoping that each previous visit was an anomaly. Sadly, not.

Go anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HipMamaNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lincoln Center Dining in Avery Fisher Hall”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This elegant restaurant in Avery Fisher Hall is 'in' the lobby but not 'of' the lobby. Tucked away in one corner it is unobtrusive and sedate yet located amidst the hustle-and-bustle of the crowds coming and going before a show. They fumbled our reservation a bit but quickly sat us where we wished. The menu (NOT extensive) gave ample choices and service was quick, efficient, and courteous. We shared a Caesar Salad (lovely and different then run-of-the-mill types) and my wife had excellent scallops while I enjoyed the striped-bass. Convenient and quick we enjoyed the meal, though at $100 for two with no wine, deserts, or coffee (and including our 10% Philharmonic Friends discount) it is a bit pricy and more can be had for less at any number of restaurants in the surrounding neighborhood. Reservations a MUST pre-show.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre and expensive”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We tried Arpeggio before an evening opera performance. Although our expectations were not high for a restaurant effectively in a public lobby, Arpeggio managed to disappointment even basic standards. Both of our meals were mediocre and expensive. Even the wine selection is highly overpriced. $140 for food a diner would be embarrassed to serve.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arpeggio Food & Wine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing