We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless service. ”
Review of Dublin 6 - CLOSED

Dublin 6
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: West Village
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hopeless service. ”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Average food. Hopeless service. 10 mins to order food, how long does it take to pour a single beer - apparently a further 10 mins, even after asking. The burger was barely cooked, indicating that they were woefully understaffed. Eat in the adjacent restaurants for better service. Prices are expensive for very simple food.

Helpful?
Thank Elvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple Irish pub”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We always walk east west in NY but we bump to this simple Irish pub & had a nice brunch w/ my husband he had the burrito & is had Brioche French toast side of crispy bacon, when they served it so simple presentation even the portion is perfect food is good, I'll highly recommend this place prepare to have a happy hour if you choose prefix it's include 2 drinks. Enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Pcholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhood vibe”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This small bar restaurant has exceptional food in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The brunch specials are terrific and the Irish specialties are authentic and satisfying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TADC10803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delabole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly brilliant!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I found ourselves in NYC for her birthday weekend. We'd been given big lists of where to go and what to eat by friends who had lived there and the day previous had found ourselves at the highly acclaimed 'Balthazar' restaurant (see my other review). However, after a Sunday morning shopping trip at Macy's and a trip up the Empire State Building, we decided to head over to 'the village' to have a bite to eat and to explore some of the shops we missed the previous day when we'd been at Balthazar (there's a lot of shops!)

Upon being dropped by our cab driver, we immediately saw a couple of decent looking bars. For those reading this but not having been to NYC, this part of town is more urban than the centre and has an almost 'East London' feel to it...slightly edgy but very trendy.

We entered Dublin 6 through the main bar area and had drinks. We then realised the bar area next door and moved through to there. We then were shown a table and were given menus for lunch. The staff by the way, were brilliant. Friendly, but not at all stuffy.

Now, here is my best tip for eating in NYC....Order from Dublin 6's Pre Fixed menu. This is why. A drink typically costs, like everywhere else, $7-8 for a beer. If you choose from the pre-fixed menu at $19.95, you get 2 drinks included...and the food is brilliant! Served on very large plates, the food tasted fresh, was well presented and was of good quality. Despite being about half the cost of Balthazar, and despite having enjoyed Balthazar a day earlier, I think Dublin 6 actually served a better meal.

The vibe in the bar and restaurant was also really good. It didn't matter if you were European or American, black or white, gay or straight...there seemed to be representatives from every race, creed and gender and everybody mixed shoulder to shoulder. By the time we left, the place was packed.

If I ever find myself back in NYC, this will be my first port of call for a decent beer and food. Well done guys!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogtronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice bar, great staff”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely couple of drinks here recently. It was $18 for a vodka and Jameson each with a soda. They had a good deal of brunch with two free drinks.

The bar man who was American was very nice and we had a good chat with him over our drinks. We also met a lovely English couple too.

The bar is really nicely layed out and from what we could see the food looked delicious. Will definitely return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holidayathome2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin 6 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing