We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it for what it's worth”

Gray Line New York Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.00*
and up
New York City FreeStyle Pass
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
New York City All Around Town Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Luxury Coach
Ranked #132 of 638 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1926, Gray Line New York is THE source for NYC's best double decker bus and deluxe motorcoach tours. Enjoy deluxe double decker, hop-on, hop-off bus tours that include uptown, downtown, Brooklyn and night loops. We also offer fully escorted foreign language motorcoach city tours in German, French, Korean, Spanish and Italian with top multi-lingual tour guides. Our one-day excursions to Niagara Falls, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., and Woodbury Common premium shopping outlet mall, are favorites too. Gray Line New York Sightseeing sells all major attractions tickets and we have trained FIT (For Independent Travelers) group, and charter sales staff ready to assist you. Gray Line CitySightseeing New York is independently managed and operated.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Do your homework people. This is a superb way to get a good overall view of the layout of NYC, it's neighborhoods and quirks, shopping, eating, nightlife etc. Don't expect limousine service and you'll be pretty content with this attraction. We are veteran NYC visitors, but decided to spend this weekend doing all the silly tourist attractions instead. Riding the tour bus allows you to soak up not only the layout of the land, so to speak, but for those of us who KNOW all of that ... the architecture and minute details .. amazing. Yes, I agree with MANY posters that a lot of the experience depends on your guide. Our Night Tour guide was ... to say the least ... illiterate. "More beautifuler" came out of her mouth so often, as a teacher I just died inside each time. But, this same tour (night lights tour) was worth every penny we paid as well as the shudders for grammar. Truly breathtaking and goose bump inducing! The 48 hour ticket got us downtown, uptown, Bronx and the night light tour, all in a 2 day window - with time to spare. There were lines to get on at the starting points of the loops, so allow yourself that grace period - but note that the lines pretty much move along quickly as busses arrived 2 or 3 at a time. Granted, we did not hop off to explore or shop, but still we agreed it was an excellent investment.

1  Thank lucky1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks! We appreciate and value your review about your sightseeing experiences. We put a great deal of effort into creating each of our custom tours so that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience such as the one you had. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,076)
There are newer reviews for Gray Line New York Sightseeing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,660 - 2,664 of 5,078 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were on four tour buses during our 48 hour time period. The first tour guide going downtown was excellent. We didn't want to hop off because he was informative and interesting. But then the bus stopped halfway through the downtown tour and made us get off and find another bus to finish the downtown loop. It said nothing about this in the brochure. Anyway, the guide for the second half of the loop was boring and wasted time with personal comments not connected with what we were viewing. We got off at one of the stops and went back to pick up the Brooklyn Loop.
We had to wait a while, but eventually the City Sites bus showed up that was taking the Grayline passengers on the Brooklyn Loop. This tour was listed as an hour tour of Brooklyn. It took us well over two hours and was two hours well spent. We had planned to hop off the bus at one of the stops in Brooklyn, but we really liked the guide and wanted to stay on his bus. He was born and raised in Brooklyn and gave both of us a new understanding and respect for Brooklyn. We were really happy we had this tour. This tour stopped at the Brooklyn library for a bathroom/drink break.
The final tour we took uptown was interesting, but the tour guide was not nearly as informative or personable.

Thank AllyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Gray Line NY hand picks and trains tour guides who are all truly excellent. While you may find one tour guide to be better than another, all of our guides strive to exceed your expectations. We put a great deal of effort into creating each of our custom tours so that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience such as the one you had. Please accept our apology if circumstances on that particular day caused you any inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback which helps us improve our tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I used Gray Line New York back in 2010 without any issues, but was disappointed with my recent experience.

Bought a 48 hour pass with 48 hours free from a very pleasant street seller, however that's where the nice experience ended.

The trip is sold as a loop tour, but two out of three times we had to change buses at Battery Park, it wasn't clear either where the next bus departed from, an all too common experience unfortunately.

The buses seem to drop off and pick up where they feel like it these days, several didn't even bother stopping at Rockefella Centre and why they can't pick up and drop off in the same place who knows.

Another driver didn't even stop unless the tour guide forced him too. All the downtown loops missed out the Central Park part of the tour.

The guides also seems more concerned about their tips, than making it a pleasant tour and one was very rude to me when I didn't leave enough of a tip.

I would recommend using another operator!

Thank Phil1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are sorry that you had difficulty understanding the schedule of the tour you booked. We prepare printed and web based materials that explain the content and schedule of each of our tours. We encourage our guests to call our phone sales team with any questions they may have before making any reservations. If you feel that your tour guide deserves a tip, then by all means please go ahead and tip as you see fit. Although tips are not mandatory, they are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have always used and recommended Gray Line Sightseeing Tours. We had a very poor experience with the company during our recent stay in New York. Several of the buses we boarded were not air conditioned. On the final leg of a day of touring we boarded a bus that did not have space "up top" and was not air conditioned below. When we asked the driver how long the wait would be for another bus, he was very rude and replied that he had no idea, but he didn't feel like hearing the mouthing of hot customers, he then mumbled, I don't even know if another bus is coming. So we TOOK OUT CHANCES - it was unbearably hot. I was very concerned about becoming sick. The guide for the trip was very humble and ashamed of the driver's behavior - he constantly apologized for the conditions but he could not guarantee when another bus would be coming since it was getting later - 5 pm. He said that at this time all of the buses would be full. It was so uncomfortable that the bus driver pulled over twice , got out to get air and to smoke a cigarette, I guess. The next day was somewhat better - we had a 72 hour package. We had to wait for another bus because the first bus was filling fast - but the worker did call for another bus, which arrived about 15minutes later. Later that day we again boarded a bus that was without air in the cabin area. We however only had to sit there for about 4 or 5 stops, then we were able to move to the upper deck. On our final day, our tour started out well, then would met with an unconcerned guide, who never alerted us when space was available on the upper deck. She instead allowed others boarding to go upstairs. We changed buses to take a different tour only to be told after one stop, that we would have to walk about four blocks to catch another bus - we could have stayed on our bus and changed buses in Time Square, but we were afraid of the crowd at Time Squared and the stopped at Central Park, which was marked on the map as a stop where it was appropriate to switch from uptown to downtown tours. We have always enjoyed Gray Line but we will investigate other tour buses for future trips. Contacting the company did not yield any result except pre-programmed responses saying that they would contact you within 24-48 hours. I never heard from anyone. What an expensive lesson - do your research and read the company reviews before scheduling bus tours. The night tour was very limited - a repeat of the Downtown day tour - so we omitted this portion of the tour. What a disappointment. You were once a reputable tour agency; consider the health and financial contributions of your customers.

2  Thank TennesseeFirstLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. Double decker bus tours are a great way to see the city from above and allow you to hop on or off at your leisure. Although we do not mind if passengers decide to ride on the lower level of our buses, this tour is intended to be enjoyed from the top level of our double decker buses. We are proud to offer the largest fleet in New York with many convenient stops along the way. As our tour tickets are sold giving you the flexibility to use them whenever you are ready, we can only estimate the number of actual buses that will be needed. We usually have an ample amount of buses running throughout the day, but we do realize that there may be a time when the passenger volume may be at an uncommonly higher number than usual. We apologize if circumstances on that particular day caused you any inconvenience. We are sorry that we fell short of your expectations and your feedback helps improve our quality control procedures that will help make the tours better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very Bad service to Woodbury Outlet. They write on the website that it takes 45 mn from Manhattan, the lady at the desk sas 1 hour... it really takes 2-2.5 hours, of which 30-45 min queuing to get into port Authority. There are not enough places on the way back and you have to queue under the July sun (no benches, no cover) for at least 30 min to make sure you get a place on the bus. Find another way to go to Woodbury.

2  Thank lauralItalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Our web site specified that travel time is about 1 hour and buses can be delayed by traffic like activity that is often beyond our control. We prepare printed and web based materials that explain the schedules. We encourage our guests to call our phone sales team with any questions they may have before making any reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line New York Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line New York Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing