We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not great.”

Gray Line New York Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$149.00*
and up
New York City FreeStyle Pass
More Info
US$29.00*
and up
New York City All Around Town Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
New York City Guided Sightseeing Tour by Double Decker Bus
Ranked #138 of 641 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1926, Gray Line New York is THE source for NYC's best double decker bus and deluxe motorcoach tours. Enjoy deluxe double decker, hop-on, hop-off bus tours that include uptown, downtown, Brooklyn and night loops. We also offer fully escorted foreign language motorcoach city tours in German, French, Korean, Spanish and Italian with top multi-lingual tour guides. Our one-day excursions to Niagara Falls, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., and Woodbury Common premium shopping outlet mall, are favorites too. Gray Line New York Sightseeing sells all major attractions tickets and we have trained FIT (For Independent Travelers) group, and charter sales staff ready to assist you. Gray Line CitySightseeing New York is independently managed and operated.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The headphones on the buses are not very good, could not understand the guide, which is
why I paid for a tour bus. Two of the buses I rode did not have working air on the bottom level and we could not open up the windows. We waited for a pick up for an hour, while we watched 3 Big Bus tours and 3 City Site tours go by. When a Gray Line did come by they did not have seating on the top and did not have air on the bottom. Had to wait for the the next bus.
We had one guide who was outstanding (did not use the headphone system) .....the rest ranged from OK to mediocre.

Thank wildthing531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Audio devices are installed as an extra benefit. We make every effort to have these devices operational at all times. However, due to the exposed nature of its usage, the devices are often tampered with and require frequent repair. We apologize that you were unable to find a seat with a clear audio signal. Although we do not mind if passengers decide to ride on the lower level of our buses, this tour is intended to be enjoyed from the top level of our double decker buses. Most of our tour guides are truly excellent, but you may find one tour guide to be better than another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,801 - 2,805 of 5,255 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Everyone was very nice and friendly. Although the bus stops were not clearly marked there were gray line employees at all stops for the most part and they were very helpful. It was for us the only way to see the city but we were disappointed that none of the busses had air conditioning even though it was advertised that way. Many of the tour guides were impossible to understand. We waited at one stop for an hour for next bus and finally had to negotiate with another company bus to get a ride back uptown. The other bus companies looked to have newer equipment and less tourists so you didn't have to wait so long at each stop. Just be prepared to wait as we didn't get as much time to see very thing we wanted to because of the bus system.

Thank Nhdjtarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Some of our regular bus stops can even be suspended at any given time without notice. Although we do not mind if passengers decide to ride on the lower level of our buses, this tour is intended to be enjoyed from the top level of our double decker buses. Most of our tour guides are truly excellent, but sometimes you may find one tour guide to be better than another. Our buses can be delayed by the local City Police department or by other traffic like activity that is often beyond our control. Your feedback is important and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just spent several days in New York. We had planned Hop On Hop Off vouchers which we utilised to do a couple of the loops. The runs are subject to traffic conditions which in our experience this last week were horrendous. This makes the trips slow and then there were lengthy wait times to get back on all of which meant standing in full sun and very warm, humid conditions. Unfortunately the buses were so crowded that there was no option but to sit in the lower section should you not wish for another long delay for the next bus.
Disappointingly all except one bus had no air conditioning. The last vehicle we took from the Staten Island ferry back to the Waldorf stop had people sitting in the stairwell and in the lower front area just to get some relief from the oppressive conditions. The upper deck was full so no option to get up there.
As a driver of buses I was certainly disappointed, my feeling is that the fleet is tired and overworked and I do feel sorry for drivers trying to manoeuvre around the streets in such conditions. There certainly are other options now available and I will look more carefully when booking again.

Thank Pander87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Our buses can be delayed by the local City Police department or by other traffic like activity that is often beyond our control. Although we do not mind if passengers decide to ride on the lower level of our buses, this tour is intended to be enjoyed from the top level of our double decker buses. As our tour tickets are sold giving you the flexibility to use them whenever you are ready, we can only estimate the number of actual buses that will be needed. We usually have an ample amount of buses running throughout the day, but we do realize that there may be a time when the passenger volume may be at an uncommonly higher number than usual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I booked the 48 hour day bus with the option of the blue and red buses and we are so glad we did!!
We went on the downtown loop first with the WTC/Ground Zero being our first stop and the Statue of Liberty being the second as they were one after the other. Our final hop off on the downtown loop was the Rockefeller centre. The bus does stop at a number of places on the downtown loop but these were the ones that we wanted to see.
We went on the uptown loop on the second day and got off at the history museum and central park zoo. The uptown loop has less “sights” to see but more history such as where John Lennon was killed, historical churches etc. It also takes you around Harlem as areas which are maybe better to drive through rather than walk. As the bus is roofless it’s great for taking pictures too as you get an uninterrupted view.
Pretty much all of the guides we had were helpful and informative – although some more than others! We got some great tips about the area and local attractions and if you want to ask them anything they are more than happy to help.
I am so glad we booked this as it really was the best way to get around and see the ultimate touristy bits that we wanted to tick off the list as well as areas that you may be unfamiliar with.

Definitely worth it!!!!

1  Thank afc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for your detailed review about your wonderful experiences. We put a great deal of effort into creating each of our custom tours so that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience such as the one you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We did a couple of Hop on Hop off tours while in NYC....
Grayline was great, tour guides were informative, helpful and its a great way to see the city. if you did the tour ten times, you would see something new each time. We chose the downtown loop most often as it was close to attractions where we wanted to hop off but there are many to choose from, including Brooklyn Bridge at night which we didn't have time to do, but I hear its a must to do!

Thank TrueWords11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks so much for the awesome review. We are happy that you had a great sightseeing experience exploring New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line New York Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line New York Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing