We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Guided”

Gray Line New York Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39.00*
and up
CitySightseeing City Bus Tour
Ranked #347 of 659 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1926, Gray Line New York is THE source for NYC's best double decker bus and deluxe motorcoach tours. Enjoy deluxe double decker, hop-on, hop-off bus tours that include uptown, downtown, Brooklyn and night loops. We also offer fully escorted foreign language motorcoach city tours in German, French, Korean, Spanish and Italian with top multi-lingual tour guides. Our one-day excursions to Niagara Falls, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., and Woodbury Common premium shopping outlet mall, are favorites too. Gray Line New York Sightseeing sells all major attractions tickets and we have trained FIT (For Independent Travelers) group, and charter sales staff ready to assist you. Gray Line CitySightseeing New York is independently managed and operated.
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We bought the 48 hour ticket and used it several times. First off, if you prepay, you have to pick up your tickets at the main office in Times Square, which is not what the print off says. We picked up our tickets and asked if we could make it to the WTC museum by 10 (it was 8:30 at the time). No one could decide and finally a guide said once the tour started at 9, we were guaranteed to be down there by 10..wrong! We finally got off the bus at 10 only to catch a taxi to the museum. When we tried to hop back on later that day, we say on the inside and the bus had no air turned on. This guide, Adam, was more into telling us about where he hit his 1st homerun or his favorite stop sign, than NYC facts. The night tour was pretty good though. We took the upper loop tour the next day and the guide was an older Asian woman who was very hard to understand and VERY rude. She did something to her microphone, causing all the headphones to stop working. When my friend politely let her know, the guide was downright hateful saying we had to be flexible in NYC and to turn up the volume. She then went on to make comments about "our country," not hers. The sights were neat, but half the guides were horrible!

Thank Traveler559184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Most of our tours and attractions sold on our website offer you direct skip the line access at the applicable location. However, bus tickets do require that you exchange your prepaid voucher for an actual valid bus ticket that you can use as you hop on and off the buses throughout the duration of your tour. Our buses can be delayed by the local City Police department or by other traffic like activity that is often beyond our control. Although most of our tour guides are truly excellent, they are human and sometimes you may find one tour guide to be better than another. Your feedback is important and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"night tour"
in 640 reviews
"allan france"
in 132 reviews
"manhattan experience"
in 52 reviews
"the double decker"
in 56 reviews
"your bearings"
in 50 reviews
"manhattan bridge"
in 51 reviews
"top of the rock"
in 173 reviews
"uptown"
in 444 reviews
"nyc"
in 1,110 reviews
"reggie"
in 49 reviews
"bronx"
in 118 reviews
"overview"
in 126 reviews
"neighborhoods"
in 54 reviews
"rockefeller"
in 49 reviews
"skyline"
in 56 reviews
Filter

3,229 - 3,233 of 5,749 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you have only a day or two in New York, highly recommend this tour, it gives you the
highlights including a nice lunch in famous Little Italy, as well as a scenic harbor tour.
Don't miss this one !

Thank Edazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thanks for recommending Gray Line NY. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The headphones on the buses are not very good, could not understand the guide, which is
why I paid for a tour bus. Two of the buses I rode did not have working air on the bottom level and we could not open up the windows. We waited for a pick up for an hour, while we watched 3 Big Bus tours and 3 City Site tours go by. When a Gray Line did come by they did not have seating on the top and did not have air on the bottom. Had to wait for the the next bus.
We had one guide who was outstanding (did not use the headphone system) .....the rest ranged from OK to mediocre.

Thank wildthing531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Audio devices are installed as an extra benefit. We make every effort to have these devices operational at all times. However, due to the exposed nature of its usage, the devices are often tampered with and require frequent repair. We apologize that you were unable to find a seat with a clear audio signal. Although we do not mind if passengers decide to ride on the lower level of our buses, this tour is intended to be enjoyed from the top level of our double decker buses. Most of our tour guides are truly excellent, but you may find one tour guide to be better than another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Everyone was very nice and friendly. Although the bus stops were not clearly marked there were gray line employees at all stops for the most part and they were very helpful. It was for us the only way to see the city but we were disappointed that none of the busses had air conditioning even though it was advertised that way. Many of the tour guides were impossible to understand. We waited at one stop for an hour for next bus and finally had to negotiate with another company bus to get a ride back uptown. The other bus companies looked to have newer equipment and less tourists so you didn't have to wait so long at each stop. Just be prepared to wait as we didn't get as much time to see very thing we wanted to because of the bus system.

Thank Nhdjtarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Some of our regular bus stops can even be suspended at any given time without notice. Although we do not mind if passengers decide to ride on the lower level of our buses, this tour is intended to be enjoyed from the top level of our double decker buses. Most of our tour guides are truly excellent, but sometimes you may find one tour guide to be better than another. Our buses can be delayed by the local City Police department or by other traffic like activity that is often beyond our control. Your feedback is important and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just spent several days in New York. We had planned Hop On Hop Off vouchers which we utilised to do a couple of the loops. The runs are subject to traffic conditions which in our experience this last week were horrendous. This makes the trips slow and then there were lengthy wait times to get back on all of which meant standing in full sun and very warm, humid conditions. Unfortunately the buses were so crowded that there was no option but to sit in the lower section should you not wish for another long delay for the next bus.
Disappointingly all except one bus had no air conditioning. The last vehicle we took from the Staten Island ferry back to the Waldorf stop had people sitting in the stairwell and in the lower front area just to get some relief from the oppressive conditions. The upper deck was full so no option to get up there.
As a driver of buses I was certainly disappointed, my feeling is that the fleet is tired and overworked and I do feel sorry for drivers trying to manoeuvre around the streets in such conditions. There certainly are other options now available and I will look more carefully when booking again.

Thank Pander87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Our buses can be delayed by the local City Police department or by other traffic like activity that is often beyond our control. Although we do not mind if passengers decide to ride on the lower level of our buses, this tour is intended to be enjoyed from the top level of our double decker buses. As our tour tickets are sold giving you the flexibility to use them whenever you are ready, we can only estimate the number of actual buses that will be needed. We usually have an ample amount of buses running throughout the day, but we do realize that there may be a time when the passenger volume may be at an uncommonly higher number than usual.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line New York Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line New York Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing