We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away”

Gray Line New York Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$64.00*
and up
New York City All Around Town Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #121 of 596 Tours in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Since 1926, Gray Line New York is THE source for NYC's best double decker bus and deluxe motorcoach tours. Enjoy deluxe double decker, hop-on, hop-off bus tours that include Uptown, Downtown, Brooklyn and Night loops. We also offer fully escorted foreign language motorcoach city tours in German, French, Korean, Spanish and Italian with top multi-lingual tour guides. Our one-day excursions to Niagara Falls, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., and Woodbury Common premium shopping outlet mall, are favorites too. Gray Line New York Sightseeing sells all major attractions tickets and we have trained FIT (For Independent Travelers) group, and charter sales staff ready to assist you. Gray Line CitySightseeing New York is independently managed and operated.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The tour tickets sounded good from the brochure, and of course, the guys on every corner selling them. We bought a 2 day pass and regretted it.

What they don't tell you is that you can end up spending on an hour on the street queuing to get on a bus, particularly the Downtown tour. The queues get so long, and the buses so full, that you may end up waiting for the following bus or even the one after. My panoramic picture was taken from the bus, showing some of the people who, after waiting ages in the sun, didn't make it onto this bus and were going to have to wait for the next one.

They also don't tell you that a lot of the tour guides (or at least the ones we encountered) speak English as a 2nd language, and have heavy accents that make it difficult to understand them.

Not all tours will have the long queues (like the Uptown or Brooklyn for example), but we still found it to be not worth the cost.

If you try and "hop-on" at one of the many "hop-on / hop-off" points enroute (rather than the start point), the map they provide you with showing the points is quite vague, and we had many buses drive past us until we figured out where EXACTLY we should have been standing. Not easy when there are no signposts to indicate as such.

We ended up getting the hang of the subway, and found this to be a much cheaper, faster and independent way of getting around.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are proud to offer the largest fleet in New York with many convenient stops along the way. As our tour tickets are sold giving you the flexibility to use them whenever you are ready, we can only estimate the number of actual buses that will be needed. We usually have an ample amount of buses running throughout the day, but we do realize that there may be a time when the passenger volume may be at an uncommonly higher number than usual. Although most of our tour guides are truly excellent, you may find one tour guide to be better than another. Your feedback is important and helpful that will help us to constantly improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    1,161
    753
    577
    966
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Night tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were in New York for 2 Days and 3 nights, so we decided to do the night time bus tour (not hop-on/hop-off) on our first night so we could get a sense of the city and what we might want to go back to. It was a great introduction to the city...very informative. We had a fantastic tour guide, (Thanks Dwayne!) who gave us fantastic tips on where to eat, what to see and even how to find a public washroom in Manhatten. Well worth the money. Would definitely recommend for first timers in the city. Even our teens enjoyed the tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dwayne is a fantastic guide. He, along with so many of our other star sightseeing guides are what makes taking a Gray Line NY tour the only option when touring New York City. We carefully structure our tours to be very affordable and to provide great value and we are glad that your tour included the options that you were interested in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Entertaining and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Good way to spend the first day of a holiday seeing the sights and deciding which you want to explore further. We 'hopped off and on' so had two different guides who were both informative, although one was more of a natural wit than another! The traffic was pretty dreadful in the afternoon and the buses were too full by then but I guess there's not much they could have done about that!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Gray Line NY hand picks and trains tour guides who are all truly excellent. While you may find one tour guide to be better than another, all of our guides strive to exceed your expectations. Our buses can be delayed by the local City Police department or by other traffic like activity that is often beyond our control. We are proud to offer the largest fleet in New York with many convenient stops along the way. As our tour tickets are sold giving you the flexibility to use them whenever you are ready, we can only estimate the number of actual buses that will be needed. We usually have an ample amount of buses running throughout the day, but we do realize that there may be a time when the passenger volume may be at an uncommonly higher number than usual. We’re happy that you got to see the sights that were worth exploring with Gray Line NY Tours. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“WHAT A GREAT DEAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

On our first of 4 days in New York we secured a 3 day pass for 2 adults, all zones for a fantastic price of $49 each. Normal price is $44 per day per person. We maximised the usage of this ticket and the hop on hop off facility worked a treat. Be aware when visiting the very popular sites ie. Statten Island ferry and the Statue of Liberty should be done as early as possible in the day, as large queues can form as the day progresses and many of the buses come past that stop full. On the occasion we visted the ferry sites we had to get a taxi because the sheer volume of people waiting.

The guides on each of the buses that we used were very knowledgable about their city, proud ambassadors and very informative. They were all more than helpful on the best places to exit the bus, eat and purchase items from various stores and best shows in town. All guides proved to be very amusing and entertaining.

Would recommend travelling through New York this way, but be aware not all buses are Air conditioned and on hot days the open top bus can be oppressive. Take water and sun screen with you.

The traffic in New York is something that you would not wish to be part of other than being on a bus, the driver of which knows his way through the traffic and deserves the tips as do the tour guides.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank McJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We appreciate your detailed review about your wonderful experiences and guides striving to exceed your expectations. Gray Line NY takes great pride in the exceptional value that we offer. Our packages always include extras that most of our customers take advantage of. We put a great deal of effort into creating each of our custom tours so that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience such as the one you had. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice way to see New York City.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were in New York for only two days. I'm not sure if the all loops tour was the best value for our money since we only had time to take two loops. The downtown tour is very good and takes about 2.5 hours in the afternoon on a weekday. Unique, the tour guide was good. Not particularly enthusiastic and my husband had to point out to her at one point that her mike was off. The uptown tour the next day was good as well. Ray was an excellent guide. Lots of enthusiasm and tried to interact with the guests. He shared fun and interesting information. We hopped off before the end since we were going to the Metropolitan Museum. This was very convenient.

The tours were quite crowded. Unless getting on at the beginning of the loop, it may be difficult to hop on in the middle. It really depends on the time of day and the particular stop.

Overall we were glad to do the tours since we had never been to NY before.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank igads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrayLineNY, Guest Relations Manager at Gray Line New York Sightseeing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Gray Line NY takes great pride in the exceptional value that we offer. Our packages always include extras that most of our customers take advantage of. We put a great deal of effort into creating each of our custom tours so that our guests have a memorable and enjoyable experience. Although most of our tour guides are truly excellent, you may find one tour guide to be better than another. Thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line New York Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line New York Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing