We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and we'll be back”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The service at this Hotel is outstanding. All of the staff are very friendly and takes time to speak to you. It appeared they took their jobs very seriously and their job was to make you feel at home. They always smiled, and spoke to you. if you had any questions, they were more than happy to answer them and they took their time and made you feel like you were their only customer. I could write pages and pages of great things about the door staff who are the front line people you see and speak with the most. these people never tire, always smile and really enjoy interacting with and assisting their customers. The service staff inside the Yotel are just as friendly and helpful from the front desk to the restaurants and bar staff. No hotel is perfect but any issue you may encounter is taken care of immediately with kindness and concern for your comfort and safety. I have stayed at many hotels including some 5 star hotels and this tops all service of any hotel.

The rooms (Cabins as they are called at the Yotel) are small and quirky, but that is part of the experience that I really enjoyed. The beds are very firm but comfortable. It is a very modern and green hotel and the process check in and check out are automated and simple. If you are checking in early or leaving late and want to explore a little before you go the Yobot will store your luggage for you and keep it safe until you need it. Internet access is fast and you do not pay extra for the connectivity.

It is located very close to Times Square and the theater district, and you have wide range of places to choose from to eat.

I recommend this as the number one place to stay in New York and I have stayed at several other hotels that are very nice in Manhattan near Times Square. The price and service can not be beat in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotagonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,445
    3,679
    788
    279
    223
See reviews for
1,514
5,042
684
1,112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camden NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Friendliest staff I have had saw at any hotel! From the employees who meet you out on the street to the mission control staff, everyone had a smile on their face and were very helpful. The only think I didn't like was the firmness of the bed, it was like sleeping on a concrete cinder. Had to visit the chiropractor when I got home from my 2 night stay.

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Just a couple blocks from times square, the terrace was beautiful, across the street from drugstore, grocery store, dunkin donuts, restaurants and within walking distance of Penn Station.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judgedeb1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

the staff was very friendly and quite helpful, no complaints whatsoever. the rooms were small but its not like that wasn't made quite clear ahead of time. i don't go anywhere to hang out in a hotel room, so for my needs it was just fine. bathroom privacy is a bit of an issue, you just have to deal with it.

it's a convenient location, clean rooms, helpful staff, great food at the hotel restaurant-although the service wasn't always the greatest-nice outdoor patio and plenty of coffee, muffins etc for breakfast. you walk out the door and no matter where you want to go in mannhattan it's not that far or hard to get to.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlpben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Got a "good" rate since the hotel was just opening. $150 for a night in NYC is considered good - maybe even great. The hotel is new and ultra modern. The lounge was fun - a lot of young couples. The room is TINY, very much like a cabin on a cruise ship. But it is laid out well and if you just want to rest your head after a play or an event it is perfect.
I would go their again and would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: WE had a room on the 4th floor looking east - the view was of a lot of construction - but it was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JYCKCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Ok place to stay, good price, great location, poor management!!!
We went to celebrate our 20 year anniversary.
As we arrive we are greeted by kiosks that don't work, the staff was very helpful and we checked in quickly. A bit odd, that you have to go to the 4th floor and transfer elevators to get to your room though. Clean and neat room, small, but had everything needed to sleep. There are coffee machines on every floor; they only work half the time, but a neat idea. Food at the hotel is VERY good, prices are fair too. So now for the ho hum parts, Management is so busy entertaining each other that they simply do NOT have the time to help or assist hotel guests! My wife and I waited 20 min before someone found the time to seat us at the hotel restaurant. There was 3 other couples already seated, that’s it though. Surely not busy enough to justify a 20 min wait to be helped. The fire alarm went off at 4am one morning, which was "fun". Then the management continued to announce every 5 min what was happening, I guess it's nice that they were letting us know. But when it was determined that it was a false alarm that could have been the end, but NO they kept announcing over and over for nearly an hour and a half what was happening! The rooms were very small, fine, but the bed mattress was horrible! Like one you'd find on a cheap fold out couch or futon! Actually had sore spots from sleeping!In conclusion, we will NOT stay there again. Too bad too. The "working" staff was GREAT! Very poor management!!!! Just plain rude in fact!

Room Tip: Beleive me I asked, they were less than helpfull on this topic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcandRami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the Yotel, having read mixed reviews.

I got a great deal the night of my stay, and stayed in a standard queen room. Once you get used to the nomenclature -- rooms are cabins, the front desk is Mission Control, etc. -- you can see past the contrived trendiness of the space.

The room is not as small as the reviews make it seem. It's perfectly fine for two people. The bed retracts, futon-style, so you have space to move when you need it, and a full bed when you want to go to sleep. The materials are all top-class, but appear to be wearing fast. It was somewhat hard to believe that it had only opened about a month ago. The bathroom, which is separated from the living space by a curtain, is a little weird, but you get used to it. And the view is great; the windows are tall and offer a great window onto the West Side.

Downsides? Although it's on 42nd Street, it's also on Tenth Avenue -- a wasteland! It will take you at least 20 minutes to get anywhere you need to go, as there are no subways nearby, and the bus is a hassle crosstown. The food, which isn't too expensive, is deceptive: you get what you pay for. The $12 black cod appetizer, for example, is delicious -- but only about two bites' worth.

If I were doing business on the West Side only, I'd come back. It's a shame, really, because in Manhattan, what's that old adage? Location, location...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. All views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We got to the hotel about 9pm and tried to check in to our room but the self check-in could not find our reservation. We were sent to Mission Control and they said they did not have the room we had paid for available (corner queen) but they could give us a regular queen instead. We asked to speak to the manager and after waiting about 20 minutes he said they had a corner queen but it was dirty and they could clean it for us if we could wait. Why a room would still be dirty at 9pm is beyond me. So we decided to eat dinner and the wait staff never came to get our drink order after 10 minutes so we gave up on the restaurant. We finally got to our room and at first we were very impressed. Until we realized we didn't have a hair dryer or a TV remote.

On the second day, we were in the room taking a nap when the maintenance came in to install the trim around the TV. Not sure why they couldn't do that after we checked out the next day.

Our other big issue is that the air conditioner is activated by a motion sensor so if you are not in the room or not moving (ie while sleeping) the air will not turn on which makes for a restless night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acravens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,780 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,075 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,868 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing