We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At last, a hotel for the Javits Center, comfort, convenience, and fun and it is called Yotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“At last, a hotel for the Javits Center, comfort, convenience, and fun and it is called Yotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a chic new hotel perfect for those who must haunt the Javits Center. Located on 10th Avenue and 42nd Street (MIMA),Yotel is a ten minute walk from Javits. The crosstown bus stops on the corner for rainy days.
I am 66 years old, have been buying for my store since before the Javits Center was built, and I have never found a hotel more convenient or better suited to my needs. I am in the rag business, so I can also walk to 7th Avenue and garment district.
The hotel is designed in a futuristic and functional mode. The rooms are compactly furnished with every detail of contemporary convenience...plenty of outlets,big screen TV, safe etc, and "free" is a word used generously here. Galley on each floor is equipped with refrigerator, microwave and water and ice. There is a fancy coffeemaker which is available 24/7 for free.
There is a coffee and muffin bar open in the morning for a complimentary breakfast.
The large Garden Terrace and inside restaurant serve dinner tappas style. Halibut sliders are delicious...well priced at $ 9. Terrace views rival the Met! Honestly, you must try it!
Staff understands service and is willing to do what is needed to make you comfortable.
I have been waiting a long time for this kind of chic and trendy place to pop up in my part of the city!

Room Tip: see view of Hudson. Ask for a 37 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,296
    3,564
    756
    271
    217
See reviews for
1,462
4,888
665
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,752)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

As another reviewer commented, the beds are more like hard futons than proper mattresses. I talked to the front desk after the first night and they had housekeeping add a foam pad, which was an improvement, but still far from ideal. The showers are designed without a full door, so water sprays out. There is no bathroom door, only a curtain. No toiletries except for a combo body/hair wash are provided. The "cabin" look is kind of clever, but also a bit cheap looking. I asked for late checkout since standard checkout is 11am. The policy is to allow a checkout of noon for free, but after that there is a fee. A couple of positive notes: the rooms are clean and wifi is free. But I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraInMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
719 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at the Yotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Yes, the double rooms are compact (long-term guests will have trouble stashing all the goods) but for a short visit it is perfect. The rooms as well designed and have many corners to efficiently store things and bags. I wish only the bath would have been placed by the main entrance and the bed by the window. Then again, best view from the 24th floor while pooping. Breakfast is muffins and coffee (there are trays in the room for self-room-service). Simple, but just enough. Wifi works well.

Some complained about noise. I specifically asked for a quiet room (2426). My wish was granted, I was at the end of the hallway where is was VERY quiet (except for the lady next door having an orgasm or something at 2am, but that happens...).

Complains: staff sometimes clueless. However, the hotel recently opened and therefore I think it will take some time. The shower has little pressure and therefore it can take a while to get clean.

In general a nice experience and the price (if you book early) was quite OK in comparison to other places in NYC. I can recommend it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the end of the hallway. Likely the ones that end in 25 an 26, for example 2426.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icanhazsweetsokthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Yotel is close enough to all of the tourist attractions of Manhattan without being right in the center of the tourist mess. It is just a few blocks from the 42nd/Port Authority Subway Station and Bus Terminal, making it easy to get from the surrounding airports without having to take a cab.

I arrived early and was greeted at the door and they phoned upstairs to "mission control" to make sure there were rooms available since it was 7:30am and check in isn't until noon (which is a relatively early check in time for most hotels). They were able to accomodate me and I was escorted upstairs to 4 (this is the actual lobby). He helped me through check in, gave me a brief tour of 4 and then ushered me up the elevator to my room. He gave me a basic runover of the amenities of the room and how to use them. He was quick because he knew that I was tired from my red eye but this is more customer service than I have had at any other hotel, especially without even asking for it.

So the rooms are small but clean. The bed doubles as a couch, there is a small desk and chair and the bathroom is exposed in the room. Since I was staying alone it was perfect. It would also probably be fine for couples if you are shy. The bathroom is only separated by curtains so privacy may be an issue. Also the toilet is right next to the see through shower. I had a great view of Lower Manhattan from my room. The bed is definitely firm but I slept fine.
One gripe I did have was that there was no light over the vanity and although there is a huge window in the bathroom it still wasn't ample lighting. The rooms were quiet for the most part, no street noise or noise from other rooms. You can hear the other doors closing but I only noticed that when I was awake.

Another plus is each floor has a community galley. There is complimentary coffee, lattes, hot chocolate and tea as well as use of a microwave and refrigerator. The coffee and hot chocolate were pretty good for coming from a machine and this is available 24 hours.

The complimentary breakfast was nothing to brag about. Dry muffins and so so coffee.

Also there were clubs in the bar area two of the nights that I was there and the cover charge is waived for guests.

They also have the Yobot which stores your luggage. It is a bit time consuming especially to store your luggage around checkout time. There was a bit of a line. It was pretty simple to use and retrieving the luggage was quick.

Overall, it is a great clean modern option in Manhattan.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryannika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

From entering into the lobby until leaving the whole experience was exceptional. The staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful throughout our whole stay. The room whilst small was very well laid out, with intricate storage spaces. We stayed on the 26th floor which provided us with a sublime view of the Hudson river and the surrounding area. The location was ideal with plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. We will be visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I can live with the small room, Star Trek decor, and poorly designed bath. However, the bed was the worst I have ever slept on in a hotel (I'm 55 years old). It is not really a standard bed at all but rather a platform bed which extends from a futon position to a full bed. The so-called "mattress" is without a doubt the hardest I have ever slept on. There is virtually no "give" and it is impossible to find a comfortable sleeping position. I turned and tossed constantly and my back, shoulders, and hips were sore after four nights on this thing. My room was prepaid and non-refundable so I just had to suffer through. Normally, I would have left after the first night and found a better place. This hotel is primarily for young people. Middle age travelers and seniors will most likely not enjoy themselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My teenage daughter and I travel to new York 2/3 times a year and have stayed at many of the hotels around Times Square. This was our first visit to Yotel. We were there during the Hurricane and whilst the rest of New York closed down the staff and management insured that life continued as best it could for the guests. Yes the rooms are small but that's New York. Yes the breakfast is muffins and hot drinks in paper cups but it is free and if you want a proper breakfast that's available in the restaurant. Special mention must go to DJ and Emmanuel who always were on hand to help with my daughters fencing kit and to Ricky who looked after us brilliantly. Don't think we will stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,789 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing