We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #135 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My partner and I stayed for 8 days during a visit to NYC. We had a cabin on floor 27 with a northern view. The room was small (which is standard for Manhattan), but certainly ample for 2.
Check in was easy, we arrived late so no upgrades were available however were moved to a higher floor which was muchly appreciated.
The room was comfortable, clean and housekeeping couldn't be faulted. There was plenty of storage options and the opening window was appreciated for fresh air however the city noise and sirens was tiring mid way through the trip..
WiFi coverage was excellent, we never had an issue with access and speed.
The breakfast muffins were tasty, we generally had them every 2nd day as its not our standard choice.
There are plenty of restaurants and deli's for food within a few blocks and rather than the laundry service which was super pricey, we used a drop off wash and fold service at BKM Laundromat on 9th and 39th, one decent sized bag for $8.50.
The only painful thing was waiting for elevators during rush hour and the coffee machines on each floor being broken every 2nd day, not that I could drink american coffee after day 2..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElleD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Hi ElleD86, thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you found your cabin “comfortable and clean”, and our free Wi-Fi, coffee and muffins were to your liking and met expectations. We have a new Almond muffin that is a big hit. You are definitely correct; there are a ton of fantastic restaurants and deli’s in the area. Hopefully you got to check out the a la carte breakfast at Dohyo too. They have a Vegetable Omelette to die for. Thanks for the note regarding the elevator wait and coffee machine in the Galley. We’re so sorry; we’re working hard with both vendors on this and expect a resolution soon. Hope we get to see you again in the future! If we can ever be of any assistance, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com. Hope you have a safe trip back to Perth!
Jose, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,383 - 5,389 of 11,350 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

I recommend this hotel as it´s brand new, and as all NYC hotels it´s not that big, but the team is always there to help, and I will not forget the guy at the management who purchased me front tickets to see Phantom of The Opera at the front desk just 3 hours before, amazing. The hotel is clean, and has a very great comfy bead, every floor contains a coffee room for your convinience. I recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My first impression at arriving at Yotel New York was "trendy" and "smart", and a bit different from the norm. When you arrive, you check-in using the touch screen computers and get your key cards via the computers. It displays your room number on the screen so don't forget it! Also in the main lobby is the nifty automated robotic storage arm that can store your luggage before/after your stay. You can almost get away with not talking to anyone during your stay here but there were always staff on hand to answer questions. Customer service here was excellent.

We booked a "queen cabin" and boy was it a small but trendy looking room (probably average by Manhattan standards). But the room was very clean, comfortable and they have some pretty efficient use of space. The bed appears small but it's actually an adjustable/retractable bed with controls on the side and I found it quite comfortable (S.O found the bed too firm. You get AMPLE pillows as well). The desk is right by the bedside and fitted with two convenient plugs and a wake up alarm built into the wall. Space under the bed for your luggage and some drawers too. There is a stereo plug for your iPod/phone, and ample space built into the walls to store smaller items. Floor space can be a problem if you have lots or big pieces of luggage.

The "bathroom" was quite a unique experience. There's only a curtain separating the bed area from the bathroom so if you have privacy issues then maybe this hotel isn't for you. The shower pressure was great but there is no door/curtain for it so water gets everywhere (fortunately they provide a floor towel). The in-room safe is tiny - it was fine for us as we only needed to put a few small things in there but I highly doubt a laptop would fit (maybe a netbook).

The free breakfast consists of only coffee, tea and muffins, but these were some of the best tasting muffins I've ever had (blueberry was the best!). It closes at 10:30am but I recommend trying to arrive in the breakfast area before 9 or 9:30 as the muffins are still warm and you get a seat in the "dining" area (although, there is lots of space in the lounge area). There is a 24hr CVS (pharmacy) and a Food Emporium (grocery store) nearby to grab snacks and toiletries, and 42nd Ave/Port Authority Bus Terminal is only a few blocks away (~5min walk).

My only gripe with the hotel was that when doors of neighbouring rooms slam, it is quite loud and you can hear/feel the walls shake a bit. Hope that you get a considerate neighbour who doesn't let the door slam! (However, I checked one morning to see who was letting the doors slam behind them - turns out it was house-keeping).

Overall a great experience, would stay here again.

Room Tip: Elevators can get pretty busy during the morning rush and can take a long time - we were only a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hailo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel had all the basics, clean modern, great shower, nice amenities, free wifi, very cool spaceship feel. Nice lighting and good views. Not bad location, two blocks from Times Square subway. They have cleaned up tenth ave nicely, so it's a good central location.
The down side is the room is so tiny, the futon has an electric button to expand from couch mode, because the full size bed takes up the whole room when open. No way two people could stay in the small room.
Also, because the hotel has so many tiny cabins, waiting for the elevator was a pain.
Otherwise it's a good value choice if you get a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is a very do-it-yourself kind of hotel, sensible, clean and smart. “Automated Satisfaction” is what the Yotel delivers. The Yotel hotel could be mistaken as an international space station. An ‘AYCD/AYCE’ brunch is offered at $40 on the weekends. Friendly servers offer travelers city-suggestions beyond bus tours, restaurants and broadway shows.

Room Tip: Might want to stay clear from high traffic locations like the elevator and galley kitchen. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWSHLobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Stayed here for a 7 nights over New Years. Amazing use of space in the hotel. I like the style and layout of the hotel. Staff down stairs are very friendly. However some of the staff behind the front desk could do with hospitality training – a smile doesn’t cost a thing!

As for the rooms, they are immaculately clean. Very snug, excellent use of space. Although the rooms are small they don’t feel claustrophobic. We had an excellent view over New York with us being on the top floor.

Not far to walk to time square either. Plenty of shops and amenities nearby to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0vingL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Hi s11nlk, thank you for your review! “Immaculately clean”, “excellent use of space”… it keeps getting better and better! We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us at YOTEL New York. Hopefully we’ll get to see you again this upcoming New Years; it’s never too early to make your plans. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com for any assistance whatsoever. And we promise, there will be some new, bright and shiny smiles at Mission Control to welcome you!
-Gina, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed here this past weekend for a girl's trip to NYC. We were able to check in earlier than the 3pm checkin time. The room was small but sufficient. We didnt plan to be in there much. The bathroom was glass though w no real privacy. So if you're in the 1 bed cabin with people i hope you are close to them. It's only 2 NYC blocks from Times Square. The staff was very friendly and helpful. So many restaurants around the area and a 24 hr CVS across the street in case you forget anything. My friend forgot her charger and they have a cellphone charging station for free. The rooftop lounge was a lot of fun on Saturday night with a really good DJ! I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soljahgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Owner at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Hi Soljahgurl, thank you for your review! A weekend with the girl’s is always fun. You’ve even inspired me to plan a weekend with my girlfriends. Lol. We are thrilled that you all loved your stay and that we got to host such a great group. Sounds like you made most of your time here too! We’re very happy to know you found us convenient and close to Times Square, in addition, to Restaurants; our area definitely has a ton to offer. Brightbox is another free, great service we offer to our guests and we’re thrilled your friend was able to take advantage of it. Forgetting a phone charger can be so frustrating considering you have one at home. Thank you again Soljahgurl; it’s such a great feeling for the Crew when they’re acknowledged. We hope to see you all back soon! Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us directly at reservations@yotelnewyork.com if we can ever assist in the future.
-Colleen, Executive Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,931 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 471 in New York City
7,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,998 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 471 in New York City
20,219 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 471 in New York City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £87 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing