We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable choice”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #137 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room was clean and an efficient use of space. Great lobby area (on the 4th floor) with lots of space to relax, use computers, eat -- and there is a large outdoor space which is a real bonus for Manhattan hotels. The only real drawback is the location -- which obviously reviewers are split on. It's still a fairly "industrial" area, perfectly safe but high traffic (41st St is the exit to the Lincoln Tunnel). A fairly young European crowd in residence when I was there, definitely a good ambience for anyone who likes a modern, minimalist no-fuss hotel experience.

Being able to check in and out totally by computer kiosk was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,309 - 5,315 of 11,262 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, we arrived and because you check in yourself there was no waiting it was straight in, checked in and up to room, we had a great view from 10th floor, the room was more than enough for what you need, but the funny thing was being able to be in shower or sit on toilet and watch the city go by. The theme of the hotel was fab loads things to see even just in the hotel , Ideal for getting places and greatly on outskirts of times square so you can avoid the mahem if you want to. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Overall good experience.
Nice terrace with a view over Midtown.

The customer service was above average, and the staff is very kind.
Free vending machines with coffee, tea and cocoa. Also, there are free muffins in the restaurant area.

The room is small, but pretty well organized and designed.
Only bad thing is that the toilet and th bedroom is ony seperated with a glass wall.
Nice view from the room a pretty big flatscreen.

Bed is automatic so you can easily get more room.

One overall bad thing about the hotel is the elevator.
First of all you have to take one from the lobby to the reception. And from there on you have to take another on to your floor.
Some days, depending on which it was, we had to wait 5-10 minutes to get to the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YannikBoserup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Good location, clean, no hassle. It's just what I'm looking for when staying in the city. Last night there, a false alarm fire alarm went blaring at 3:30 AM. Once that happened, I was up for good. They should have offered a free breakfast or something to guests for compensation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuluking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hi zuluking, thank you for your review. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and hotel. We are definitely all about no hassle! However, we’re so sorry that you were disturbed by the fire alarm. Our guests’ safety is a top priority and therefore our life safety systems are in place to ensure you, and all of our guests, are alerted in the case of an emergency. Again, our apologies it affected your stay. I would be happy to personally review with you the next time you are in town. Please reach out to our Guest Services Manager at gina@yotelnewyork.com. Thank you again zuluking. Hope to hear from you soon.
Tony, Director of Security

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great location, trendie and clean!..."Although room service took my husband boots." (Just one bad apple)
We enjoyed that the location was convenient in walking distance to Time Square and restaurants.
The great smell of the hotel reaches out and embrace you with a welcome and the shower with the Get-up & Get-Down body wash is Great!...Really enjoyed my stay.
GA PEACH

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slane300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi slane300, thank you for your review! We were super excited to read your comments regarding the great experience you had with us. “Go tell…YOTEL is Grrreat”; we love it. Spread the word! Lol. It’s so nice to hear you enjoyed our Get Up/ Get Down Body Washes as well. These are signature to our property and are infused with different ingredients, such as Eucalyptus and Lavender to rejuvenate or relax, whatever your fancy. Would love to clarify the note on the boots if you have the time. Please reach out to me directly at Vianel@yotelnewyork.com at your earliest convenience. Thanks again slane300. Hope to see you back soon!
-Vianel, Director of Cabin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My partner and I stayed for 8 days during a visit to NYC. We had a cabin on floor 27 with a northern view. The room was small (which is standard for Manhattan), but certainly ample for 2.
Check in was easy, we arrived late so no upgrades were available however were moved to a higher floor which was muchly appreciated.
The room was comfortable, clean and housekeeping couldn't be faulted. There was plenty of storage options and the opening window was appreciated for fresh air however the city noise and sirens was tiring mid way through the trip..
WiFi coverage was excellent, we never had an issue with access and speed.
The breakfast muffins were tasty, we generally had them every 2nd day as its not our standard choice.
There are plenty of restaurants and deli's for food within a few blocks and rather than the laundry service which was super pricey, we used a drop off wash and fold service at BKM Laundromat on 9th and 39th, one decent sized bag for $8.50.
The only painful thing was waiting for elevators during rush hour and the coffee machines on each floor being broken every 2nd day, not that I could drink american coffee after day 2..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElleD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Hi ElleD86, thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you found your cabin “comfortable and clean”, and our free Wi-Fi, coffee and muffins were to your liking and met expectations. We have a new Almond muffin that is a big hit. You are definitely correct; there are a ton of fantastic restaurants and deli’s in the area. Hopefully you got to check out the a la carte breakfast at Dohyo too. They have a Vegetable Omelette to die for. Thanks for the note regarding the elevator wait and coffee machine in the Galley. We’re so sorry; we’re working hard with both vendors on this and expect a resolution soon. Hope we get to see you again in the future! If we can ever be of any assistance, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com. Hope you have a safe trip back to Perth!
Jose, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I recommend this hotel as it´s brand new, and as all NYC hotels it´s not that big, but the team is always there to help, and I will not forget the guy at the management who purchased me front tickets to see Phantom of The Opera at the front desk just 3 hours before, amazing. The hotel is clean, and has a very great comfy bead, every floor contains a coffee room for your convinience. I recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,804 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 470 in New York City
7,390 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,843 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £110 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing