We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We visited this hotel during hurricane Sandy in Oct 2012 and both of us completely agree that the service we received during this event was excellent!

This was my first experience of New York and I will without a doubt be booking this hotel again if I ever they the opportunity to visit again!
Based very closely to Times Sq , we couldn't fault the location of this Hotel and this enabled us to travel by foot on the days were were not confined to our room!

Whilst the room we had was on the small side, this did not detract from the fact that this hotel was perfectly suited to anyone looking to stay in a trendy modern hotel!
The beds retract from more space during the day, but to be honest in a city such as new York, very little of your time is spent in the room.
The toilet/shower walk in is linked to the bedroom and separated by a curtain- so this may not be ideal unless you know the person you are staying with very well! I'm not sure how this works for a twin room. The privacy issue wasn't a massive problem for us...but I guess for some people it MIT be.
The room was spotless and decorated to a high standard with some quirky extras. Purple night lighting, Bose speakers/iPhone speaker, flat screen tv and satellite, etc...
We were originally only booked for 4 nights but due to our flights being cancelled the hotel extended our stay for a further 4 nights with very little hassle. We kept our room and complimentary lunch and films were put on in the hotel for those who were stuck in the storm.
Everything ran as normal which was very reassuring considering the circumstances.

Without a doubt I would 100% recommend to anyone staying in New York! Loved it and cannot wait to return!!!
The staff deserve all credit for the hard work they put in during the storm!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view- we did and managed to get the Empire State Building in our skyline view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samzie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,681
    3,800
    825
    295
    239
See reviews for
1,606
5,219
715
1,185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were not sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. We were not disappointed as the yotel was excellent. In a good location 10 minutes slow stroll to Times Square, the room was a good size with lots of well thought out storage space. A really spacious shower and the loo was not a problem in terms of privacy and you could see the Manhattan sky line whilst you were seated or you could close the curtains!!

In the morning you may have to wait for the lift for 5 minutes but why rush when you are on holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a premium view room to be on 22nd floor or above; it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mholmes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junction City, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good location, trendy, but disappointed completely! We were told we weren't even allowed to use the stairs! The wait time for the elevators is rather long. A nightclub is within the hotel so it gets loud and packed.None of the staff explained very much and none were overly friendly.we were never shown where the mini kitchen was and upon arrival as we were settling into our room a hotel and changing clothes a hotel employee walked right into our room! It made the whole stay uneasy.Not a hotel for a family stay. The beds are amazing and the rooms are small so ideally for a one to two person trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavisbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hi mavisbella, thank you for your review! While we are glad you enjoyed the beds and our trendy atmosphere, we’re so sorry you were disappointed otherwise. We are very proud of our 'Galley' with free hot beverages and purified water and try to communicate this clearly via our website, confirmation letter, and in-cabin guide “Get to Know Yotel in 5 minutes”. I do hope that you had the opportunity to read it. If not, we hope you’ll give us another chance; I would be happy to review with you personally all amenities! All guests are absolutely allowed to use the stairs, therefore apologies for any miscommunication there. We have strict procedures on Crew entering cabins, therefore would love to follow up with you on this as well. Please reach out to me at gina@yotelnewyork.com at your earliest convenience. Thanks again mavisbella! Hope to hear from you soon.
-Gina, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room was clean and an efficient use of space. Great lobby area (on the 4th floor) with lots of space to relax, use computers, eat -- and there is a large outdoor space which is a real bonus for Manhattan hotels. The only real drawback is the location -- which obviously reviewers are split on. It's still a fairly "industrial" area, perfectly safe but high traffic (41st St is the exit to the Lincoln Tunnel). A fairly young European crowd in residence when I was there, definitely a good ambience for anyone who likes a modern, minimalist no-fuss hotel experience.

Being able to check in and out totally by computer kiosk was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, we arrived and because you check in yourself there was no waiting it was straight in, checked in and up to room, we had a great view from 10th floor, the room was more than enough for what you need, but the funny thing was being able to be in shower or sit on toilet and watch the city go by. The theme of the hotel was fab loads things to see even just in the hotel , Ideal for getting places and greatly on outskirts of times square so you can avoid the mahem if you want to. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Overall good experience.
Nice terrace with a view over Midtown.

The customer service was above average, and the staff is very kind.
Free vending machines with coffee, tea and cocoa. Also, there are free muffins in the restaurant area.

The room is small, but pretty well organized and designed.
Only bad thing is that the toilet and th bedroom is ony seperated with a glass wall.
Nice view from the room a pretty big flatscreen.

Bed is automatic so you can easily get more room.

One overall bad thing about the hotel is the elevator.
First of all you have to take one from the lobby to the reception. And from there on you have to take another on to your floor.
Some days, depending on which it was, we had to wait 5-10 minutes to get to the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannikBoserup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Good location, clean, no hassle. It's just what I'm looking for when staying in the city. Last night there, a false alarm fire alarm went blaring at 3:30 AM. Once that happened, I was up for good. They should have offered a free breakfast or something to guests for compensation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuluking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hi zuluking, thank you for your review. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and hotel. We are definitely all about no hassle! However, we’re so sorry that you were disturbed by the fire alarm. Our guests’ safety is a top priority and therefore our life safety systems are in place to ensure you, and all of our guests, are alerted in the case of an emergency. Again, our apologies it affected your stay. I would be happy to personally review with you the next time you are in town. Please reach out to our Guest Services Manager at gina@yotelnewyork.com. Thank you again zuluking. Hope to hear from you soon.
Tony, Director of Security
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,173 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,450 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 467 in New York City
9,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing