We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special!”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #131 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Unique hotel with special design and atmosphere. The room is very well equipped, even with aux cable to connect portable devices to the TV. Very hi-tech hotel. There are automatic check in and check out and even a robot to store the bags. The only problem was that the door between the bathroom and the rest of the cabin was not sealed...

Room Tip: Pick a room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,243 - 5,249 of 11,187 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

After reading some good reviews we wanted to see if they were true and stayed 3 nights at Yotel.

This hotel exceeded our expectations and we loved the futuristic decor. The best things about Yotel besides the cleanliness and good service were the bar/lounge, the balcony restaurant and hi-tech features in every bedroom.

The location is also excellent, just a few blocks away from Times Square so it's perfect for tourists. If you get a room with river-side view you will be amazed! I got great pics.

Room Tip: Ask for river side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilsonCuadrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is new with a chic and modern decoration. The room is simple but perfect for my stay. It is located in a very good location, with a walking distance to the bus terminal and Times Square. I also love a roof top lounge and bar.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We visited this hotel during hurricane Sandy in Oct 2012 and both of us completely agree that the service we received during this event was excellent!

This was my first experience of New York and I will without a doubt be booking this hotel again if I ever they the opportunity to visit again!
Based very closely to Times Sq , we couldn't fault the location of this Hotel and this enabled us to travel by foot on the days were were not confined to our room!

Whilst the room we had was on the small side, this did not detract from the fact that this hotel was perfectly suited to anyone looking to stay in a trendy modern hotel!
The beds retract from more space during the day, but to be honest in a city such as new York, very little of your time is spent in the room.
The toilet/shower walk in is linked to the bedroom and separated by a curtain- so this may not be ideal unless you know the person you are staying with very well! I'm not sure how this works for a twin room. The privacy issue wasn't a massive problem for us...but I guess for some people it MIT be.
The room was spotless and decorated to a high standard with some quirky extras. Purple night lighting, Bose speakers/iPhone speaker, flat screen tv and satellite, etc...
We were originally only booked for 4 nights but due to our flights being cancelled the hotel extended our stay for a further 4 nights with very little hassle. We kept our room and complimentary lunch and films were put on in the hotel for those who were stuck in the storm.
Everything ran as normal which was very reassuring considering the circumstances.

Without a doubt I would 100% recommend to anyone staying in New York! Loved it and cannot wait to return!!!
The staff deserve all credit for the hard work they put in during the storm!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view- we did and managed to get the Empire State Building in our skyline view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samzie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were not sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews. We were not disappointed as the yotel was excellent. In a good location 10 minutes slow stroll to Times Square, the room was a good size with lots of well thought out storage space. A really spacious shower and the loo was not a problem in terms of privacy and you could see the Manhattan sky line whilst you were seated or you could close the curtains!!

In the morning you may have to wait for the lift for 5 minutes but why rush when you are on holiday!

Room Tip: Choose a premium view room to be on 22nd floor or above; it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mholmes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Good location, trendy, but disappointed completely! We were told we weren't even allowed to use the stairs! The wait time for the elevators is rather long. A nightclub is within the hotel so it gets loud and packed.None of the staff explained very much and none were overly friendly.we were never shown where the mini kitchen was and upon arrival as we were settling into our room a hotel and changing clothes a hotel employee walked right into our room! It made the whole stay uneasy.Not a hotel for a family stay. The beds are amazing and the rooms are small so ideally for a one to two person trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mavisbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Hi mavisbella, thank you for your review! While we are glad you enjoyed the beds and our trendy atmosphere, we’re so sorry you were disappointed otherwise. We are very proud of our 'Galley' with free hot beverages and purified water and try to communicate this clearly via our website, confirmation letter, and in-cabin guide “Get to Know Yotel in 5 minutes”. I do hope that you had the opportunity to read it. If not, we hope you’ll give us another chance; I would be happy to review with you personally all amenities! All guests are absolutely allowed to use the stairs, therefore apologies for any miscommunication there. We have strict procedures on Crew entering cabins, therefore would love to follow up with you on this as well. Please reach out to me at gina@yotelnewyork.com at your earliest convenience. Thanks again mavisbella! Hope to hear from you soon.
-Gina, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The room was clean and an efficient use of space. Great lobby area (on the 4th floor) with lots of space to relax, use computers, eat -- and there is a large outdoor space which is a real bonus for Manhattan hotels. The only real drawback is the location -- which obviously reviewers are split on. It's still a fairly "industrial" area, perfectly safe but high traffic (41st St is the exit to the Lincoln Tunnel). A fairly young European crowd in residence when I was there, definitely a good ambience for anyone who likes a modern, minimalist no-fuss hotel experience.

Being able to check in and out totally by computer kiosk was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,707 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 469 in New York City
4,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
19,585 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,868 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £108 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing