We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our kind of hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our kind of hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

The best concept hotel by far!! After sleepless nights of trying to find a place to stay in NYC, I breathed a sigh of relief upon arriving at Yotel, Times Square, NY. Total newbies to the city but as a hospitality employee for over 10 years, my standards are high when it comes to choosing my own accommodation. Yotel was my most perfect choice yet and very fitting for the glam city vacation. Conveniently placed a stones throw from Times Square, we were within easy reach of everything. The closest subway station was either Times Square (corner of 7th) or Penn Station (corner of 8th), all walking distance along 42nd.
The check-in was self service and a great concept, the room was clean and bright, compact and very New York, the bathroom was sleek, sexy and very smartly designed. Everything was very cleverly designed and engineered including the retractable bed. I asked in the pre arrival email for an additional mattress pad as older reviews led me to belief the mattress was that of a futon, which was not true. The bed was very comfy and linens crisp. My expectations were met. This is a great hotel if your are a technology freak, a sucker for modern concepts and want to be in the heart of Manhattan. The concept is pretty much self service, so stay away if you expect the hotel to smother you or help you to open your suitcase because you lost the key for lock. This is a hotel designed for people who are self sufficient and seasoned travellers. Cabin crew are all around should you get into difficulty but we didn't need them at all.
The hotel has a party vibe on weekends, so if your a prude, or party pooper, look away......there's a popular bar on the main level which may be off-putting for the narrow minded, we didn't mind it and it certainly didn't disturb us in the room (level 10).. Would highly recommend Yotel and if I return to NYC, I would consider one of suites with hot tub we saw below us (so jealous)...the non hassle place to stay..thumbs up!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eZconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,292
    3,562
    756
    271
    217
See reviews for
1,460
4,885
664
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,751)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Yotel has a very design and hipster look. The crew there is very helpful. They helped us during the check-in (5 minutes) from the computers at the entrance. The reception, concierge, breakfast, restaurant and the terrace are on the 4th floor.
The breakfast consists of muffins and tea or coffee. You can have bacon, eggs etc for 10$ extra.
We didn't have dinner there or have the extra breakfast so I can't comment on those. We just grabbed our coffee and muffin and started our visits.
The "Premium View Cabin Queen" standard room was very small but it didn't bother us. We still had space for our stuff. The retractable bed helped to make extra space when you aren't sleeping. The room and hotel being all white you could see better that it was very clean.
I have no complaint as everything was easy and the crew very helpful. I higly recommend it.
Btw you have to like to walk to get to the hotel from Times Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandamonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great, well designed room. Common areas are a bit worn, but again, well designed. Location is a bit inconvenient if you travel by subway. Very comfortable retractable bed. Great outdoor patio bar, and coffee service on each floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed in an Executive View Room. Can't comment on other rooms, but this was of adequate size considering that it was a hotel within walking distance of Times Square. The view was exemplary...floor to ceiling windows on two walls. The bed did not fold up, as this was a larger room and did not need the expansion in living space, but it was still futon-like with a thin mattress. I did not mind this at all but those who prefer a thicker mattress might object. The gallery was nice and provided lattes and cappuccinos that were not bad. Some of the furnishings seemed a bit cheap, like the plastic chair and the frame around the TV that kept popping off. Again, since we were in a larger room the bathroom was set back from the bedroom, although it did feature the same perverse glass door. Staff were very polite and helpful. Most of the clientele seemed young and/or European, but this middle aged upstate couple didn't mind it at all. Nice place for budget minded travelers to NYC.

Room Tip: I would suggest paying a little extra for an Executive View Room. The views really are spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice and friendly hotel, rooms are not large but we did not come to spend the time in the room. Indeed for very tall or large people (apologies, no offense intended, just presenting facts) the room and/or bed may appear small. Bedding was excellent and the overhead bed was appreciated by our son. Good value for money given the location, my son loved the computer check-in and especially the ABB robot storing the luggage. The amenities are good, I did not expect to find an iron machine, yet was there. Also the galleys on each floor is a plus with coffee, tea and water available free of charge. Given the hotel prices in Manhattan, the fact that it is located about 15-20 min walk from Time Square I believe Yotel offers good value for money.

Room Tip: Probably the higher the floor the better. Also the rooms at the end of the floor should be a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelallover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santurtzi, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Really good experience at YOTEL.
Modern, new, nice employees, clean, really confortable bed!
Our relaxing time was very nice at yotel, and believe me you need that after a day walking and walking in NYC!

Room Tip: I had a premium view room to the hudson river for a few dolars more and it is very nice wake up ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 688JPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My fiancee and I just returned from a weekend trip to NYC and were truly sad to leave. While we have both been there many times we had never stayed at the Yotel but based on the positive reviews on TA and the fact it was within our budget we thankfully gave it a shot.

To begin with the location was perfect. Rather than drive in we took the bus from SE PA into Port Authority which was an easy two block walk to the hotel. Times Square was also abt a 15 minute walk. Upon arrival we quickly realized this was like no other hotel her and I have ever stayed at. Rather than wait in line to check in, which we expected to do at 8pm on a Fri night, we walked into a trendy lobby greeted by several energetic employees who directed us to the self service check-in kiosks. A quick swipe of my credit card and our keys were generated much the same as the way I usually check into the airport. We were then directed to the 4th floor, or "Mission Control", where the concierge and management were there to direct us to our rooms.

When we got to our "cabin" we were pleased to see that they were modern and clean. The room we stayed in was equipped with modern amenities (flatscreen, iphone dock) and fresh linens. Our bed was comfortable and room was cleaned well while we were out for the day. Coffee, juice and muffins for breakfast were included as well, another nice feature considering the cost of eating in NYC.

We generally get to the city every few months and our next stays will be at the Yotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philliesfan1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,723 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,770 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,696 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing