We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YOTEL New York
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$205
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$515
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (11,585)
Filter reviews
11,585 results
Traveller rating
6,023
4,048
912
333
269
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,023
4,048
912
333
269
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmission controlthe galleyfree muffinspremium cabintimes squarenew yorkrooms are smallfourth flooryour luggageport authorityjavits centercool hotelhell's kitchentea coffeehudson riverqueen bedfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,133 - 5,138 of 11,585 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at Yotel as it was the hotel for a conference my husband attended. From the moment you enter off the street, you realize you're not in a typical hotel. The first floor entry has no welcoming lounge or reception. There are computers to check-in. There are at least 2 people there to help you through the process. The elevator takes you to the 4th floor where the concierge and bar area are. At this point, you must change elevator to go to the rooms/cabins. This concierge area again, doesn't have a real lounge area. The seating available are big cushioned cubes, no back support, so not meant for anyone to really sit around for awhile. There is no 'quiet' area here. Music is playing all the time. During the day, nice jazz, in the evening, club music. So, the focus of this area seems to be the people coming in for the club/bar and not the hotel guests. Except for the complimentary muffins and coffee provided, which is really nice, I cannot speak for the food. The seating is self-serve so guests are often sharing tables.
The room definitely feels like it it a cabin in a plane. The lighting, the decor are very modern. As others have said, the bed has no give/bounce. It's hard. It felt like lying on a bench. But I must say, in spite of the shock of the hardness, we both slept really well! I was also pleased to see that the mattress is in a mattress cover to prevent dust mites and of course, bed bugs. I don't know why other hotels don't do this. The part that I could not get used to is the bathroom exposure. It looks sleek, but I don't know what they were thinking to not provide privacy for the toilet. They have a curtain so that there is no visibility, but in my opinion, it's not enough.
The room was clean, temperature was nicely controlled without a noisy fan blowing. The staff was friendly. So, though not the kind of hotel we were used to, it was a comfortable experience. Bring your own hair-dryer. The one they have doesn't get hot and doesn't have any diffuser or concentrator.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athenabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi Athenabar,

We are delighted to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we concur that YOTEL is not your typical hotel. Our cabins are indeed unique and we’re happy that you were able to enjoy a good night’s sleep. Sorry that you were disappointed with the bathroom which was specifically designed to allow as much natural light into the cabins as possible and we understand that it may have not been enough privacy for you. Thank for taking the time to write such an awesome review and although we are not like other hotels, we do hope to see you again soon.
Simone-Marketing Coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! There is all you need & more! Small surfaces but very efficient... The rooms jave all equipment you need. Due to the loud music in the lobby on Sunday morning I wouldn't recommend it to my parents ;-) Nice bar & free breakfast!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Katrien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi Katrien,
So glad you loved YOTEL! We are all about efficiency and fun here, and want to make sure guests have everything they need during your visit. I’m happy we accomplished that for you! Our free coffee, tea and muffins in the morning are our way to help guests fuel up and start their day.
I did hear that the brunch you were here for was a super fun Sunday! Come back soon and bring your parents…we want them to enjoy the unlimited food and beverages!
We hope to see you back soon,
Jenny- Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Completely met my expectations. Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. I particularly want to call out Christian Coello in "Mission Control". I needed a late check out and he was especially accommodating which was a huge help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlin751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Hello Marlin751,

Thank you for your feedback! It’s wonderful to hear we met all your expectations in location, friendliness and helpfulness! Christian is wonderful and very glad he was able accommodate your needs!
We certainly hope to see you again in the future!

Micheal- Director Cabin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

It was so nice to get a great room at 25th floor with great view for Manhattan and Hudson. Especially thanks for Elvis Gonsales for a wine to the room for our honemoon! Room is just perfect, shower too, organic soaps with lavendar...mmm so nice to relax after long flight and running atound time square. All is so nearby, just walking distance. A bit cold in NY but great inside the hotel. Very recommended. If we will be in NYC again only Yotel!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikavsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Director of Sales at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your great review Vikavsop! Ahhhhh, the 25th floor – I love that view of the Hudson! You should come back on July 4th to see fireworks from your cabin, and we promise it will be warmer! Honeymoons are very special, and we are happy you spent yours with us. Congratulations on your marriage! See you soon!
Cari- Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What´s not to like about Yotel at Times Square NYC? The location is amazing: sitting just three blocks away from Times Square and not even that from the closest subway station (our only mean of transportation in-and-out, by the way) and 52nd St Ferry Terminal there is not much need to describe services around the hotel much further. Dozens of eating options around and a pharmacy just across the street. The hotel is new and so are its facilities. The modern atmosphere - light effects and lounge music going on 24x7 - and the hosting concept of one-stop-self-service certainly bring the traditional experience of staying at a hotel to a whole new level. Galleys in each floor are kept clean and functional with coffee, drinks and microwave available at all times. Cabins are modern, functional, very clean and confortable. Eating choices downstairs are also great but keep an eye at the limited service hours. The very best experience is breakfast out in what it is said to be the largest outdoors hotel balcony in NYC: you can´t go wrong with that even on a chilly morning. All that in perspective with the price you pay makes the NYC Yotel a great pick when staying in NYC!

Room Tip: We picked a corner room for the breathtaking night views that also makes the small cabin look even bigger flooded with day light, giving you a great sense of how big this city really is. Given the late hours of guests in-and-out these corner cabins are also the quietest as they sit farther away from elevators and circulation is limited therefore.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriano757702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Hello Adriano757702

It great to hear that you were able to enjoy the hotel and our location in NYC. Thank you for the glowing review. We strive to provide a clean, functional space while still providing luxury at an affordable price. Please contact us directly the next time you decide travel to New York at reservations@yotelnewyork.com. We would love to have you stay with us again.

-Abel - Pre Arrival Crew Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews