We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring New York City”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #137 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very few complaints from us. We stayed 6 nights and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. I think you have to remember that this is NY and very few hotels have large guest rooms. Unpacking suitcases was difficult as there were only five hangers in total to hang clothes up on.

Our 'cabin' was spotlessly clean and staff at Mission Control very pleasant. We appreciated little touches like the galley on each floor (with complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate and purified water). The breakfast muffin selection even included a gluten free almond version.

Our only complaint was the bed. It was nice and firm but there were indentations where previous 'occupants' had slept. Housekeeping brought another two mattress toppers but the bed was still showing severe wear and tear, even with additional layers. We moved room after our first night and our second room was slightly better but still not great. The electronic adjustment is quite something and does give more space during the day (if you are spending time in your room).

The Port Authority subway and bus station is a short walk away and easy to navigate. There are numerous good restaurants on 9th Avenue so we chose to eat there most evenings, instead of Times Square region.

We could even see the Empire State Building from our bedroom window! It was very pretty when it was lit up in red, white and blue for Veterans' Day.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again, if we return to New York.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLH_abdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hello JLH_abdn!

Thank you for sharing you comments with us! We are glad to see our cleanliness and customer service were up to your expectation.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the bed. Our mattresses are handmade with coconut husk and lambswool; not your typical mattress. We chose them for a number of reasons, organic and high-quality being two. Some guests absolutely love them ), however, others, such as yourself, find them uncomfortable. We are in the process of testing additional options and do hope you’ll be back once these are finalized!
! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,883 - 4,889 of 11,262 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Yotel is perfect! It is a brand new hotel and is also well located in Manhattan. The rooms are called cabin and they has the appropriaate size for a couple and is new and very clean. The hotel is safe and provided a good service. All the installations are modern and they have a galley in each floor with refrigerator, coffee maker and microwaves all for free! That is great!

Room Tip: higher floors are better to see the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edu110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi Edu110!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! Cleanliness, customer service and safe environment are always a focus of training amongst all of our crew members, thank you for noticing :)
We hope to see you soon!
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I recently stayed here with my daughter for the Thanksgiving holiday. We were able to successfully negotiate 4 small suitcases in the small space with ease. The bed was extremely comfortable and my daughter enjoyed that it converted from a couch type space to a full size bed with a touch of a button. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The galley coffee (which was complimentary) was actually the best tasting coffee that I had in NYC. The only hitch in my otherwise perfect 3 day stay: the bathroom was not clean when I checked in. Because everyone was so nice, I overlooked it and cleaned the sink and shower myself. Yotel would have received 5 stars from me had the housekeeping staff been a little more on the ball. I am quite certain that we will be staying here for our next NYC trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liane69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi Liane69!

We are delighted to see you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! I can see your daughter utilizing the push bottom to put the bed down, that is a fun feature isn't it? We put a lot of thought when designing the cabins to make use it was a flexible space! We have also shared your comments regarding the cabin cleanliness on day 3 with our crew for training purposes.

We hope you and your daughter come back soon!

Jose - Assistant General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Doormen? No! Funny hats? No! Wifi that really works? YES Bottled water? YeS! Yotel is pleasing, they strive to be accommodating, and the little rooms with their mirrors and folding beds create a nice homey space that I felt very comfortable in, despite its tiny size. I had a Queen Suite Cabin and later rebooked another night because I liked it so much. Very good location on 10th and 44th, easy to dash to any event!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi gonomad!

We are thrilled that you noticed our cabins were clean and that we were able to create a nice homey space for your to relax! We hope to see you again on the Big Apple!
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect location. Just a few blocks away from Times Square and Rockfeller Center. Best free breakfast i have seen in the city (i mean good coffee and muffins..). Elegant room and very cosy. Shower is fantastic! ..and you may get a great view on Empire State.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank jph9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hello jph999!
That is saying something; thank you so much. We think YOU’RE fab! For your next visit, the A/C/E subway line is one block away at Port Authority, and the N/R/Q, 1/2/3 and 7 lines are located three blocks away in Times Square. Make sure you grab the in-room piece “Get to Know Yotel in 5 minutes”; there’s a super handy map of NYC with subway stops on the back. We can’t wait to welcome you both back! Please reach out to us prior to your return at reservations@yotelnewyork.com for any assistance.
Jose- Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I booked a VIP Cabin with a reservation specialist Anamaria she was extremely helpful and always available via phone or email. She even gave me a catering service I could use. I hosted a dinner party for Me and 15 or guest. .It looks exactly how it looks in the pictures on the website. It's clean and comfortable.. All my guest were very impressed with the room and the amazing view.. The only downside is we received complaints about the noise from the room next door. It was only around 9pm and the music was not even loud.This is a hotel on 42nd St, Party Central and one of the busiest parts of manhattan. Anyway it was still a good time. I would suggest that if someone is throwing a party don't book the room next to it for people who want to relax..

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizzybee_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi Bizzybee25, we’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We are a refreshing change aren’t we? Lol. Thanks so much for your review! Anamaria is certainly an amazing crew member and we are so happy she is part of our team! We hope to see soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Yotel for two days with my best friend. The location is really great, safe neighborhood, and short cab ride away from meatpacking district. Very close to Port Authority subway too, which is really convenient.The hotel was really modern, loved the white and purple decor, and it was very clean. Staff was really helpful. I loved that we could plug our smart phones in the tv, that is an awesome feature ! I also appreciated the free wifi and the galley on the floor where you get free coffee (lavazza machine). The only disappointment i had was the size of the room; i expected it to be a bit bigger. With our tons of suitcases it wasnt really convienient. We couldn't unpack, there were only 5 hangers next to the bed - no closet. Being girls with alot of outfits, that bugged us a little, but it's not dramatic either. Also, the bathroon floor is really really really cold, because of the floor to ceiling the window (i guess thats why). We had to put towels all over it. We felt as though that window, combined with what looked like granit floor, made the room colder all over. Other than that, great experience, great view on Times Square. Checking in and out was really easy. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Maveve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi Maveve32!
We are thrilled that you had tons of fun while staying with us. However, we’re so sorry you felt our cabins were small. We try to be very upfront on our website with a complete description, photos, and the square footage. We included some space saving techniques that our guests typically enjoy as well. For example, our beds that transform into a sofa at the touch of a button, under-bed luggage storage. We also have different cabin types such us the First Class Cabins with King beds, you will get a bit more square footage.
Jose- Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,806 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 470 in New York City
7,390 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,849 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £110 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing