We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start but a friendly staff member turned the experience around”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #135 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We paid extra for a corner executive view suite but upon arrival were quite disappointed, the room was small, dingy with a sewage smell coming out the bathroom, a noisy ventilation fan, frayed towels and shower curtain instead of glass which caused the water to flood the floor, it also wasn't very clean, we found food in the cupboard and a fake nail on the ground. The view was good but that was about it.
We went and saw a lady at the front desk who was very nice and helpful, she let us view 2 spare rooms until we were happy. It wasn't a corner view room but we still had views of the Hudson river, the room was bigger and the bathroom a lot nicer.
This totally turned it around for us and we were satisfied for the rest of our stay.
Great location, close to Broadway/time square. Complimentary muffins and coffee in the morning but no gluten free option. A few gluten free muffins would've been great but overall a pleasant comfortable stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Georgia_T83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaggy20132013, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Hi Georgia_T83!

We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay, However, we’re so sorry that you had a not so great start with your first cabin, the issue has been addressed.
Please reach out to us prior to your return at reservations@yotelnewyork.com for any assistance.
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,807 - 4,813 of 11,250 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Futuristic lodgings, automated check in and out, push button queen size bed, glass walled shower, all around cool experience. Happening club on the 4th floor, spacious terrace to scope the city from and coffee and muffins in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmacNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaggy20132013, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Hello Cmacnyc!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are experiencing satisfaction at our hotel as intended by our crew members. Thank you again for your recommendation.
Please reach out to us prior to your return at reservations@yotelnewyork.com for any assistance.
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel was very nice and in a good location, near lots of great restaurants on 9th Ave. Rooms were small (as can be expected in NYC) but very nice (futuristic, looks exactly like the pictures on their website) and clean. Only complaint is that the bed was hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattofcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello Mattoffcanada!

Thank you so much for your review! We are sorry that you did not enjoy the bed. Our mattresses are handmade with coconut husk and lambswool; not your typical mattress. We chose them for a number of reasons, organic and high-quality being two. Some guests absolutely love them however, others, such as yourself, find them uncomfortable. We are in the process of testing additional options and do hope you’ll be back once these are finalized!
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Fantastic hotel. Spent 5 nights and was extremely satisfied. No complaints at all. Street noise almost non-existent. This hotel is unique in all aspects from the check-in to the check-out. Personal are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hi TomC!

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property! We can’t wait to welcome you back!
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We have had people on our floor smoking continuously. The policy of a $250 fine is clearly not being enforced by staff as the smokers continued after we had called 'mission control'. They stated security would check the issue but I have been standing in the hallway & haven't seen security on our floor yet.

For a hotel that might be considered by a business person, we requested some documents be scanned by reception. After 2 follow up phone calls, they finally scanned the documents. Clearly a lack of care for guests.

When you walk into the lobby, the staff make no effort to acknowledge you, they just talk amongst themselves. Why are there so many staff standing around when the hotel is predominantly self service? Seems like an unnecessary cost.

The rooms themselves are small. Our suitcases only fit at the foot of the bed as there is no storage so we have to climb over the bed to get to the bathroom. There is an air vent in the bathroom so noisy the whole room literally sounds like you're on a plane. I understand the hotel was designed by a plane designer but probably not a feature I would include.

We have stayed at 5 hotels over our 42 day trip and this is by far the worst. We will not be returning to the Yotel. Do yourself a favour & spend the extra money to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilymay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello Emilymay28,

Thank you for your review. We’re so sorry that you had a negative experience with us. In regards to our crew, we are typically celebrated for our fab customer service, so I am surprised to hear this. We try to be extremely upfront about all policies, both on the website, as well as in any correspondence with the crew. We have certain policies on your kiosk print-out as well; such as our policy on being a 100% smoke-free property.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another try. Perhaps on your next visit, you might like the First Cabin better with 150 square feet of extra space. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly if I can ever be of future assistance at reservations@yotelnewyork.com
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a party of 6, 3 couples. The location was great, and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, on our last morning, my wife injured her back, forcing us to miss our return flights. That's when the staff really came into their own. They were excellent, called the ambulance to take my wife to the ER, then when she was discharged, we were able to extend our stay twice, until she was well enough to travel, without any problem, and were able to keep our room until 4pm on our departure day without extra charge. They even provided a wheelchair to get my wife safely down to our transport to the airport. It's a shame the American medical system is not as user friendly, it's purely after your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikebyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hi Mikebyfield!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are glad to hear our crew members were helpful and assisted you and your wife during that unfortunate episode (we hope she is doing much better now)
Hopefully we’ll get to see you again soon! If there is anything we can do, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us directly at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel and can describe it as quirky, clean and comfortable. Having booked through a travel company for a multi stay trip we didn't know of the "quirkyness" of the rooms. We were quite shocked when we walked into the very small cabin, they describe them as cabins and not rooms. We were shocked but shrugged it off and began exploring NY. When we got back we pressed the switch, turned the sofa into a bed and got in. We watched the massive tv from a lovely, clean and fairly comfortable bed (if a little hard) and began enjoying the quirkyness. We had a lot of luggage as we had been elsewhere prior to landing at the yotel but the room managed to swallow it up quite well despite only having hangers on a rail as opposed to a wardrobe. We also enjoyed the coffee from the communal kitchen which is shared by each floor. One big flaw to the rooms is the proximity of the lavatory. I was made to wear headphones every time my wife paid a visit but that doesn't help the other senses. One of the definite quirks is the yobot storage that stores your cases after you check out. It is worth googling or you tubing for a look. The automated check in and check out was simple and easy. Overall this would have been a four star review but this changed when we used the hotel restaurant for dinner. The prices nearly ensured the loss of a star as a beer is about 8 dollars but the chef well and truly rescued a star. We had a simple burger and a fish sandwich but they were exquisite. We had heard an American family bleating about how good the food was whilst sat next to us and we agreed totally. We both still can't understand just how a burger and chips could be so good, and not bad value for NY at $15. I would definitely recommend you to try one!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello RobertK!

We thank you for your kind words and support and are pleased that your stay with us met your
full satisfaction.It is always rewarding to know that the combined efforts of our entire crew
resulted in exceptional experiences for our guests.
See you next time around!
Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,796 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,388 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#232 of 470 in New York City
5,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,832 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,910 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £110 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing