We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultramodern but noisy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ultramodern but noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Some people may like the science-fiction qualities of the hotel, like the baggage robot and the automated check-in, but rooms (called cabins) are tiny. The bathroom is interesting in that you can see the city from it--and the city can see you. But my biggest complaint is the noise. New York City has an awful lot of sirens from police cars, ambulances, and fire engines. A modern hotel should have taken that into account and made sure that all the rooms were acoustically isolated from the outside noise. Such is not the case. What good is hip design if you can't sleep due to all the ambient noise? In addition, it is greatly overpriced.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe_trotter_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Globe_trotter_100!

Thank you for your review! We are sorry your stay was negatively affected by noise from the streets of the City of New York. We understand completely that our guests want peace and quiet above all else when staying at Yotel. Yotel was built with a high quality window noise eliminator so we are surprise and disappointing to hear this.
If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,299
    3,567
    757
    271
    217
See reviews for
1,462
4,892
666
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,752)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

we had few days in NY for theatre museums , shopping and gourmet experience.
all we want is clean room in the city not being ripped off by the hotel rate and spen all our money to all of the other plans. it worked perfectly, as for us location and walking distance is reasonable and we had all we needed. there were few issues that the coffee machine in teh kitchenette was not working etc... but we did not make a huge fuss about it. for american expectations, the room is tiny, but for EU norms, its fine for budget hotel. we liked it and will stay again.

Room Tip: corner suites are bit bigger
See more room tips
Green Features: no idea we have so many towels one night i think they must forgot some of it in our room so I dont think they are very careful with the housekeeping and environment
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DORDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

In NYC for business, this hotel was small but nice. Close to the High line, close to Time Square. They have a cool robot for keeping your luggage the day youcheck out. Their lobby is cool and they have a nice terrace for drinks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Modern and very clean rooms, fast and free wifi!!!!! Astonishing view !!! Very practical galley offering coffee, tea, water and ice. The crew is very friendly and helpful. The restaurants offer a good service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the west in higher floor have beatiful view and are quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: Good restaurants, drugstores and theaters around!!!! There's also the great and very close Intrepid, Sea, Air & Space Museum!!! Breakfast at the Theater Row was delicious! Food at The West Bank Cafe was also tasteful... And... Staying in Times Square is priceless!!!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Affonso_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Loved everything about the hotel except the bathroom setup. If i had stayed alone, it would have been perfect but staying with another person was awkward. Lack of privacy, glass walls with a thin white curtain just didn't make me feel comfortable.

The pros - great room with lots of outlets for charging laptops, phones, ipod, etc. Enough room to live out of your suitcase/backpack. Great set up of the bed that allows the bed to convert to a sofa position when you're not using it. This gives the room a bigger feel and gives you enough room to get dressed and walk around without bumping into each other. The check-in/check-out process is efficient and fast. The 4th floor set up is nice - huge outdoor deck with lots of tables and chairs, 2 bars, eating area, shopping - it's really nice. One bar was very loud while the other is more laid back and quiet. There is even a gym on site. The bathroom has everything you need in terms of towels/hairdryer/soap/shampoo. TV worked fine. Temp control in the room worked fine. The Galley on each floor was a really nice touch. I liked having access to free coffee/tea and water whenever I wanted. It was great in the morning when you needed a quick cup of caffeine!

The cons - the bathroom set up doesn't lend itself towards privacy. There is only a glass wall that separates the bedroom from the bathroom with a thin white curtain you can pull across. This means that not only can you see through it, but there is also no wall that seals the room. In addition to that, in an attempt to be "modern", the shower is not sealed off from the toilet area so no matter how hard you try to keep the floor dry, the water sprays everywhere and you end up having to use your towel to dry the floor. So although they tried to be very modern in their layout, they are wasting resources by making guests get new towels everyday.

Overall, i would stay here again. I loved the location and the room was very clean and comfortable.

Green Features: I think if they put a door on the shower to keep the water off the floor, they would save resources by not having to replace towels every day.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellermdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Enjoyed the Yotel concept which offerred everything you neeed for a comfortiable stay at a very good price. We had a familly of four in a cabin wih one king bed abd 2 bunks. Space was tight for 4 but since we were not in the room much it didn't really matter and the beds were really comfortible.. Outside terrace for breakfast and evening drinks was also very good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hello Rusty1000!

Thank you for sharing with us your positive review! We are happy to hear that you and your family got to enjoy what Yotel New York has to offer! Weather is getting great so come back again and enjoy a drink on the terrace.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay there. Location is perfect: subway is 5 min away, Time square is 10 min away, bus terminal is 5 min away and there are a lot of nice lunch and breakfast places around in the area within 15 min walking distance.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Had some concerns about firm mattresses because a lot of people mentioned that in reviews but that was much better than I expected.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near "galley" which is a common room on every floor with water, coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeniia_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Evgeniia_I!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! It is great for us to hear that our guest are enjoying our product and services as intended by our crew members.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,843 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,774 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,704 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotelopia and Travelbag so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing