We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High unfulfilled expectation”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #131 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

As you can see in the photos here it's a very new hotel in New York with great design and in a very good location but I think this is the only positive thing I can say about it.

The room is SO SMALL! The bed is like a sofa you can open to a bed which makes it highly uncomfortable to sleep on and once you opened it you have very little space to stand on. The bathroom and the toilets are separated from the room with a glass wall and a curtain, which leaves you no privacy at all.

Now about the cleaning of the room, they clean it very poorly! We had a few plastic cups standing in the room for 3 days and they didn't throw them away, even after we complained about the quality of the cleanness, they just put the chips plastic bag inside them and left them in the room (SO WEIRD! - see attached photo). One day we got out from the room at 12:30 and when we got back we saw they didn't clean our room, when we asked why they said they clean rooms only until 12:00. This is SO WEIRD! I'm on vacation!! It is very likely for ppl to wake up later than usual! We asked them twice to refill the shampoo and they didn't do it. Disappointing!!

When we asked them about tickets to a concert they offered us a ticket in 200$ - same ticket we saw on the internet at 140$, explaining this is the price of the broker they work with and when we asked them about a shuttle to woodbury they offered only the one they work with not giving us the full information that could help us get there in other ways-we did it all by ourselves-they have special interests in this things and NOT THE BEST INTEREST OF THE VISITOR!

When we checked out ( at 11:00 and not 12:00 like others hotels) we had 5 hours till the flight so we asked if we can put the bags at the hotel and they charged us for 10 dollars (not like any other hotel I ever visited that give this service for free) and also expected to get a TIP for it!

So , nice design, but they have lots of little things that made this experience bad for us, will not recommend about it, I learned about much better hotels at the same cost.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank tuti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello tuti22!

Thank you for your recent review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was
not to your satisfaction. Our hotel cabins are kept at the utmost level of cleanliness and we are
upset that your cabin did not meet your expectations. We would like to address this issue directly. On the other hand, we are so glad to hear that you like the overall design of the hotel.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,107 - 4,113 of 11,176 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very clean and quite, a few issues with the TV sound not working, but the folding futon bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. It had a Hump in the middle like a sofa bed and it was hard as a rock. A good bed is everything when you travel for a living a great hotels know this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MARK N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Helo MARK N!

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the bed. Our mattresses are handmade with coconut husk and lambswool; not your typical mattress. We chose them for a number of reasons, organic and high-quality being two. Some guests absolutely love them , however, others, such as yourself, find them uncomfortable. We are in the process of testing additional options and do hope you’ll be back once these are finalized!

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have stayed here on vacation and business. Both times were very pleasant experiences. I will continue to stay here for the convenience, price, and quality. Near the heart of Hell's kitchen, Times Square, and a short walk to Penn Station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ERIK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello ERIK W!

Thank you for sharing your recommendation with us! We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The yotel was clean, the check in process was easy and efficiant, the room was small but there was a place to keep everything so that the room stayed tidy. The bed was a bit hard but nothing that I couldnt deal with.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AMBER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello AMBER M!

It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are experiencing satisfaction at our hotel as intended by our crew members. Thank you for posting your review.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our flight was delayed so we arrived when everyone else was in bed. The receptionist helped check us in and was very polite. The room was just as described, space was what we expected - not great but better than the last NY hotel we stayed in. Top bunk bed wasn't made up for our arrival, there were 4 booked so it was needed and should have been. The toilet door is glass and had slipped on its hinges so it banged off the wall but we got used to it. The door is also short so it doesn't meet the top of the door frame. Even although we are a family we resorted to leaving the room or running the taps to try and cover those embarrassing noises when someone needed to go! Room safe was a plus. The 'galley' was right next door to our room but good soundproofing meant we weren't bothered by other guests using it. The 'galley' was uncomfortably hot, but good selection of coffee, tea bags and soft drinks - a tray is provided in the room and is very handy. Iced water is also available and very welcome.

We opted for the complimentary breakfast of coffee and muffins the first day. A bit disappointed there was no alternative complimentary drink for those of us who don't drink coffee - a bit of fruit juice would have done the job. We paid for a bottle. We made use of the table service for breakfast over the next two days, because the food was so delicious the first time, well done! Portions are large and worth the money (£34 for 4 people) including fruit juice and coffee (refills as well). Staff are very attentive and polite.

The toilet in the lobby area (there appeared to be only one each for male and female in the public areas) was disappointing. It was not kept clean or serviced - toilet paper wasn't replaced when it ran out.

Great facilities for getting online with several PCs in the lobby and printing as well.

The concierge was fantastic. We asked for help in getting to a place to view 4th July fireworks. She recommended the subway to Brooklyn and a place to watch from. It was the best place to be - the back drop was the Manhattan skyline.

We stored our luggage in the hotel, at a cost but we can't remember how much, (not using the unnecessary robot system but humans who were just as efficient). The staff there arranged a transfer to La Guardia which cost $50 the same as catching the bus but in a private vehicle. Great service thank you.

Room Tip: Select a premier cabin - they appear to be disabled access rooms so that may mean they are a bit big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fair_n_Honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello Fair_n_Honest!

We thank you for your kind words and support and are pleased that your stay with us met your
full satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to know that the combined efforts of our entire staff
result in exceptional experiences for our guests.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

You must take to separate elevators to get to your room and out of the hotel. Wait time for the elevators is pretty long and they often do not read your hotel key. This means you will spend lots of time going up and down the elevators until you can actually get to your room. It was like an episode of the Twilight Zone being trapped in the elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CHRISTOPHER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello CHRISTOPHER M!

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We apologize profusely for the delays you experience with the guest elevator. This is not the typical Yotel experience. We have shared your comments with our Engineering departments and all elevators have been tested and passed the inspections.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel's staff requires training in the basics of human interaction. They all look like teenage deer in headlights. With the exception of the bar staff, any conversation with hotel staff results in blank stares that do not convey any sort of comprehension, compassion, or mere social awareness. For the most part, the staff would be better served as Japanese Anime characters than hospitality workers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CRAIG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello CRAIG C!

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your interactions with the hotel staff did not met your expectations. We pride ourselves on our customer service and the guest experience and are disappointed to hear that you received poor customer service treatment. We would like to address this issue directly.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 469 in New York City
11,701 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 469 in New York City
7,331 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 469 in New York City
4,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 469 in New York City
19,572 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 469 in New York City
4,866 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £106 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing