We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #129 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent location within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park and lots of other popular locations.
Cocktails were brilliant, food was excellent
room was small but adequate for what we needed.
Had a brilliant time.
The air conditioning was a bit noisy but slept well regardless.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraineShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elvis G, Front Office Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Lorraineshort,

Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be convenient in location. Some of our cabins are small and efficient plus we have larger cabins for those guests needing more space. Great to read you enjoyed the food and cocktails. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,979)
There are newer reviews for YOTEL New York at Times Square West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,798 - 3,804 of 10,979 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Great price for the location only a few blocks from times square. Room lovely and bed and pillows very comfortable.Also really good shower with excellent water pressure and lovely shower gels.There aee no tea and coffee facilities in the room but each floor has a communal pantry with drinks station and fridge. Free muffins for breakfast were really nice. Self check in was really easy and there is staff on 4 who can help with print outs or any other services you might require. Really nice place, we got a great deal on booking.com for 30% off. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elvis G, Front Office Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Megan P,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be convenient along with our Galleys. The self check in is a quick and easy process avoiding any long lines. I agree with you the muffins for breakfast are great and tasty. Again thank you so much for the review and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Doesn't look anything like the pictures on hotel website. It showed a computer desk. And two bunk beds and a queen size bed. There was one bed and one smaller bed over top of it. I overpayed will not be coming back. 300$ for a box room with no privacy. No towels. No garbage for hotel room and the blow dryer in the hotel didn't work. Horrible

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandacatherinewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Amandacatherinewhite!

Thank you for sharing your review with us! The cabin you booked was a single bunk bed vs the cabin with 2 bunk beds, 2 different cabins. Please note you were granted the cabin you reserved. We are sorry about your to hear you were not happy with that cabin. We have also shared your comments with housekeeping to address with their staff.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

It's a very nice clean hotel. Me and my girlfriend had a pleasant time. The room was pretty small but yet still lovely at the same time. The check-in girl Karina was very nice helpful and wonderful. She genuinely smiled and helped us with all of our questions about the hotel etc...Overall I say it was a great experience and I would go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello Jrunkie!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us! We are glad to hear you and your girlfriend had a good time.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for the following reasons:
1)Great location - short walking distance from Times Square
2)Room: The room is clean, stylish and very well designed. The room size is small-ish but not too small at all - there is enough of room to manoeuvre comfortably and good storage space. The bathroom and bedroom is separated by a curtain not a door which was fine for me as a solo traveller. The bed is comfortable - some reviewers have commented that the bed is hard. It's a bit harder than a regular mattress but I slept very well.
3) Complimentary muffins/tea/coffee every morning - lovely selection of delicious muffins. There is a great selection of teas which made me very happy as a Brit!
4)Staff - friendly and helpful
5) Outdoor Terrace - very nice space, great views
6) Excellent value for money!

There is also a gym and restaurant and but I didn't use them so I can comment.

I have visited NYC many times and stayed in different hotels. Yotel is definitely my favourite and I will be staying here again when I next visit NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Natty_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elvis G, Front Office Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Natty OK

Thank you so much for staying with us. Great to read that you found our cabins to be clean and efficient as intended. Our staff really enjoy working here and interacting with all guests. We are as you mentioned within walking distance or a quick train ride to great places in NYC. We cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stayed in here for 2 days last week and we loved it. The room is small but we already knew that and we weren't in NYC to be indoors so it was all good. Very clean and the staff in the lobby and fourth floor were very nice and helpful. The only complaint i had was the view we had. We stayed in room 2404 and we had a fantastic view of The Convenant House and all their occupants outside smoking and carrying on and lets not forget all the trash outside lined up. Tried to move or upgrade but told there was nothing else available. I would stay here again but i would make sure to get a better view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jeanette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elvis G, Front Office Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Jeanette M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cabin cleanliness and our staff. We are very sorry that you did not have a great view rest assured we will make sure you receive a great view next time please feel free to reach out to me directly elvis@yotelnewyork.com

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel is weird, it certainly wont be for everyone - I found most of the quirkiness annoying rather than fun to be honest.

Checking in - you check yourself in via a computer on the bottom floor, it doesn't take very long and isn't difficult.. but why do I have to do it myself, I am paying to stay there, it felt quite impersonal to me.

You have to go up two elevators to get to your room, the first elevator only goes to floor 4 which is where the on-site sushi restaurant is and also the concierge and a chill out area (which has a few pool tables which is pretty cool).

The next elevator takes you to the higher floors where you will find your rooms. This elevator only works by using your room key - I guess the reason they do this is because there is usually nobody on the bottom floor - so anyone can walk in from the streets and go up to floor 4 without being challenged by anyone. You'll find getting two elevators to get up and down to your room annoying at times, especially if you smoke - as you can only smoke outside the hotel's front area (despite part of floor 4 being outside). The only good thing about the elevators is the funky music that plays and the purple lighting inside.

The rooms are called "cabins" because they were intentionally designed to feel like a cabin on an aeroplane where someone could sleep and wash - so they are very small and once you have your suitcases in there as well, the space gets even smaller. The sofa that turns into a bed is quite disappointing, I was expecting more. As a bed it is not very comfortable and quite hard. As a sofa the cushions are your pillows and again its not that comfortable.

The washroom is separated from the bedroom by a curtain (no door), so if you are not staying on your own, be sure that you are comfortable with the other occupiers toilet/washing manners, because you will hear noises and smell smells that you might not want to!

The location of the hotel - not brilliant, but not bad. A 10 minute walk to the main hustle and bustle of Times Square. New York has its fair amount of homeless people and the hotel has a big bus depot you have to walk past on your way to and from the hotel and a lot of them would congregate there. However, it always felt safe mainly because there are so many cops, other people and the streets are all lit up.

The Yobot they have in the lobby area is pretty cool, however it was out of action when we actually need to use it, I don't know how often that happens, but we had to use a normal luggage storage room they also have in the lobby. We were also a bit annoyed to find out that if you want to store more than 2 luggage cases, you need to pay $2 to store each additional case/bag.

To summarise, I probably wouldn't stay here again if I was staying in the area again. The rooms would probably be OK if you were staying on your own - but the problem is they have forsaken functionality and comfort for style and I was expecting more to be honest.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BR4DY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hello BR4DY!

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. While we understand that our design concept is not for everyone, we are very straightforward about the size of our cabins and include total square footage, photos, and descriptions on our website.
Hopefully, you will consider giving us another chance in one of our larger cabins, such as the Executive View Cabin or First Cabin with King-sized bed.”

Jose - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 468 in New York City
4,922 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#349 of 468 in New York City
18,917 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £113 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing