We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room, unfortunate issues”
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #31 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The room was fantastic. It was big with a great view, comfortable bed and living room area. However, I made my reservation very far in advance and it was not until I checked in did they notify me that there was a huge run scheduled for during my stay. It definitely affected the quality of the service as well as the convenience of our stay. I wish someone would have told me in advance that there would be issues, instead of apologizing with a note upon our arrival.

Additionally, the one time I asked for directions, I was pointed vaguely in the direction I should go without any specific instructions and what she meant was in no way intuitive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandrazimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 3,493 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this property back in 2008 when it was an Embassy Suites.

The refurb is to a very high standard and it is a luxury hotel.

The thing that was disappointing was the lack of staff on reception. On check-in, which for us was around 5:30 p.m. on a Friday, there was only 1 person on duty, hence a wait of >20 mins.

There was a queue there most times we walked past - we stayed there 4 days.

As HHonors Diamond members we got an upgrade to a river view room.

The HHonors complimentary breakfast was not as good as the Conrad Chicago we had just stayed in. The continental version was literally either toast or pastries (not both) and just 1 hot choice of scrambled egg brushetta (which was actually quite nice).

A luxury hotel which could earn top marks with some careful consideration.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Conrad is the Anti-NYC hotel! The staff is relaxed and friendly, the rooms are large and modern, and the location is convenient to Battery Park, the stock exchange, 9/11 memorial, the SEC, and the world financial center (all short walks). As a bonus, there is a large movie theatre almost attached to the property if you have time to kill. If you have time, walking along the waterfront at sunrise is spectacular - and at the end there is a Starbucks in the world financial center at 200 Liberty to cap off your walk. I don't think you can find a better combination of room quality, location and price in this part of Manhattan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel Conrad may be the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The location near the Hudson is amazing. We had our 4-year-old along with us and it was an ideal property. The rooms are huge and having a separate sleeping area for a little kid was great. The bed was uber comfortable and the linens amazing. The building is physically spectacular.

Generally, the service was lacking considering how high end everything else was. I tried to make reservations for the Ario and the phone call was cutoff on the transfer. I called the hotel back and a a random person from accounting answered. Several times we made requests of housekeeping that took forever to be honored. The second time the turn down service came in without knocking, but since we were waiting for extra sugar, it was all good. Trying to get a help with our luggage this morning was an ordeal. The phone for the bell desk rang and rang without anyone ever picking up. A phone call to guest services said that they would get someone up. Thirty minutes later, nobody. I called again and they said someone would be up shortly. I pressed this person on how long it would be, as we were on our way to the airport. Only then did she actually find out we were in the cue.

All in all, if they can get the service up to par with everything else, this hotel will be a favorite when visiting NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of the Conrad NY in Battery Park after 7 nights here. Here is the good, bad and ugly:

- great location, the area is an enclave in downtown NY
- nice rooms, modern and fresh
- great restaurant in hotel lobby and great restaurants adjacent to the building

But, so many problems:
- screwed up my room at check in
- if you have to go to the front desk be prepared for a long line, the desk is barely attended to
- impossible to get anyone to pick up the phone, concierge or front desk. I had to call and just hear the ringer endlessly, this happened all week
- I stayed for a week and during that time my room key or room lock was deactivated at least 10 times. I would have to call the front desk from my mobile and 90% of the time get no answer, so then have to go downstairs to the reception and they would send someone up to open the door. This would take 20 minutes each time. I was late to meetings because of this.
- useless, inconsiderate staff at reception desk and answering the phone.

This hotel is really just a dressed up Embassy Suites that was converted into a Hilton / Conrad. Really disappointing experience, but the worst part about it was the lack of service. Never staying at a Conrad or Hilton again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Walle2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Vikas,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate the quality accommodations you expect and deserve.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a three night break at the Conrad hotel and cannot fault it. We had a fantastic room which was spacious and modern with a very comfy bed, over looking the new world trade centre. The staff were friendly, especially Morris who was very helpful. The hotel even provides free bottles of water and replenishes soap products frequently! The location is very pretty overlooking the Hudson River and New Jersey, such a stunning view in the evening. I will definitely be returning to this hotel. 5 stars.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Lau111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for sharing this review via TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you had an exceptional "First Class" stay with us at the Conrad New York earlier this month. I am glad you appreciated the level of service from our staff as well as our scenic Lower Manhattan location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

What a great hotel! I stayed in room 1013 which was very spacious - the door opens into a living room with sofa/tv, a decent sized bathroom on the right with two double beds at the far side of the room. The room was immaculate with a twice daily service, coffee/tea maker, fully stocked mini bar and quiet air con. Admittedly, I didn't eat in the main restaurant as the hotel catered for our company however what I did sample was ok...mainly scrambled eggs/croissants for breakfast, sandwiches for lunch and bar snacks which consisted of sliders and fingerlings. There are some nice eateries nearby, one called the Blue Smoke which is underneath the hotel. If you like meat this is the place for you!
In terms of location, this hotel is great for business but if you prefer to be in the thick of NYC probably not so good as you'll end up forking out for taxis Close enough to Greenwich/Tribeca area...if you don't mind a leisurely stroll.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#13 of 471 in New York City
588 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#66 of 471 in New York City
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 471 in New York City
399 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#47 of 471 in New York City
3,520 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#25 of 471 in New York City
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#14 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £188 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing