We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkably quiet and wonderfully comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #109 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Remarkably quiet and wonderfully comfortable”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Yesterday was my fifth or sixth stay at this hotel. Right on 42nd Street this hotel is on the end of Times Square and half a block from the 42nd St Subway hub station.

I have to be honest, surrounded by total tourist traps like Ripley's Believe It or Not, Madame Tussauds, and chains like the huge Chevy's draws street crowds that make you wonder what you might be in store for you when you enter the small portal that serves as the entrance to the hotel. But once you pass the security desk and travel the elevator up to the lobby, you quickly escape all of this commotion.

The facility is what you would expect from a modern Hilton. Large clean and comfortable rooms. A friendly staff and a surprisingly quiet experience given all that surrounds the hotel. Of course being perched many floors above the nearest buildings helps.

In the morning I shot straight across the street to Pax for coffee, fruit and a muffin. Yeah, I'm cheap. I have not eaten at the hotel so can't comment on that. But , if you have trouble finding places to eat in NYC you have bigger problems with life - let's not go there.

One other hint. You can approach the hotel from 41st St - and that's also the entrance from which to get a cab. Except during rush hour when hoards of commuters are headed down 41st to and from the Bus Terminal, the sidewalks here are much quieter than 42nd Street.

This is a hotel worth using for business or pleasure - I have and will continue to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbed90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,954
    2,067
    506
    155
    102
See reviews for
1,929
2,104
287
1,119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just returned today from New York. Stayed at Hilton Times Square. Hotel is ideally placed, room was great two huge beds,spotlessly clean, stayed on 33rd floor and had excellent views. Staff very helpful. Will definitely return to New York and will defo book this hotel.
Thank you

Room Tip: Request a high floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suekilloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just a night in town on local business in NYC. Staff was friendly and the room was quiet and clean and larger than most NYC hotel rooms. I would recommend staying at this hotel. It is located in the Times Square area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Probably the 5th time I visit the Hilton Times Square and it's always a very enjoyable stay with a preference for the higher floors which get you some good views of the river and the city. Special thanks to Ceretta McAllister for the excellent housekeeping service!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Hilton Times Square is a real gem, located right in the heart of Times Square. A friendly, efficient front desk staff, modern rooms, a very good on-site restaurant, and all the amenities you come to expect from Hilton all add up to a terrific value. I stayed at the Hilton Midtown about a week ago, and if I had to compare this property (Hilton Times Square) to Hilton Midtown, the Times Square Hilton would get 10 stars, and the other hotel one star. The rooms are QUIET - and that's a real surprise considering the busy locale of this hotel. The Subway is literally right out the front door of the hotel making getting around the city very easy, and if you love everything Times Square has to offer you'll be located in the middle of all the action.

The Hotel breakfast is a great value, and very good too. The restaurant and bar have a nice and delicious menu selection for dinner.

I highly recommend Hilton Times Square

Room Tip: I don't think you'll go wrong. However if you're room is located in the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

the proximity of the hotel and facilities made my all too short a visit a very happy one. Room service was very prompt and food great and hot. Room was very clean and comfortable with a great view. Will definately stay there again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel was super clean, the room was in excellent condition and the views from the window were amazing! We were in NY to photograph the city. The hotel let us leave our suitcases in storage after we checked out so we could visit more of the city before heading home. The man in charge of the bags went out of his way to give us directions, etc. We loved the young girl at the Front Desk who was just so nice to us. I have to be honest...I read a few reviews and wondered what the hotel would be like. Don't pay any attention to anything negative. My girlfriend and I have traveled for years and this is one of the best places we have stayed at--not only the service was super, but the room was so clean and newly done. The next time we are in the city, the Hilton will def. be our choice hotel! The price was right...maybe because it was a Sunday night? I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be super close to Times Square and wants a super hotel, by the way is super quiet, to stay at!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank iamtruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 466 in New York City
7,073 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,982 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 466 in New York City
9,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#157 of 466 in New York City
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing