We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #106 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
298 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights. The hotel is typical Hilton but the location is unbeatable. It's in the middle of all actions of New York City. Times Square is right at the corner, lots of restaurants near by and most importantly the Subway entrances are very near to the hotel and most of the main subways lines connect to the station near the hotel (Time Sq - 42 St station and Port Authority Station).

The check in staffs were friendly and polite. Since I am a HHonors Diamond member, I got upgraded to an Executive Floor room with the Empire State Building & Manhattan view, which is wonderful. The hotel room was clean and housekeeping did a good job. The bad thing is the towels were all really old and there were some with stains on top. I guess it's time for the hotel to change a new batch of towels.

The other complain I have is the service of the breakfast staffs. They were so unfriendly, including the manager/supervisor on duty. Tea pot, Coffee pot, Tea bags were just being thrown on table instead of putting them on table gently. When we requested to switch to a more comfortable seat (i pointed out which seat I would like to take), the manager/supervisor just showed me a stern face and asked me to wait. When he turned back, he just gave the seat to another person and we were left hanging! That was just the 2nd day we had our breakfast there, the rest of the days we opt to eat out (although we have all 6 days free breakfast) so that our vacation mood won't be spoiled by these people.

Overall, I'll come back to this hotel again as it's on the most convenient location in New York City.

Room Tip: Book earlier as the hotel can be full almost everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuteReise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear GuteReise88,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Feedback such as yours is a vital element to the success of our hotel. Our number one goal is to give our guests a perfect 10 experience. I hope your future travels bring you back to us.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,808
    2,000
    490
    142
    103
See reviews for
1,835
2,040
277
1,081
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel, in Times Square, makes all the difference. We stayed first wkend in Of feb. From check in to check out we were not disappointed. We brought our 12 yr old granddaugher who had the best time ever for her 1st time in Times Square, NYC. Front desk and the entire staff was excellent Than the doorman got us in a car driver that we met outside Raymond the driver was excellent took the time to get us the tickets for 911 memorial right from his phone and he had free wifi
The staff went out of their way to give us a late check out Over all great hotel. Special thanks to doorman rodney and Dino for their excellence service and knowledge of the city I will highly recommend this hotel

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gfrancisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent a weekend at this fabulous Hilton property. Booked 2 rooms using Hilton Honors points for the weekend. Both rooms were on the 43 floor with amazing views of the city, Hudson River and more. Exceptionally friendly staff and concierge. The breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection. Eggs cooked to order was an option if you preferred over the egg selections on the buffet. Bacon was crisp and tasty.

The rooms were typical Hilton accommodation, clean, comfy and with plenty of towels!

The hotel is located in the Times Square area but amazingly quiet and pleasant. Within walking distance of many nice restaurants, theaters and of course Times Square! Ask the concierge for her personal list of favorite restaurants.

I am already thinking about making another weekend trip to New York with a stay at the Hilton Times Square!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWithJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel based on its location to the theaters (Phantom - Saturday) & my daughters dance class (Sunday - Dance Molinari).
The staff & bell people were awesome. The room was excellent (except for some type of red stain on the carpet between the beds - that we discovered on Sunday morning).

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELING-1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear TRAVELING-1260,

Thank you for your time in providing this insightful feedback. Thank you for acknowledging our team members and the positive experience you had with them. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope your travels will bring you back as a result of this experience.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a solid entry in the Broadway convenience category. While not as special as some of the boutique hotels in the area, this Hilton offers nice accommodations, a very good breakfast buffet and an attention to customer needs that is rarely found in hotels of this size. We received an email a few days prior to our stay asking for our preferences and how they might make our stay more enjoyable. All aspects were responded to as desired. You don't see that very often. The room service menu is solid and the food is well done. The location is perfect for Broadway, with most theaters within ½ mile. Our only negative was a small bathroom with little space for our stuff and no more than one person at a time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear John G,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your experience. We truly value you as a guest and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again the next time your travels bring you back to the New York City area.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I would never have thought that staying at Times Square was good, but in fact it was great. A subway station connecting you to every part of the city just a few steps away, which is terrific if you're traveling during the winter. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious, clean, modern in the Hilton standard. Vey nice (and busy) atmosphere down at the lobby bar & lounge. A conveniently located Applebee's inside the hotel. Have no complaints about my stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKieling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad N, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi RKieling,

I'm glad to see that you were pleasantly surprised with our large rooms and great service. I am happy to report that we break the mold when it comes to Times Square hotels in both cleanliness and service. Please be sure to let us know the next time you plan to visit us.

Thanks again for the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We were at Hilton TS for almost 1 week and we had a lovely experience. The room was perfect, as we expected to be, had all the amethyst we needed (very good coffee). We had a corner room at the 40th floor with great view over the south( Empire was amazing at night) and you could also see the Statue of Liberty. They changed every day the sheets and all the towels, the room looked every night when we returned as if we have just checked-in! The location is perfect! Close to the bus that takes you to the airport and the 42nd street subway station that take you anywhere you want to go. Also almost everything is in a walking distance(it depends on how much you like to walk-we did this a lot even though it was very cold).
I have to tell you about the front desk service, especially George Tacolod. We had our flight cancelled the night before we should have checked-out and he booked us for one more night and also advised us what we should do. Also the next day the guy concierge was so nice and helped us with a lot of informations and advises. I have to mention also Gaz and Irena who helped us before our arrival in NYC with precious informations on how we can arrive to The hotel from the airport and also Gaz booked us a room an a higher floor for the perfect view that we had.
So, to conclude, we had a perfect wonderful time in New York City and especially at this great hotel that we will highly recommend to all our friends that will visit NYC in the future. Thanks again to all the staff!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreeaFrantisekS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad N, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Andreea A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post to Trip Advisor. The title of your response is exactly what we strive for... PERFECTION!

We appreciate all feedback but it's really great when we get such a positive response that we can share with the team. I will be sure that everyone you mentioned is recognized for their efforts. Your review will also be hung on the wall for all team members to see and prove that their hard work is noticed by our guests.

Thanks again for the positive reinforcement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,851 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,288 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing