We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Trip to NY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #102 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“City Trip to NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

perfect place for a City Trip. Hotel entrace is pretty hidden and some taxi drivers want to drive to wrong Hilton, important to tell them Street/Avenue. Very close to Times Square but quiet and big rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdinand1703 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ferdinand1703,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,760
    1,977
    485
    139
    98
See reviews for
1,800
2,022
275
1,066
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I've stayed in Marriotts and Hilton's all around Europe but this hilton is just amazing.
Comfy big rooms, with flat screen tvs and great channel selection
Amazing view of Empire State Building and the new world trade centre from our room.
Breakfast is a little pricey but 100x better then Applebee's!
The staff are lovely, they helped us book our helicopter experience and offered help whenever you needed it.
The best part about this hotel is the location, a 1-2 minute walk into central Times Square, 5 minutes from Bryant Park and 5th Avenue, 10 minutes from Empire State etc.
cannot recommend it anymore :)
Would definetley return if I get the chance to go back!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLR3256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear JLR3256,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location and the outstanding service we provided. We appreciate this feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Of course, the NY pricing level makes any kind of pricing vs quality analysis quite biased so you need to compare apples to apples, aka vs comparable NY offering. On that front, $600 per night is average pricing for good quality on a week-end night. For that price on the other hand, do not expect any luxury, rooms are standard, size is good for NY standard, bathrooms (especially the showers) are a bit tired. But very quiet so quality of sleep is there.

The service is overall fine, the valet parking works well (for $52 daily). On the negative (a bit) the brunch buffet is very basic for $26 per head. You can get the same at nearby restaurants for half that price. Also, I always find it a bit insulting to pay $13 daily for wifi...when i already spend a more than fair amount on the room and in the restaurant.

This is a safe bet, lacks the charm of comparable boutique hotels but you are sure of what you get. And in NY, safer is probably better, especially if you are travelling with children and want to fully benefit for your busy days after a good night of sleep.

Room Tip: Top floors are very quiet...I got a room on the 43rd using the $35 extra upgrade option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PourJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear PourJF,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments on our service. We constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope your family will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel was in the heart of the Big Apple and perfect. The staff was friendly and the location was located in easy distance to any NYC attraction. The bars were delicious, especially the minus 5 degrees bar!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandiH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear KandiW63,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location and the outstanding service we provided. We appreciate this feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend stopped here for 1 week at the end of April for my 30th birthday, I can honestly say it was the best hotel I have ever stopped in, we arrived a little early for check in-not a problem our room was ready, we were given room 4110 on the 41st and the view was just amazing we were also given complimentary cocktail vouchers as a birthday gift, all of the staff from bell boys to management were spot on super friendly and helpful, room was very spacious and bed extremely comfortable, I can honestly say I do not have a bad word to say about this hotel..well maybe except free wifi in rooms, however it is available in lobby, thank you Hilton for helping make my 30th the best birthday ever, cannot wait to come back :-)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Wild84,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us as a place to stay when visiting New York City. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing next time you're in town!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Pros:
1. Great location for travellers - Hotel is conveniently located to the subway and the Port Authority bus terminal. Short walk to Times Square.
2. Spacious Room - Room is big enough and well-appointed.

Cons:
1. Loose Security - Just stayed at this property last Apr2014. Was traveling with kids and a senior citizen. We were followed by a man (carried a white plastic bag) at around 6pm local time to the hotel floor we were staying. We knew he was up to something because we heard him muttering to himself that he was visiting a friend, but it so happened he stood in front of the hotel room of tourmates. Thus, we knew he was lying. We stalled for a few minutes and watched his moves and managed to get back to lobby. We saw him return to lobby and talked to concierge. I immediately approached the same concierge after the man left and took the lift. The concierge told me that the man got lost as he was supposed to go to Doubletree Hilton. I told the concierge what happened but he just told me it seemed he was really lost because the man handed him a phone number which was a valid Doubletree Hilton number. Still skeptical about it, we left to grab some dinner at 43rd street. On our way back, we saw the same man who followed us earlier. Our eyes met and the minute he saw us, he shouted and caused a commotion. We walked hurriedly back to hotel. Thus, we confirmed that the man was not headed for Doubletree Hilton as we saw him just bumming around the vicinity. The nights after that, we decided not to take our meals around the hotel property as the same guy might just be hanging around. Reported the incident to concierge and hotel security, but not much help/assurance given either.

I suppose security is an issue in this property because the lifts bringing guests to hotel rooms do not require key card verification. Also, the ground floor lift carrying guests to hotel lobby does not have security check at all.

2. Housekeeping Needs Improvement - Housekeeping did change towels everyday and provided sufficient towels for use. However, for 2 consecutive nights, one of the towels provided were really dirty - sporadic black smudges.

Room Tip: Book higher floors to avoid the street noise. 42nd Street gets quite busy esp during weekend nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherr503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Sherr503,

I hope this email finds you and your family well. I read the above complaint and must immediately apologize for the bad experience you encountered at the hotel. Hundreds of persons enter the hotel at any given time throughout the day. Keys are not checked throughout; unless a seemingly suspicious person try’s to enter. Times Square is so busy that indigents do enter all of the hotels and sometimes get past the security officers at the hotels. Our policy is immediate contact and arrest of any trespassers with the support of the New York Police Department.

Please give me the day of the encounter at 6 PM. I already looked at the cameras and cannot find the person and you describe in the elevator. I will then generate a picture to all of the hotels to be aware of this person and to question him if he should ever return.
I was also disappointed to find you spoke to someone in the Security Department; and nothing was done about your complaint. Please describe the person you spoke with.
I have discussed your experience with our Director of Housekeeping and are in the process of making changes to better accommodate our guests and their needs.

Your immediate help will assist me with a thorough investigation into the facts in this complaint. It will help us understand and bolster the Standard Operating Procedures of the department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and brining these matters to our attention. Our wish is that all our guests leave our hotel feeling that they are cared for and respected. We hope that this incident does not keep you from staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Eric Wyatt I Director of Safety and Security
eric.wyatt@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Hilton Time Square is all the way up there. The lobby is accessible by a lift on 20-something-th floor. It's actually right in the area where there are tons of tourists, I sometimes find it a bit annoying surrounded by tourists who are over-excited and often drunk. Having said that, benefits from situating near a big tourist spot means lots of food and shopping choices too. Being all the way up, you can't really hear the noise at the street level either. Staff was OK - definitely not being the most friendly I've met but they were indeed efficient. Breakfast was OK. Room was very big by Manhattan standard - I even felt that the room looks lonely and could use a bit more furniture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT94024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear DT94024,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Feedback such as yours is a vital element to our success and used to train our staff on what our guests expect of us. On your return trip we hope to give you the 5 star experience you have come to expect from Hilton.


Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,784 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,162 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing