We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in the crowd” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #107 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A nice stay in the crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of everything in TS. Even hard to locate its entrance from distance when returning after the day. There is always crowd around the clock and lights in every color in front of the hotel. We took Super Shuttle bus from the airport which dropped us off in the front door of the hotel which was very convenient. Also did the same to return for $16 each at Gray Line Visitors Center which is a few blocks to the hotel.

We stayed in 44th floor and enjoyed the view of Manhattan and Hudson River from distance. Having stayed in higher floor is a must to get a silent night after a long and exhausting day. Our room has almost everything you'd need in a hotel room. A big and comfortable king size bed was the highlight of our stay. Also, the shower was good enough to relax. However, we couldn't adjust the pressure of water, only the heat. No free wifi in the standard rooms, you can buy it for a fee. I wouldn't expect we still have to pay for wifi which is free at most of the hotels these days. Of course, you can upgrade your room and then you have a 'free' wifi! One thing to mention about the room is that there is no sleepers. You need to ask for them. That's what we did. They were very attentive.

One option to have a free wifi is to sit in the busy and noisy lobby. They have a continuous lobby music and also TV sound if there is a sports match on TV. Lobby has also a bar where you can order your drink. Comfortable chairs are good while surfing on the free net or watching a TV program. Lobby area is not a big one. In other side of the lobby hall, you can have your breakfast in the mornings ($25 each). Breakfast is good open buffet but not a comprehensive one.

Check in and out is very fast. They throw the final bill under the door when you are sleeping last night. They have your credit card already in the file. You can grab your luggage and go without a need to stop by the reception.

If we come again to NYC, the Hilton Times Square is the place to stay, that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkaraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear AnkaraCat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that New York has to offer and our property met all of your needs. We appreciate your feedback. We deeply value your patronage and hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,707
    1,954
    470
    138
    98
See reviews for
1,774
1,996
269
1,041
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay here. The hotel lobby is over twenty floors above the noise and hustle of Times Square. Peace and quiet. Peter at the front desk had an amazing ability to make us feel right at home. The bar and restaurant was also a great place to relax before or after venturing down to the excitement. The secret is to always use the 41st street entrance to avoid the crowd on 42nd street.
Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liketotravel067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Liketotravel067,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our centralized location and the outstanding service we provided. We appreciate this feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The guys on the first floor (street level) were funny and personable and very welcoming. The front desk people were pleasant, but gave the stereotypical answer "that all of our rooms are great rooms." My company paid for my stay but when I checked in they said they didn't. My company does several events at this hotel each year and I requested a high floor and had spoken with someone 2 weeks before about my reservation and told me the floor would be high and away from an elevator....I was on the 32 floor right next to the elevator. There are 40 something floors at the hotel.
The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.
The rooms for the conference were a bit beat up, and the staff was just okay. If I was the decision maker for my organization I wouldn't go back....they peaked with the guys you meet when you walk in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJGolfVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear NJGolfVac,

Thank you for posting your experience with us on Tripadvisor. These comments give us a chance to improve the service our team provides to our guest. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your entire stay. We deeply value you business and realize that there are many other locations to choose from. We hope that you would consider the Hilton Times Square again and give us a change to turn your opinion of us around. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Location, location, location! We stay at the Hilton Times Square for short stay-cations. The rooms are luxurious, yet comfy and every room we have had has amazing views.

The staff is exceptional, especially Raquel Ortiz at the front desk. She goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need and honestly she makes you feel as if you were a guest in her own house. Thank you, Raquel!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Betty289,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our property. Raquel is truly one of our top hospitality professionals. She will be happy to know she had such a positive impact on your stay. I hope your future travels bring you back to the Hilton Times Square.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was not looking forward to staying at the Hilton Times Square as I dislike the location and the location in general has a lot of bad hotels including one that has been awarded the worst hotel in America award. I reserved anyway because the hotel was across the street from my main meeting.

I was thus quite surprised that this was, in fact, on the nicer end of Hilton properties. Very big rooms (by NY standards) that are tasteful and not down-at-the-heel like other Hiltons. This hotel has many of the amenities other Hiltons either never had or have eliminated--small refrigerators, chocolates at night, good coffee makers, lots of outlets including by the bed, a decent 24 hour fitness center, etc. The views from many rooms are excellent. There is no Executive Lounge.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingExec53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear TravelingExec53,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our hotel! We are delighted that you felt your stay was way better than you expected and look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We usually stay a few blocks out from Times Square, but when I saw a deeply discounted rate for this hotel I snatched it up and I am so glad I did! It was perfect for our family of 4. We enjoy being in the middle of the activity and busyness of the city. This hotel is just around the corner from the center of Times Square. Check-in was a breeze - we arrived 2 hours before official check-in time but our room was ready so that was a nice surprise! Valet parking was $50 but worth it so we didn't have to deal with it. We were in our room within 5 minutes of arriving! View was spectacular - 41st floor double queen deluxe room with Times Square view. The room was very spacious and comfortable - 2 queen beds, huge HDTV, mini fridge, safe, dresser, closet, modern bathroom, desk, and huge window that opened enough to let in a breeze and the city noise( no noise with the window shut). The staff was friendly and helpful. No free wifi except in the lobby though. I can't say enough good things about this hotel - we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Wendanny,

Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We do try to offer first class service to our guests. I am pleased you consider our rooms beautifully decorated with amazing views, very comfortable and spacious. On behalf of our staff thank you for choosing us

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Payne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hilton Times Square was in a great location close to some amazing restaurants, close walk to the middle of Times Square. It was so nice and room was good size very well decorated, views were amazing! Loved this hotel can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACKS1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear ACKS1977,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We greatly appreciate this feedback. We hope to have you stay with again.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,696 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing