We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #113 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great for going to theater. Lots of very reasonable places to eat on Eight Avenue only 1/2 block away. Rooms are nice size and have been remodeled recently. Some have views of river.
Great bed. Close to subway line also. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear William B,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We greatly appreciate this feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,240 - 3,246 of 6,924 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Did not expect a pleasant stay due to its location in Times Sq, 42nd St. Although the outside was a Zoo of Humanity, inside was quite peaceful. I was very satisfied with the accommodations, except for $14.99 for internet charge/day. It should be free.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Daniel K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback. I'm glad we proved to be a pleasant surprise for you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel's location at 42nd Street between 7th and 8th avenues could not be better positioned. We were on the 29th floor and could only hear an occasional sound from the city below. There are a few downsides which management could address. In the evening, hawkers and street vendors throng the sidewalk outside the hotel's doors. This is a perfect location for pickpockets and bunko artists. I feel the management should take steps with the other merchants and outlets along this area to keep the sidewalk clearer so that people may pass into the hotel or leave.

During our stay, we could feel the vibration from the subway terminal below the hotel. It is not severe, but I'd suggest insisting on 40th floor or higher.

The staff is excellent, except for bell service. I actually heard a bellman order guests out of the guest elevator so he could load a cart full of suitcases. Breakfast hours are great, and the staff fantastic, given the limited area they have in which to work. Food is good for the buffet. The kitchen needs longer hours in the evening.

Room Tip: try to stay as high as possible to minimize street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank George R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear George R T,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing next time you're in town!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Times Square Hilton is a great location if you are a tourist wanting to visit Times Square and the surrounding area. The lobby is a few floors up from the ground level, which is a little strange, but not a problem. The rooms are fine and recently remodeled. The internet was a bit slow. The rooms higher in the tower are further from the street and somewhat less noisy. However, this is a very noisy part of the city. The fitness center is acceptable for a hotel, nothing special, but sufficient for a good workout.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest possible floor, further from the street, less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Eric G,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Feedback such as yours is a vital element to our success and used to train our staff on what our guests expect of us. On your return trip we hope to give you the 5 star experience you have come to expect from Hilton.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Another very satisfying stay at an excellent hotel. Facilities, location, and staff are beyond reproach. Rooms are large and well appointed. Our repeat stay, with our granddaughter this time, couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davidsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Davidsy2014,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our hotel! Thank you for their loyalty to our property. We are delighted that you felt that the facilities, location, and staff are beyond reproach and look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We entered a hot, muggy, room ... still that way three days into our vacation. Moreover, Hilton went out of its way to not honor our requests. As a Hilton Honors member, I made our reservations one year ago for our executive floor room. We requested a high floor with a Empire State Building view with the initial reservation one year ago ... called at 6-, 3-, 1 month, and 1-week before to verify/request our high floor and ES view. They sounded nice on the phone and said they "wanted" to put us on the 41st floor with a view of the Empire State building. I would not have been as bothered by them not honoring the request as to what we experienced with the family in front of us. The family checking in right before us were not Honors members, had made their reservation one week before, and asked if they could have a high floor with an Empire State building. The woman behind the desk said sure, and then when we got up to the desk for our turn, she stated that they had just given their last ES view to the family in front of us. We are on the 34th floor, and the air conditioner fans below us (picture attached) are very noisy and keep us awake each night. You cannot hear traffic, but you can sure hear the whir and whiz of the air conditioner fans ... and could probably hear traffic noise if it was not for the fans. Again, Hilton really let us down. Furthermore, when we called about the mugginess in the room, it was over one hour, and when I called back down, they said they would have something nice complimentary for us the next night ... well, that never happened and was a broken promise. Again, if they simply could not meet our request, then I would have not been bothered as to see them give away our room reservation (that we had worked hard and diligently to have) to the family in front of us (who are not even Honors members). In addition, in my Hilton notes are to be "away" from elevators and ice machines ... we'll, we're three doors down from the ice-machine. The lack of honoring requests is exactly why my fortune 500 company travels primarily with Marriott. In short, great location, muggy room, lousy noise level ..., and complete disregard for the client experience.

Room Tip: Hilton goes out of its way to not honor requests, or keep up with promises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TourguideDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear TourguideDad,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. We take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. I certainly understand that the service challenges you experienced was both a disappointment and inconvenience on your visit. We appreciate your feedback and we understand that you have many options to choose from when making your travel plans. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver the level of service you have every right to expect from Hilton.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've stayed here 2 years ago . This go-round, I brought my children.
The front desk staff (Kenny and Marvin) were amazing.

Instead of valet, we parked our truck a block down the street (a little past Port Authority Bus Station) in Icon Parking Garage. It's a 3 min walk and saves you $15. It's $52 to valet w/ Hilton.

Our room was very comfortable. My only gripe was we were only given 1 set of towels, I called guest services immediately and it took 3 hours to bring us more towels/washcloths. Also, there was only half a roll of toilet tissue and for a family of four, it wasn't gonna work. I called guest services early the next morning and they brought it up right away.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNoire007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear TravelistaDiva007,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Feedback such as yours is a vital element to our success and used to train our staff on what our guests expect of us. I apologize for the service challenges you experienced and have made our Housekeeping team aware of your comments. We deeply value your business and realize that there are many other locations to choose from. Hopefully upon your next visit you will find your stay with us a perfect one.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 469 in New York City
7,256 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#188 of 469 in New York City
8,147 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 469 in New York City
9,767 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#171 of 469 in New York City
11,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £144 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing