We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location was perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #104 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location was perfect”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here during Christmas time and had a fabulous stay. Not sure why we had an anniversary card and treats in our room but hey nice gesture. Room was so clean and comfy beds. What more could you want.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 436Sherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear 436Sherrie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased you felt we were able to meet your needs during this stay. On behalf of our staff thank you for choosing us.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,871
    2,020
    499
    146
    102
See reviews for
1,864
2,068
283
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,392)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Loved this hotel! The location is perfect if you are looking for a Times Square Hotel. It is on 42 St between 2 subway lines and Port Authority across the street. We would zig and zag between the crowds on 42 St and then step inside the small entrance to the hotel and it's like stepping into a completly different enviornment, so calm. There is a larger entrance on 41 St (and a lot quieter area).

Speedy elevator takes you to the lobby and another set of elevators takes you to the guest rooms. Corridors were quite short on each floor so what you lose on taking 2 elevators you make up by not having to walk far to your room from the elevator.

Surprisingly large rooms, very clean, no issues with house-keeping and never heard a sound once inside our room.

My dd's 11 & 15 thought this was a very 'cool' place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msmumx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Msmumx2,

Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us. We appreciate your positive feedback. I hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a great hotel with stunning views over New York City. The room was clean, new and breakfast was great. We had no problems whatsoever with our stay, except for the bell staff.

I regret that both our encounters with bell staff were most unsatisfactory. Firstly, when checking in we handed a box of very delicate flowers to the bell man, instructing him to keep it horizontal and take great care. We watched him throw it onto the shelf on its side, resulting in the flowers being crushed. They had great sentimental value. We discussed this at check out, and were satisfied with the response of the front desk supervisor.

Unfortunately, on storing our bags on check out, a member of the bell staff was most rude to us. Having waited for 5 minutes for the bell man to turn up, we were in no mood to tip. The bell man was very confrontational when we left our bags with him, saying that he expected a tip. As a Hilton Diamond member, I travel frequently, and I have never witnessed such unprofessional and rude conduct.

On collecting our bags once more, and again being made to wait, the same bell man fetched our bags. Again he was most confrontational and rude, saying several times that he expected a tip. When we refused on account of his conduct and delay, he shouted that he wished that he had kept us waiting longer ?!?.

I understand that tipping is customary for good service in such a situation. However, we did feel that this is a core service that the hotel provides, and that tipping is reliant on receiving good and professional service. I certainly do not expect to be insulted by bell staff who had damaged something of great sentimental value to both of us, and made us wait.

I feel we were trying to help the hotel by checking out earlier than necessary, and storing our bags. Instead we had a great deal of delay, hassle and were insulted. I'm afraid that a stay that would have otherwise easily been 5* was ruined by our interaction with the bell staff, which left a very negative impression on us, both as we arrived and left from the hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor, facing the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Djhydrocarbon,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. I apologize that you did not receive the high quality customer service consistently during your stay. I am pleased that you were satisfied with the response from our Front Office Manager. Please be assured that we have addressed this matter with the Bell staff. I once again apologize that this incident has left a negative impression of our hotel. I hope that this does not keep you from staying with us the next time you are in town. Please feel free to contact us when you make your future travel plans. We would welcome the opportunity to provide the excellent service you have come to expect from Hilton.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Each time I am more and more impressed by the ongoing improvements to the property and the courteousness and professionalism of the staff. The front manager, Chad, and the entire front desk/concierge/security/bell men/wait staff are all extremely helpful and accommodating. Even though the hotel is smack-dab in the middle of the craziness and exhilaration of Times Square, once you enter you feel as if you have entered an oasis of calm and security away from the hustle and bustle. A few minutes walk from everything Times Square has to offer, the location is perfect for a city visit. Returning to the clean, calm hotel room at the Hilton is the perfect way to stay for a business or pleasure trip! Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniversary0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Anniversary0723,

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. Our number one goal is to give our guests a perfect 10 experience. We look forward to the next time!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I did not want to stay at this hotel. I was apprehensive because it was on the busiest section of 42nd Street. However, I read other excellent reviews of the property and we were able to get a reasonable price for a two night stay. The entrance is very small and unimpressive. However, the lobby and rooms of the hotel are beautiful.

We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and the hotel clerk upgraded us to a corner room on a high floor. The Empire State Building was right outside our window and the view was stunning.

The hotel is only one block away from the Port Authority so we didn't even need a cab to get to the Hilton. The hotel is also is in the heart of the theatre district. We wanted to go to the 911 museum but were intimidated to take the subway. The helpful desk clerk convinced us that it would be an easy ride. He was correct. The subway entrance was right outside the door and the 911 museum was located on the last stop. Very easy!

The room was modern, sleek, and very clean. Absolutely no complaints.

We were able to see four shows during our stay. They even held our luggage for us on the last day so that we could see a matinee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenofpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Karenofpa,

Thank you for the 5-star review! I am so appreciative that you've chosen us when traveling to the New York City area. Thank you for the complementary comments regarding our rooms, location, and staff. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing next time you're in town!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hotel is close to the theaters and Times Square. The room was clean and the king sized bed was super comfortable. You can only valet park your car. When you go to leave, call about 45 minutes ahead of when you'll be leaving. It takes about that long for the staff to retrieve it from the parking garage. Overall it was a decent place to stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Rich M,

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. Our number one goal is to give our guests a perfect 10 experience. We look forward to the next time!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 8nights to the hotel !the rooms were spacious modern furnished with a spectacular view.the staff was very polite and when we find out that there were no slippers in the room they immediately resolve the "problem".the location is perfect with many restaurants around and theaters.don''t miss shake shak for the best burger in the world! port authority is less than 2 minutes on foot .hope to stay again soon !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleo330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Kleo330,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our hotel! We are delighted that you felt that way and look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,928 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#179 of 468 in New York City
7,837 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 468 in New York City
9,409 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#149 of 468 in New York City
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing