We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel,great location !”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely hotel,great location !”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed 3 nights right at the end of June, great location near to fifth avenue shops, Rockerfeller plaza and Grand Central station, all well worth a visit.

Good sized room with nice Bose room filling sound.We were on floor 6.

Did not eat in hotel, plenty of choice around along with plenty of coffee shops

Would recommend and would certainly consider other Sofitel properties

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,072
    1,688
    385
    127
    66
See reviews for
1,069
2,888
343
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We recently stayed for four nights in a luxury king room, and were very impressed with how clean and spacious the room and bathroom were (especially for New York!).
The bed was the most comfortable we've slept in, and were also impressed with how quiet the room was.
From front desk to doormen, the staff were friendly, courteous and attentive.
One of the concierges on duty (male), came across to us as aloof and condescending. However, another of the concierges (female) was very helpful with recommendations and directions and much friendlier.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidlou48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great location, room was very comfortable and the staff all friendly. Nothing bad to say about the hotel, nor did it blow my mind. Recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canim1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was our second visit to the Sofitel. It was just as good as the first. Excellent location in Manhatten and those beds, how did we ever get out of them in the morning, they are to die for. Staff polite and attentive. Room clean, well maintained and a reasonable size. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avensis_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed in junior suite over the 4th of July holiday weekend in the floor above the one that DSK stayed in during his now infamous stay at the same hotel. This was our second stay here and everything was near-perfect. We booked several months earlier at a reasonable rate for what appears to be one of the slower travel periods for NYC. The suite was large and comfortable and was equipped with the latest amenities. We requested and received a small refrigerator for our stay at no additional charge. The hotel is ideally located on W 44th Street between FIfth and Sixth Avenues, close to the Theater District, Rockefeller Center, and subway stations. We've stayed at other places, including the Casablanca, which is currently tops on the Tripadvisor list, but I don't think that we've liked any hotel in the city more than the Sofitel for its convenient location, expansive, modern rooms, relatively reasonable rates, and its courteous service staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My wife and I spent a week here, flying Continental from Belfast.

We mentioned at hotel check-in that we were celebrating our honeymoon, and the friendly woman on reception said she was glad we told her, and that we'd receive a special gift in our room at some point. I think because of the honeymoon we were also given a room on a higher-than-usual floor (21st). Smallish room, but very comfortable, clean, and furnished to a high standard. The bed was excellent. Brilliant sleep quality. Black-out curtains always help.

Five days into our stay I asked about the gift. A different person on reception said he'd find out about it. Sadly, it never came (I was more disappointed for my wife, not being too fussed myself). Had we never been told about it, I would've given a higher "service" score. I received a feedback-request email upon returning home, and briefly mentioned the gift. The general manager replied offering a free room upgrade on our next stay, which was appreciated.

For breakfast most mornings we went out the back exit of the hotel, crossed the road and walked a few metres to the right where there was an excellent deli: fresh food, great coffee, great granola yoghurts. It was probably 5-times cheaper than the hotel breakfast menu, with perhaps double the serving size. Highly recommended. Popular place.

There are three computers in the lobby with free internet — good for searching the sights.

Location: excellent. Just a 5-10 minute walk to Times Square, yet in a much quieter spot.

The staff all seemed very friendly. Ask the concierge team if you're looking for a good local restaurant.

I'd certainly stay here if I return to New York.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor possible, for best views from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Sofitel New York rates as one of the highest quality hotels we have ever stayed in. From check in, conceige service, breakfast, drinks, dinner and check out, this hotel couldn't be faulted. Having stayed at a disappointing world famous hotel in New York in 2010, we were delighted with the Sofitel New York. The location is fantastic being on 44th Street, I recommend this hotel highly

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winston90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,374 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing