We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable haven in the Big Apple”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable haven in the Big Apple”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Sofitel in New York. After travelling for a few weeks it was great to land somewhere that is pretty central in NY but is also quite and comfortable. Staff were helpful and the rooms well appointed (one thing that was not working was fixed within a few hours of being reported). The downstairs restaurant was a nice "opt out of the cold and bustle" option

Room Tip: Upper floor at the front. We got a good rate in a junior suite which was a very good size for NY
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,030
    1,665
    382
    124
    65
See reviews for
1,053
2,863
338
852
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent two nights and three days at the Sofitel near Times Square. The hotel is very well kept. The staff is consistently friendly and helpful. We stayed in a suite which was very large for a New York suite--especially at that price point. The bed was very comfortable with nice pillows and comforter. The storage for hanging clothing was a bit sparse and the hallway with the closets was extremely narrow. The bathroom was medium-sized and only had one sink which was a bit of a problem getting ready to go out for two people. The suite couches were large and comfortable. Although we didn't have guests in the room with us we could have easily entertained another couple in that space.
The lobbies were well kept and neat. Newspapers were always available (for free). There was plenty of seating in the lobby and several PCs to check e-mail and print out boarding passes, etc...
Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was great tasting. Coffee from the coffee press was warm and delicious. Prices were fair.
Location is good for New York but not quite central. We took in a show on Broadway and walked to it in 10 minutes. Cabs are always available in front of the hotel.
Overall, great hotel and I suspect very consistent in how it is cared for. Accor is a very consistent hotel chain--not much left to chance ever in any of their hotels. I stay at both Mercure and Ibis in Europe often and have had consistently great stays.

Room Tip: In New York in general--higher rooms are always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank str82th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York.
Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations, and we are very glad that we reached a great level of satisfaction with you.
Just taking this chance and tell you that you can always get great value in our brand if you plan in advance and book as far as you can, we have permanently great offers available as up-grades to suites, 4 nights for the price of 3, at the moment we have a great package called Magnifique Romance, with excellent value, includes daily breakfast, a Bottle of Champagne, a romantic gift.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.


Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I had a great time in the 3 days that I spend in Sofitel New York. From the moment I was welcomed at the door to the professional and friendly check in. I would certainly return. My room was very well kept by the room attendant that also was friendly and respectful. What a wonderful experience. I will certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lirio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The Sofitel New York epitomizes elegance and luxury all within a convenient location of Manhattan.
The staff were professional and extremely helpful.

The room was extremely comfortable from the super comfy bed to the elegant spa-like bathroom.

The hotel was in a fantastic location within easy walking distance to all of the major attractions.
Check in & out was very efficient and the concierge service was excellent.

We will definitely stay here again and would strongly recommend anyone seeking luxury and convenience stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ-and-TJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Sofitel between December 25th and 31st. We got a very good price directly from the hotel website. After checking all the reviews we decided to book and we were right. We had had asked for a room on a high floor with a nice view and we were not dispointed : we were on the last floor. Unfortunately a strong noise coming from the bathroom prevented us from sleeping on our first night. We changed room without any pb, unluckily no chance to be upgraded as the hotel was full. The new room was bigger and on the 16th floor which finally was ok. As we were flying back on December 31st at 9:45 pm, we asked the concierge if we could find a taxi easily to go to JFK and he told us no and recommended to book a limo and to leave very early because of the traffic. Actually we left very early, it took us only 45 mns to reach JFK and there was no traffic at all. We will never know if we should have taken the risk to take a taxi or if we were right to book an expensive limo (130 USD).
However the location of the hotel is just perfect, the rooms are quite big for NY and so calm, we didn't hear any noise from outside, just rarely from other rooms and from the hallway, the bathrooms are very nice. A good choice.

Room Tip: avoid last floor noise coming from the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paris75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Everyone we talked to at the hotel were extremely friendly & very helpful!
Our room was great & the location of the hotel was PERFECT ! We were able to walk every where we needed & the subway station was only blocks away.
The room was great & serviced beautifully every day & plenty of room for the two of us & all my shopping! Only bad thing was dry cleaning was really expensive but that isn't unusual for this type of place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandySue_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Staying at the hotel was a wonderful experience.
I could not find a better hotel with similar reviews for the price.
Staff was accommodating, rooms were big enough for a small family and location was awesome. You can have it all in the walking distance enjoying the view and snapping pictures.
Restaurants, Time Square, the Avenues with their stores, shops, bars, the Broadway, everything is right there. Taking the cab once at the hotel is better than own car, if you drive.
The rooms were clean and big for NYC, bed was comfy, a bunch of storage space for clothes, big closets with tall mirrors to check out your new items. The street noises we could hardly notice, even when we tried.
This was first time we stayed at the Sofitel and we will be staying again.
Highly recommend you the hotel for so many things you can experience staying there. One of the kind! Go and see.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
3,491 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,707 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,302 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#71 of 467 in New York City
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing