We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time - even luckier!”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Third time - even luckier!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is our third time we have stayed in a Junior Suite on the 29th floor at the Sofitel.

Each time, we have received perfect service and a wonderful room.

Not all rooms have the 'perfect' New York skyline view - but if that is especially important to you - request a room with the view when booking.

We have always booked directly with the hotel and they have answered my unending questions politely and professionally.

I simply have no negative views on this hotel.

We did have drinks at the bar but did not eat in the hotel as we like to sample as many restaurants as possible.

Room Tip: Book directly via telephone and email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leese25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,168
    1,717
    393
    132
    67
See reviews for
1,100
2,947
352
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Quite possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff can't do enough for you and the rooms are immaculate. Its only about a block away from times square, so location is great as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikewill53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After searching for weeks on the internet for a New York hotel I gave up; the amount of choice and trying to compare reviews had my head spinning, I just didn't want to get it wrong (stayed at the New Yorker last time but didn't want to go back, was OK but basic with tiny room). Passed it over to my husband to find his 6 favourite hotels, within our budget, and I would chose from these. Sofitel was the one that stood out, so it was booked. Wow, were we impressed, we had hoped it would be nice, but didn't expect it be so beautiful. Had 2 rooms, a double for me and husband and a twin for daughter (28) and son (21). Both rooms were fabulous, we had only booked the standard - size bigger than expected, fab big bathroom with large separate shower and a bath. I know you don't spend much time in your room in New York, but just to come back for a quick shower and change before heading out to dinner, to a beautifully cleaned room, gorgeous big soft towels, turn down service with the radio playing classical music was just perfect....and then to fall into the most lovely, comfy beds at the end of the night was lovely. We all slept brilliantly every single night as the hotel was so quiet. We didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel so cannot comment on food (Red Flame Diner a few strides down the street was great for breakfast - around $37-40 for 4 of us each morning from cereal, pancakes to the full Monty). Everything was right on the doorstep and it just was the icing on the cake to what was the most fabulous time for the 4 of us.

Room Tip: We had rooms on 15th floor 1514 double and 1518 twin - we were not bothered about a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrisonfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookeville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived at Sofitel with a confirmed reservation on a Friday at 2:30pm. First we were told that "the system was down" and that we needed to wait until 3 to check-in, which was fine, since that is the official check-in time. At 3, however, we were told that the hotel was overbooked, and that we were "randomly chosen" to give up our rooms, and were bumped to the Essex House. Fortunately, the Essex House turned out to be a wonderful hotel, much better than our previous experiences at Sofitel. However, it was an extremely upsetting experience to be turned away from a hotel at which we had reservations, while others around us were being checked in. Will never stay at Sofitel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank scan1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to ask you to accept our sincere apologies for the issue with your reservation, I can tell you that this is not our way we operate and that can be seen by the majority of the comments you can see here in this site.
As we had problems with our systems (you could prove that it was down at the time you tried to check-in) we were facing after all an overbook situation which was out of our control. Facing this and not waiting for late arrivals which would be much more inconvenient, we decided to react immediately and allocate you in an hotel of 5 Diamonds, remember we are a 4 Diamonds hotel, but we believe that we should compensate our guests for any inconvenient we may cause so we took the decision, I am glad that you were happy with our choice and it shows how we react in respecting the guest rights.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights, through to April 1. The first impressions with the service staff were great, and the lobby area was fantastic (my wife had to take photos of beautiful flowers arranged throughout the lobby area). We stayed in a "junior suite" overlooking W44th St, the room was impressive 60sqm, clean, quiet & comfortable. Bathroom was large and immaculate and the Hermes toiletries an extra treat. The location is great, we walked everywhere from Times Square, through to the Guggenheim, The Met and walked most of Central Park. Grand Central is only a couple of blocks away. We had a few drinks downstairs in the bar, the staff again very helpful and friendly. When we sadly had to depart, again the staff, especially Elvis from the Bell staff were great. My wife and I travel extensively and stay at great resorts and hotels around the world, Sofitel NYC is up there as one of our all time favourites.

Room Tip: The junior suite is definitely worth the extra if you are having an extended stay in NYC. The large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregSteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel for a weekend, our first visit there. The service was outstanding. The rooms were good sized for NY and the location was great. It was pricey but a value for NY. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 974knitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#45 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,981 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
5,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing