We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$208
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$223
US$203
Triumph Hotels
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Omni Berkshire Place(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$266
US$255
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$348
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness centre
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$410
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Mela(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pod 51 Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$223
US$216
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (6,844)
Filter reviews
6,844 results
Traveller rating
4,408
1,799
424
140
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,408
1,799
424
140
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,051 - 3,056 of 6,844 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We came to NYC to attend a business dinner and chose the Sofitel because it was within walking distance to the event. We booked a superior king bed room online, but at check-in we were upgraded to a spacious junior suite on the 28th floor...a nice surprise. We have stayed at the Sofitel before, and we were pleased to see that housekeeping & maintenance have kept the property in good form. The overall feel is stylish and classic, rather than flashy or trendy. The lobby is a very comfortable place to meet up with friends.

Room Tip: Request a high floor when booking, and ask about an upgrade at check-in.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandyTake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Really enjoyed the stay here at the Sofitel. Location was great just off Times Square and easy access to he great shopping on Fifth Avenue. Concierge was very helpful with simple things like dinner reservations and an umbrella on a rainy day. Reception desk was a bit cold and believe it or not - there were Mosquitos in the room and lobby. Nevertheless, I would recommend the hotel

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Arturmaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have been to the Sofitel New York once again, from May 10 to 18, 2012, six years after our first visit, and we have not been disappointed! The hotel continues to be extremely well kept, with a very good service and an ubeatable location.
Since we have booked our stay way ahead, in November, 2011, we were able to get an Extended Stay Deal, with complimentary upgrade to a Junior suite for the price of a regular room, which was simply amazing! It is a beautiful setting, with floor-to-ceiling windows, two flat tvs, extremely quiet (which is a must for my husband and me), a large closet, and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom is very large and includes a separate shower, besides the bathtub.
Everyone has been extremely nice and welcoming, from the room service up to the front desk. The restaurant is outstanding, both for breakfast and diner, and we were contacted twice by the management to know whether we needed anything.
The only minor point concerns the concierge desk, that was a little below the standard of Sofitel employees: one of the concierges was not very sympathetic nor helpful in indicating the exact location of the boat tours of southern Manhattan (we had to find it by ourselves); one other time, with another employee, when we asked for a restaurant reservation, we were told that a message would be left for us in the room, but it never reached us and we decided to look for a restaurant by ourselves.
Anyway, those issues didn't impair our excellent stay at the Sofitel New York. It is high above other Sofitel hotels we have stayed in (Dijon, Los Angeles, Guarujá and we will certainly be back.
Congratulations!

Room Tip: Book ahead and try for the Extended Deals: the Junior suite is amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIA CRISTINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel is one of the most comfortable hotel I've stayed in. Great beds, large rooms, great facilities, friendly service. By far the best hotel I've stayed in during my visits in New York City.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexisCarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

When going to New York, we wanted a hotel near Times Square but also luxurious and quiet. This hotel did not disappoint. Also located near Grand Central Station which was very convenient. The concierge was very helpful. Room was large, clean and very well insulated. They had a small gym which we skipped given all the walking that we did on the trip.

Room Tip: opt for a higher floor for better view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews