We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

First class from start to finish in Sofitel NY. Stayed on the 27th Floor in a Suite (can't remember exact room number).
Service was impeccable, hotel was centrally located near times square and fifth avenue.
One recommendation would be to venture out for Breakfast. Red Flame diner down the street, but also further afield.

Room Tip: Email in advance to let them know you are travelling for a special occasion. If they can, they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandyo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,095
    1,695
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,904
345
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Positive points:
-Employees are great, offering warm welcome and always available.
-Breakfast is excelent
Negative points:
- TV quality: most of the channels were not displayed in a good quality, shame for a "luxery hotel"

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to read these very nice words about our Ambassadors.
We are sorry that you experienced some trouble with the TV quality. We will inform our engineering department so as to fix the problem. Please accept our apologies.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This was our first trip to NYC and we chose the Sofitel after reading mainly positive reviews. We had a room on the 22nd floor. It was well insulated and quiet. Furnishings were nice and the bathroom boasted an excellent efficient and spacious shower unit. There was plenty of marble in existence giving an aura of understated elegance. The only small detail that let it down were single (but significant) cracks in both the cistern and the toilet bowl itself. The hotel staff were all charming and helpful in the best kind of way; invisible unless you needed them, and helpful and knowledgeable when you did. We had booked on a room only basis which was great as there is a great (and always busy) Greek/American diner a few buildings away and an excellent coffee shop opposite. The concierge could be relied on to provide great tips too: he pointed us in the direction of Johns Pizza (2 blocks away) which was excellent value for money (tip: DON'T over order the portions are Huge!) Although if you do order too much they will happily wrap any slices of uneaten pizza individually in silver paper so you can either eat them cold or reheat them at your leisure.
The hotel kindly agreed to let us stay in the room until 2pm on our day of departure at no extra cost which was typical of the attitude during our stay. Room service was prompt and efficient with nothing too much trouble. Overall, despite being a large hotel the feeling was of a small intimate haven where we could completely relax. There is, simply no reason at all not to recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the main street outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Styleseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you chose the Sofitel for your first stay in New York and had a great experience. We are delighted to hear that you felt like in a “small intimate heaven” and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. It is a pleasure to read that you found our Ambassadors to be very helpful and that they made your stay more enjoyable.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Te Sofitel in New York is our home away from home. The staff is like family, not only with us but also with each other. We are welcomed like royalty. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are so comfortable that we bought the feather comforters and the pillows for our bed.
The restaurant (Gaby) is excellent and the entire hotel is spotless. It is located on 44th street between 5ht and 6th avenues so it is located near the theatre district, shopping on Maison and 5th avenues and some amazing restaurants.
You can't find a better hotel in all of New York City!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience at the Sofitel New York. We would like all our guests to feel just like you “Home away from home”
We are delighted to hear you bought the feather comforter and the pillows which are available online.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I returned to NYC this year for another special Anniverary Winter Weekend. Based on our experience last year, it was an easy decision for us to return to the lovely Sofitel NY.
It was surely the right choice.
This unique "Flavor of France" boutique-like" hotel in a great mid-town / side-street location continues to be a most warm, comfortable and refreshing getaway.
The customer focus and service excellence has seamlessly continued from the moment of lobby entry - to check-in - to concierge focus - to room service - to in-house restaurant dining - to fitness facility...thru check-out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmccullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel New York to celebrate your anniversary this year again. We are delighted to hear such positive and kind words about your stay.
We are glad you enjoy the “ Flavor of France” and the attentiveness of our Ambassadors.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you very soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have stayed here twice before and LOVE the Hotel. It is in an excellent location, clean, the ambiance is wonderful. Love that I hear French all the time and the food is excellent.
This time they even upgraded me and my sister and gave us truffles each evening. I love the Accor group and stay in Sofitels' anytime I can. They go to extra lenghts to make your stay pleasant and wonderful. And this location could not be better to see ALL of New York.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your glowing review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. It was a pleasure to read about your impressions. It is exactly the feeling we would hope all our guests experience. We are truly delighted to learn you are staying at Sofitel anytime you can.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Wonderful experience - very large room with beautiful fittings and a lovely large bathroom. Service was brilliant both from concierge, front of house and restaurant staff. Great location near Bryant Park between 5th and 6th. Exceptional value for money for New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are happy that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and the large bathroom with separate bathtub and shower as well. Thank you for qualifying our Ambassadors’ service as brilliant. We will share your comments with our team and are looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,574 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,850 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#39 of 468 in New York City
3,427 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing