We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location. Very comfy”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. Very comfy”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 9 nights at the sofitel NYC with my teenage daughter. Perfectly located for broadway enthusiasts, 5th avenue shoppers and a short walk to Gand central to take the subway. Staff were very friendly and accommodating - organising a late checkout on the busy july 4th holiday to make the long journey home a little easier. Room was comfy, clean and well proportioned. Will recommend to friends and family and look forward to returning soon. Thank you all at the sofitel

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alfieb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad that you had such a nice stay at the Sofitel New York and that you were able to enjoy all the main attractions located nearby the hotel. Thank you for recognizing the service offered by our staff, it is always a pleasure for us to accommodate your needs and wishes while you are staying with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again as well.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,097
    1,696
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,906
345
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent two weeks here. Normally I'm climbing the walls after more than a couple of days at most hotels, but the Sofitel was different. Despite being very close to Times Square it is very quiet. No traffic noise and rooms are well sound-proofed. We don't hear our neighbours which is a real treat. It has been very hot and the A/C is excellent and quiet as well. Usually hotel A/C is horribly noisy but not so with the Sofitel. My wife wants to take the bed home - it is extremely comfortable, the pillows and covers are fabulous. Fittings are of very high quality - Bose sound system, etc. Free wifi is not high speed but works fine for email and voice skype. Restaurant is very good but expensive. Gym is extremely well fitted out, probably the best hotel gym I have seen. Sign up for Sofitel special offer emails, we did and saved 40% so got a jr. suite for about what a room would be.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite is quite big and very comfortable,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillySpuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for writing such a nice review after your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are thrilled to read that you had such a nice experience and that you were able to stay cool at the hotel in spite of the hot New York summer.
We are very much looking forward to your return.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great service. The staff were courteous and very helpful and informative. Great location near Times Square and all the important attractions such as Rockafeller centre and MOMA. Convenient. Great rooms, especially on top floor with good views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ACCC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay at our property. Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York for your trip to the City. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, MA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have stayed at the Sofitel at the Miami airport a number of times, and have always had a fine experience. In our search for a Manhattan hotel that wasn't hugely expensive but also pleasant, I saw there is a 'Sofitel just off Times Square. It did not disappoint. Staff were consistently pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The lobby is well appointed and always straightened up. Doormen hold the doors open almost consistently. The room was smaller than the comparable room in Miami (no surprise there) but not claustrophobic, and the beds are comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was large and well appointed as well. Best of all, we did not feel as if we were breaking the bank to stay there. This is where we will stay in New York in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, our son on the more expensive 14th floor. He said our rooms were compara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted to read your review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York and we are glad that you were able to enjoy your room as well as the high quality of service for which we strive to be known for.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over 4th of July. The hotel location is amazing (walking distance to key attractions) and the room was very quiet even though the hotel appeared fully booked while we were there. The bed was very comfortable too and the lobby very inviting. There is free basic WiFi and free coffee/tea in the morning at the entrance to the hotel restaurant although it'd be nice to have coffee machines in the room (given that this is a 4 star hotel). Also, it'd be great if the hotel had an on-site SPA and/or swimming pool. However, we did use the gym and it was good.

While in New York we had dinner at Red Rooster Harlem (Marcus Samuelsson) and Casa Mono (Mario Batali) and we loved both of these restaurants - very hip/modern and great food. Also, if you are thinking of having a picnic in Central Park go to Gastronomie 491 on Columbus & 84th and they can put together a basket for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing such a nice review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We gladly provide tea/coffee making facilities upon request.
Looking forard to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours,
Softel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband & I just stayed here 5 days July1-July5.I booked through Jetsetter for a very good price.We booked a suite,and we're so pleased we checked in with Daniel.We had made a request for an upgrade since it was a special anniversary.We got there early,so our room wasnt ready.After waiting,he upgraded us to a suite on the 24th floor,with terrace that was huge!We loved coming back to the suite every night,and having he luxury of sitting on the terrace to see the beautiful area.The hotel is great,the staff is friendly,the lobby lounge was nice and relaxing.I couldnt have asked for more.All this is the middle of midtown/times square with no noise at all.Thank you Daniel for your kindness

Room Tip: If you can,book a suite.Its worth it,especially the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmmBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are delighted that you had such a nice stay with us on such a special occasion and that "you could not have asked for more"! Our goal is always to exceed our guests expectations.
We are looking foward to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,857 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,433 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#78 of 468 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing