We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofitel NYC”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sofitel NYC”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great Hotel. My wife and I spent 5 nights in the Sofitel NYC and really enjoyed our stay. Hotel is clean, comfy beds,friendly staff and lovely food. We found the whole experience great and would stay here again if we came back to NYC. Location is ideal and right next to Times Square. Everything is in walking distance and you can walk everywhere from this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris392013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,071
    1,688
    385
    127
    66
See reviews for
1,069
2,888
343
869
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After several recent stays at Sofitels in Europe and Chicago, we were disappointed with our stay here. The location is superb and the staff is friendly and efficient. The problem was the room. The bathroom had double doors that opened outward into the room with one of them on a spring hinge that kept it closed. This half of the door could not be kept open as it bumped into the handle on the entry door if you tried to open it all the way. Accordingly it was necessary to squeeze thru the unobstructed half of the opening. It would have been a much more efficient arrangement had the door been a single one which opened into the bathroom. The tile floor of the bathroom had several cracked and loose tiles which, in all likelihood, created a home for mold and mildew and other things that I shudder to think of. All in all an incredibly unsanitary situation.
The arrangement of the bed and night tables and wall mounted lamps was odd. The bed had been positioned about 18 inches to 1 side so that the reading lamp on that side was very close to the bed and very far away on the other. The arrangement was clearly not that which was intended by the designer.
The other issue was the AC. No matter how low the temperature was set, the room did not get cool enough. I suspect that the thermostat is set to limit the use of the AC and there is no thermometer so one is never aware of what the actual temperature is.
If the hotel had not been full, we would have requested another room. As it was we had to wait beyond the 3 pm check in time for access to our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After spending 9 months sorting this hotel we were not given the appropriate room we asked for and they also wanted to charge us another 70$ a night for it ! Had to wait 45 mins for cases to be bought to our rooms after I had rung reception to see where they were . Overall nice hotel but rubbish service which spoilt it !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh nc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at Sofitel Aug 22-26. We were on the 23rd floor in room 2310. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff were accommodating. The bed was super comfortable. We had requested a coffee maker and refrigerator and our request was honored. Our room had a great view of the city. The hotel is in a great location and it's easy to get around NYC from the hotel.

We were traveling with another couple and didn't spend much time in the hotel, other than to sleep. We did not eat at Gaby, but chose to have breakfast at the Red Flame Diner just a few steps from the hotel.

We didn't encounter any issues during our stay other than a very noisy family of five who were staying in two rooms down the hall. They slammed doors and yelled most of Friday evening. Our friends were staying across the hall from them and called security at 3am, who promptly came and told them to quiet down. They did until about 6am. We mentioned it to the front desk Saturday morning and they made a note of it and must have warned the family because they were quiet Saturday night. They were noisy again Sunday night, slamming doors and yelling again around midnight but we did not call downstairs since it was our last night. They (the family) were the rudest, most inconsiderate people I have ever encountered during a hotel stay. The Sofitel staff were very accommodating with our travel companions and moved them to a quiet room. We opted to stay in our original room since moving us or the rude family would just have made them someone else's problem, and there was a good bit of distance between our rooms. I know that if we had asked, the hotel would have moved us.

The rates are high--our stay was just under $1500 for 4 nights in a queen superior room. But, you are going to pay a lot more anyway in NYC, so if you want clean, comfortable and quiet (again, the rude family was an exception), you may want to spend more and stay at Sofitel or a similar hotel.

I would return to Sofitel and request a room on a floor with no children.

Room Tip: We were near an elevator but were not in a room adjacent to the elevator so we did not hear the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjt079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the other guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for my birthday trip for 4 nights. The location of the hotel was excellent for tourists - most of the major attractions were within walking distance, e.g. Rockefeller, Times Square, 5th avenue, Broadway... The hotel concierge were very helpful, in particular the guy at the door who called taxis for us. The room was extremely comfortable, it was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. We were on the 20th floor and had a great view from our room. The hotel had some lovely little touches like chocolates and bottles of Evian in your room every day. Our room was very quiet and we could not hear city noise, nor other guests. There was free wifi throughout, which was very useful. We didn't use the bar or restaurant, as we preferred to explore the city, so I can't comment on this. We had a late flight out and they offered to give us a late check out at 2pm with no hassle - we didn't even have to ask for this. Other hotels I have stayed in have charged extra for this, so this was another nice touch. I actually can't think of anything they could have done to improve our stay! A great choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaandKieranSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York for your birthday trip and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our central location as well as the comfort of your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing