We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were very happy to be in NYC, Its location is perfect to be close to everthing (bryant park, times square, fifth av, but at the same far enough to avoid the noise and buzz of the city.

We found the room a little smaller than we imagine it but in perfect clean conditions the bathroom had separated shower and tub but both were small than usual, maybe having one option would have worked better specially for us in the mid 30´s.

We felt the staff is a little cold and not really very welcoming but I guess that may have to do that we are used to our small hometown and working is turism in a personalized oriented management that it in a large city like this maybe impossible to accomplish.

Overall we enjoy our stay and found everything in we need, including free reliable Internet service at the hotel public areas and room ,( only need to pay for streaming or really fast internet) which is not usual in high end hotels in our area.

We would like to come back, we found this hotel on Hotwire (undisclosed name until you pay) and were thrilled to have this high end hotel on the price we paid for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2006ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our central location and our internet offer.

We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,000
    1,653
    382
    121
    63
See reviews for
1,038
2,846
336
843
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Over the past few years I have become a big fan of the Sofitel chain and my second longest stay in one was in New York. Trip advisor never lets me down, and this was true on this occasion. The hotel was fantastic for our week stay, the location was fantastic, close to everything, central, couldn't fault it. After a long day we were always welcomed back at the front door and the front desk. The room wasn't huge, but it is New York, but the views were great and the little extras like the nightly turndown and the complimentary water were a nice touch.

Definitely worth consideration for a stay in NYC, but it certainly is not cheap, but not much is in NY when it comes to accomodation

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you enjoyed our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another “Fantastic stay”. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough about the Sofitel. My husband and I enjoy a brief getaway for our anniversary each year. Over the past couple of years, we've stayed at the Four Seasons in both NYC and Chicago. We attempted to book again with the Four Seasons, and to our dismay, the cheapest rooms in NYC this fall were $1200! Yikes! After a ton of research, we found an EQUALLY UPSCALE HOTEL in the Sofitel NYC at a FRACTION of the price. We stayed for three nights for the price of one at the Four Seasons! Not only was the hotel impeccably clean and classy (just as clean and classy as the Four Seasons), the staff was friendly, unpretentious and quite pleased to assist with any needs imaginable. The foyer was stunning and we fell in love with the bar - especially because the bartender kept us constantly refilled with the most delightful tray of olives and snacks. Makes me want to go back now just for that! There were also nice included amenities, like wifi and an ironing board, which one would think would always be complimentary at a nice hotel, but...Additionally, we were able to walk nearly everywhere that we needed to be. It is only blocks away from the theaters and great shopping and eating!

You might be wondering about the noise level from the 7th floor of the Sofitel in the Times Square area. Wonder no more! We haven't slept in such peace and comfort since, well, never! That would include our own home...in our own bed...in the middle of the quiet countryside! We slept late every morning. We may consider a visit to the online "So Boutique" where the bedding and mattresses can be purchased. On the other hand, we stayed very high up at the Four Seasons and we were kept awake all night by eager club goers right across the street.

Let's sum this up: if you like beautiful, upscale hotels, babylike sleep, friendly staff and saving money, stay at the Sofitel NYC!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.
We thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for this specific occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New Yorkon on your next anniversary. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester Essex UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its central location, you can walk to almost all the major sites. Its not a modern hotel so the rooms are not the largest but are very comfortable and well equipped with super beds.Our deluxe suite on 25th floor at the rear of the property had views of the Rockfeller building and was very quiet.We booked breakfast inclusive taken at Gabys Restaurant and this was very good .We dined one evening in Gabys also and surprisingly this was poor, small food portions and very slow service. The bar area was nice and had a good atmosphere in the evenings other then that the public areas are not that great. No real complaints but I would probably stay elsewhere on my next visit where rooms and public areas are larger.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the City and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan as well as you enjoyed your quiet bedroom overlooking the Rockfeller Center. It is also a pleasure to know that you found the breakfast in Gaby Brasserie Française to be very good and we really regret that you did not enjoy the dinner

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The Sofitel NYC is fabulous!!! You walk in from the city streets and the fresh flower smell from the arrangement makes you feel relaxed. The rooms are just as pictured and described. Very comfortable and roomy for NYC, but also a great style. We were on the 15th floor which was perfect. I could live in the bathroom!!!!! You are a block from 5th avenue and 2 blocks the other way from Time Square... Everything is at your finger tips.
Now, I have to share this since I only gave them a 3 on service. The bellmen, concierge, and housekeeping all get 5's!!!! But the front staff, can leave you feeling like they are better than you, do not really want to answer any inquiries, and we asked about a barking dog next door to our 2 rooms we were in and they basically said oh well. I love animals, but when we both get woken up every morning at 8am, not from the noises from the city because you dont hear that at all!, but from this yippy dog, and we say something, and i see the housekeeper cleaning up feces when I walk by, I wonder why the pet rooms are not blocked near each other so those that chose to leave their dog at home don't have to deal with this on their vacation.
Overall great place and even though I like to explore different hotels I would stay here again and again and just request a room not next to a pet :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetotravellocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable and “roomy” bedroom.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you went through because of the “yippy dog”.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
177 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay for a night in midtown and was very happy this hotel. The check was very fast and smooth and the lobby was pretty. Our room was on the 9th floor and faced the street but was very quiet. The room is small but the bed was comfortable and the room seemed to have been recently redone. The hotel is very centrally located as we walked to 5th ave and times square without a problem. I booked through Priceline on an auction and the price was great for this level hotel. I wold stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vacationisfun_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our quiet property and the amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, ACCOR, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing