We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Romantic trip to NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #56 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic trip to NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

NYC was truly awesome!! The Sofitel was very clean and well kept and perfectly located for all the main sights and locations-it was 10 minutes walk from Central Park, 7-10 mins to Times Square and just a few blocks from the Rock. The concierge staff were superb and couldn't do enough for us and so too were the cleaning staff and reception. The restaurant food was good but a bit overpriced and we didnt eat there at all apart from one wet and windy evening so cant really comment on the food.

The junior suite we had overlooked the Chrysler Building and was lovely with all facilities you could ask for-except tea and coffee! Though being from the UK that may not be an issue for other guests!

We would definitely stay there again and highly reccommend it. As a diabetic i need to keep my insulin cool so the hotel had a mini fridge delivered to our room!

We also never had any problems getting a taxi right outside which was very handy.

Most of the staff were french speaking but their english was also very good so that didnt cause any issues for us

I also used the gym facilities regularly and found these very good for a hotel.

Overall an excellent hotel location and staff

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank vicky o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our quiet property and the amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,927
    1,627
    369
    116
    60
See reviews for
1,015
2,786
328
820
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Well located, near Times Square, between 5th av and 6th/Broadway. Stayed for 7 nights there. Nice bed, pillows and shower. The room must be considered big for NYC patterns. Everything in this hotel was very nice, except for the most rude doorman I have ever met in my life. The guy didn't smile. Everytime I asked for a taxi he thought he was making me a favor. He wasn't born to deal with people. Definitely, he hates his job. This guy also practices a sport called ˜bag throwing".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel-FLN-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our Sobed and we are very sorry that your interactions with our staff did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned along with our Human Resources Manager.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This was a great location to view the Thanksgiving Day Parade - we were only a few hundred feet from the parade.All the staff was wonderful from the lobby through the front desk and all the way to the restaurant. Room size was just right and the bathroom was amazing! The room was super clean and had all the great amenities. The fitness room was just right and the Gaby Restuarant was off the chart. See my review. Highly recommend for any type stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSFBigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience, that you enjoyed the amenities in the room and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caceres
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was my second time in New York and in Sofitel Hotel. This time I spent 6 nights with my mother, celebrating her 60th birthday. I mentioned this in my reservation and, upon arrival, we were upgraded to a wonderful room in the 23rd floor and, when we returned from a walk, a beautiful chocolate mousse birthday cake for two awaited us!

What else can I say? The location is just perfect for a first visit to NYC. The room was quiet, spacious, elegant and with a wonderful view. The SoBed... probably the best bed we have ever slept in, incredibly comfortable. The bathroom is large and very well equipped, with very good amenities and a separate rain shower. Upon arrival I asked for a coffee machine, and we had one delivered to our room in a couple of hours. We also had complimentary wifi. And, most importantly, the staff of the hotel is extremely professional, polite and kind. This hotel surely takes good care of their guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vpuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York for celebrating your mother 60th anniversary and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed the VIP amenities in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a junior suite on the 27th floor of the Sofitel in mid November, the hotel is first class in every way from checking in, to the room, to the restaurant and bar, to checking out. The room we had was more than big enough for the three of us and was spotlessly clean. The hotel was perfect for relaxing after a long day out on the town. Couldn't fault it in any way, I would certainly recommend a stay at the sofitel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our quiet property and the amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Ok, here it is. I have to admit it. I went to NYC just to see Bryan Adams at Carnegie Hall this weekend, so the hotel was the least of my worries... But either way wanted to stay in style so my partner and I booked the Sofitel on 44th Street. is the first time i stayed in that hotel in NYC, i usually stay at the Marriott Marquis, but it was a nice change.

The Lobby and the reception are very classy and fancy, and is super well located. The rooms are a bit small, but ok for New York standards. I still get upset at the fact that designers and architects do not pay too much attention to electrical sockets... I am freak about it as you may have seen in my previous reviews... I travel with two iphones and 1 ipad.. i need to charge them... so i had to distribute them around the whole room, including the bathroom because on my side of the bed there was no socket. I know, it sucks. Either way, the hotel is very nice. The bathroom is big and cosy, it has a nice shower and a bathtub. The closet space is a bit small and there are no drawers to fold clothes, so i used my night table, as there is never enough hangers. But it really did not bother me that much.

The decoration of the hotel is very nice, i think it was worth every penny in that sense.

The staff is very french and newyorker, so you can expect anything. Some good, some really trying hard to be good, others don't care... but its NYC.

Only sad note of all, when we checked out, the lady at the reception, by mistake, threw my partner´s phone in the marmor floor... and the screen broke, like really shattered glass. The lady was very embarrassed and kept saying she had to do something... but from saying it never got back to actually doing something... and we couldn't wait as our taxi was waiting outside to take us to JFK. So we lost our phone. Surely hope they inform the manager and he contacts us to offer a new phone.

However, inspite of the iphone incident, i truly recommend it, its a nice, quiet, classy hotel. If you can pay it, go for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adrialvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the electrical sockets and we trust that you enjoy the new phone we have provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#34 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,348 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,340 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#48 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#58 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#47 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#35 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing