We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm and luxury in hectic Times Square area”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #73 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I spent 8 nights here for business and to attend a conference. Overall, a highly positive experience.

From the moment I arrived, service was prompt, professional and gracious. The lobby décor is sober but welcoming -- deep carpets, comfortable sofas, fresh flowers. Check-in was very quick. In just a few minutes, it was all taken care of. I am an Accor frequent guest and received a room upgrade at no extra charge (my rate was about $450 per night including taxes).

My 21st floor room was well laid out with a very comfortable bed. The free Internet connection worked fine. I was near the elevators but the soundproofing of the room was excellent -- it was very quiet.

A Duane Reade (sp?) store was around the corner, handy for stocking up on sundries. As I arrived fairly late in the day and was too tired to venture afield for dinner, I ate in the hotel restaurant the first night. That was just so-so; nothing bad, but nothing memorable. A cappuccino the next morning was disappointing. So while the hotel is a wonderful place to stay, I suggest eating elsewhere. It's NYC, no shortage of choices!

If I could change one thing about the hotel, it would be the location. I am simply not a fan of the Times Square area. Nonetheless, I would happily stay here again.

Note: the conference I attended was at a large Mid-town chain hotel where some colleagues were staying. What a difference! It was like a train station at rush hour in their lobby, the halls were clogged with housekeeping carts all day, the rooms badly needed upgrading, service was lacklustre to non-existent. I was so glad to go "home" each night to the welcoming calm and luxury of the Sofitel, esp on the nights when a trio was playing soft jazzy French music in the lobby salon.

Room Tip: Better views from high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaselTourmaline123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our very quiet property and the different amenities we offer.

We thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for this specific occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,223 - 2,229 of 6,722 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

Invited for a business trip, hence no idea of the actual cost of stay, but a bit scared by official tarriffs as displayed, both in the room (1.299 $ per night) and one morning when they brought me the bill (which they shouldn't have) for a modest breakfast (48 dollars if I remember well, tax included). Room was very pleasant, not too big of course (hey, you're in NYC !) but well equipped, nice light conditions, temperature OK and above all very quiet. Was offered a 5th floor room at first, but asked for a higher floor room, hoping for some decent skyline views of the Big Apple...my mistake...from my 17th floor room on the north side I did see the adjacent high rise on 45th street, but not much more and in return I got lousy water pressure in the shower (above the 8th floor the public water company is relieved of all responsibility for these issues someone told me...). Staff was very friendly and (a must for some people, mainly Frenchies I guess, not really relevant to me, but it does add a touch of "je ne sais quoi") for the most part bilingual E/F. A pity there are no inhouse wellness facilities (sauna & pool in the morning = always great). Location is pretty brilliant for about anything you want to do in Central Manhattan : Broadway/Times Square thatres, Fifth Avenue shops, midtown financial HQ's, musea : everything is pretty much in walking distance from here + subway (42nd St, Grand Central) really close by too. Public areas of this hotel have a certain flair about them as well, not too posh or serious business but just relaxed & classy.

Room Tip: if you want to be higher up, make sure you get a south facing room for nice views of downtown Manhat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68RedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,


We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our very quiet property and the different amenities we offer. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you went through because of the water pressure.

We thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for this specific occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Very convenient location for the visit to the theater district. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was amazingly quiet. I did not hear much of street noise..... ambulance, police.... it was really amazing. i have stayed in many hotels in NYC and it is by far the most quiet hotel i ever stayed

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our very quiet property and our central location.

We thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York for.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Centrally located, close to Times square, you can use it as a home base to navigate North and South, East and West in Manhattan. Perfect location for touristic endeavors.
We stayed many times in this hotel, the higher the floor the better. We were upgraded once to a suite on the 28th floor, with view on the Chrysler tower: fabulous.
Breakfast is not a buffet one, but it is actually better: you can select your dishes, and we tasted almost all of them, all excellent.
The room is large acc. to NYC standards.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JollapParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our very central location, and to hear that you had a good experience at Gaby Brasserie Française.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is cozy and classy , very clean , all staff was helpful and very friendly , front desk is very professionals ans very helpful , I informed the hotel that am celebrating an occasion and they treated me very well and made my occasion a better one ,5 minutes walking from times square, I highly recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaqoob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After paying over $600 for the room I was expecting a lot more. Then room wasn't bad but wasn't 5 star and not worth $600. It only had a queen size bed (no king) the bathroom had a huge crack in the shower tile. The glass shower walls were only 3 quarters high, looked really weird having this framed shower with open spaces where the glass didn't go to the top of the frame. I am sporting a nice cut/bruise on my forehead where I smacked my head on the empty towel rack that is directly over the bathroom counter. Why put it there at head height? The hotel is looking dated. I had one issue which they attempted to solve but only in a way that suited them and not me the guest.

Overall I would never stay here again. I would pay half the price and go to a Marriott or Hilton properly. That may only be 4 stars but the Sofitel definitely isn't 5.

Looking forward to seeing the generic hotel comment that is the same for everyone. "We apologize......." It is easy to apologize via a website but harder to make it right in person so please don't waste my time responding here and just improve the hotel.

Room Tip: Mine had a horrible internal view of nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZTVLR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,741 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,520 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 471 in New York City
3,895 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 471 in New York City
3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £167 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing