We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 days in the "Big Apple"”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“10 days in the "Big Apple"”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I have just spent 10 days at the Sofitel in NYC and once more, cannot speak highly enough of the service, cleanliness and professionalism of this chain of hotels. This particular hotel is well located (I wouldn't stay any further downtown than 44th) and the restaurant 'Gaby' is lovely.
In this case though, I do have one complaint - as I knew it would be cold I booked Gaby restaurant for both Christmas lunch and NYE dinner so that we didn't have to venture too far. Having experienced Christmas at the Sofitel in London last year, which was very special, I was very excited...alas, although we dressed up for the occasion, most guests looked like they had just come in from the weather for a bite to eat...it was nothing special. The same can be said for NYE - not a whistle, balloon or popper was to be seen! Seriously ..... do you not know how to party? Especially when (as tourists) you are so far from home, it would be nice to experience something that is mildly memorable.... we did, unfortunately not the sort of memories that I expected :(

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancing-Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We thank you also for sharing your experience at Gaby Brasserie Française. We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,065
    1,684
    385
    126
    66
See reviews for
1,069
2,884
342
865
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel's location is great. Rooms are cozy but old. I indicated that I was on my honeymoon during the reservation but nothing was taken into consideration for that matter. I stayed in a suite and I can tell you that they are small. The staff is friendly and welling to help to make your experience at its best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank KhaledMansour87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel and that your honeymoon was not taken into account. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have stayed on a two occasions while on business. Centrally located, rooms are clean, a decent size, service is good and restaurant food is good. A couple of blocks from Time Square and lots of restaurants nearby. Pricing is typical NYC pricing....crazy expensive. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York; that you enjoyed our central location and the different amenities. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed at other Sofitel hotels in the past, so we decided to book a suite for 4 nights after Xmas. The suite was lovely. The location was excellent! Just close enough to be in the thick of it, but not too noisy and crowded! We arrived around 6 pm on Boxing Day after a long flight, I was unwell during the flight and felt terrible. What made me feel even worse was the greeting we received, after being shown the restaurant and no porters being available to take our bags up to the room, the ginger haired older french lady behind the desk proceeded to look me up and down and stare at my wedding ring. Now, I have never been looked at in such a derogatory manner in all my life. We recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton and were treated like royalty, may I add they are a much better chain too!! The main problem with this hotel is that the staff are snotty and miserable! The bell man outside and concierge team were not much better either. Just because you are classed as a higher category hotel chain does not mean that you can get away with poor customer service. Better staff would make a huge difference to this place.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problems mentioned along with our Director of Human Resources.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely yours,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I spent seven nights at The Sofitel the week before Christmas. It was my fourth long stay there in the last two years. In past visits, I have loved this hotel, but not this time. I pre-paid my hotel bill several months before arrival. The receptionist, Caroline, took twenty-five minutes to find my reservation and check me in. She kept typing and going to the back of the reception area.

After check-in I tried to sign up for wi-fi. It told me that I was not a registered guest. I called down to the front desk the first day and the second day. They assurred me that it would be working "momentarily". Finally, on day three, I walked down to the reception area. They had registered me (even though I was pre-registered) with my name reversed using my last name as my first and my first as my last.

The room had no towels on two out of my seven days.

These are minor but annoying inconveniences. My biggest complaint, and the most serious, happened the day before I was to check-out. Here is what happened:
1. 7:00 am I woke up with massive chest pain. I thought I was having a heart attack.
2. I pressed the "emergency" button on the phone and told the woman what was happening. I asked her to call 911.
3. Five minutes later, a man called back and asked "may I help you". I explained the situation to him and asked him to call 911.
4. Approximately ten minutes later, a woman came to my room and asked me a unch of questions.
5. She called downstairs and asked them to call 911.
6. The EMS workers came and took me to the hospital.

Thank God it wasn't a heart attack. But three people asking questions and fifteen lapsed minutes before EMS was called. This is unacceptable. After 24 hours, I was released from the hospital. I went back to the hotel, packed, and asked to see the manager before leaving. He listened patiently and told me he was glad that I did not have a heart attack and that they have new software.

I will not be returning to Sofitel. I could have overlooked the delay with check-in, registering me under the wrong name, and the lack of towels. I can't overlook their unprofessional attitude and lack of urgency when an emergency is involved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificHeights7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We regret to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and we are sorry for the problems you have encountered upon check-in in.

The safety of our guests is our primary concern and we have closely looked into the emergency issues you have brought to light. We would welcome if you could contact us at your earliest convenience at sofitel.newyork@sofitel.com to share your feed-back in detail as we could not find a record of this event.

We are looking forward to hear from you.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed Christmas week at Sofitel New York. We loved the Art Deco design
in the lobby and rooms. Staff at front desk and in restaurant were friendly and efficient. Special thanks to May who on Christmas Eve helped me with a problem on my ipad. Delivery by Vivian on 24th eve of orchids was a lovely gesture to two people away from their families. Great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband, grandson and I have stayed at the Sofitel in New York many times in the last 10 years. The staff is wonderful and make you want to visit again and again. The location of the Sofitel is perfect and in a central location. The beds are sooo comfortable and the rooms and bathrooms are very nice. The Gaby restaurant is very good and the wait staff are outstanding in their kindness and attention to detail. Rene Madrigal is a wonderful concierge as is Vladimir Umansky. They are both very helpful and offer great advice about places to visit. I can only say again if you are looking for a great hotel, in a wonderful location that has fantastic people working for the hotel, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorktraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you again and again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,495 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing