We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent New York experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent New York experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Whether you are in New York for the theatre, the shopping, or the sights, the Sofitel's location is excellent. A few minutes' walk from Grand Central Station, the Chrysler building, the Rockefeller Centre, and more, we actually walked all the way to the Staten Island ferry terminal as well.

The staff were wonderful, the rooms are very nice, and the restaurant is fantastic.

A minor complaint would be the size of the bath in our room and the weakness of the shower flow, but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRunawayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.
.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,998
    1,653
    381
    121
    63
See reviews for
1,038
2,843
336
843
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anywhere USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was my third stay at the Sofitel (last stayed in 2008), and it was great as always.

So many hotels have opened in New York since I last stayed at the Sofitel and I briefly considered booking one of them, but I ended up deciding not to take a chance on an unknown property and instead to stay with the tried and true.

There are many things I like about the Sofitel, the most important of which is that it is quiet. Quiet as in you don't know that you are in New York City since you cannot hear any street noise and I have never heard any noise from any of the other rooms. On each visit, including the last, I have felt like I was the only guest in the hotel.

Other things I like: (1) the bathrooms are spacious with a separate bath and shower and plenty of room to lay out your toiletries; (2) speaking of toiletries, I loved that Sofitel is now using Hermes -- very classy; (3) the linens are very nice and the bed extremely comfortable; and (4) the elevators are fast and there are plenty of them.

I also loved the Wifi. You have a choice of free Wifi or if you want faster speeds you can pay. I opted for the free Wifi and it was plenty fast for email, web browsing and a few short YouTube videos. I can't imagine that you would need paid Wifi unless you were going to stream a movie. The free Wifi worked flawlessly and was faster than I have at home.

The room was very clean and housekeeping was great. Loved to come back to the room and find my clothes that I had strewn about neatly folded and organized.

Finally, I have to give a shout out to the hotel restaurant Gaby's where I ate one dinner and four breakfasts. The prices are reasonable for a hotel restaurant, the service was great and I loved the new spa menu options that they have added. Hotel food is usually so calorie laden and it was great to have an option of eating lighter food so I could spend my calories on some of the famous New York restaurants. The egg beater-turkey omelet for breakfast from the spa menu was fantastic, as was the fish and dessert that I had from the dinner spa menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnywhereUSA310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you find our staff professional, that you enjoyed the quiet bedroom you stayed in and the spacious bathroom. We thank you also for your very excelent feedback about Gaby Brasserie Française.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I just LOVE the Sofitel Have stayed here 4 times and all wsere great.
The staff does everything it can to make you feel welcome and comfortable. And it is always nice to see and hear all the foreign languagges spoken there.
The Hotel takes as much care as it possibly can to welcome you. I had even asked for a coffee pot and they had one waiting for us in our room.
We booked a Jr suite this time and my husband was so excited. We were celebrating his birthday.
I have used Accor hotels all over the world and love the deco---particularly the flower arrangements in the lobby. They are georgeous.
The housekeeping were also great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Prissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York to celebrate your husband anniversary and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our satff's professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you again and again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We chose this hotel for both restaurant and shopping locations without being too much in the thick of it in Mid Town; the rooms were of an average size and well appointed. Internet access was expensive and they did not provide break fast on Xmas day!! Location was good and concierge service was good though we had planned and booked our restaurants from the UK. I think this is not better than the other chains and though a French chain and I speak French the use of French in some exchanges was unnecessary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York; that you enjoyed our central location and the different amenities. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I find it difficult reviewing this hotel, if only because it makes me desperately miss it, and New York City!

I had a wonderful stay here in August 2013, my first stay in NYC.

The location was outstanding for us new tourists, as everything was close at hand. We could walk for 3 minutes and wonder amongst the lights of Times Square every night (and we essentially did).

All tourist attractions are walking distance (well, almost!) and it saved us wasting time planning how to get to certain places - we just got up and walked!

The room was outstanding - we were on the second-from-top floor and had a great view out to the street. It made our holiday, it really did.

The staff were very friendly, and while I didn't eat here (I had to sample some of the local cuisine!), we did go to the bar. The bar was a little pricey, but not surprising if you've stayed in a Sofitel before. We didn't mind though, we were on vacation!

Special mention goes to one of the barmaids who let us have a couple of sodas for free when we came in to the bar, parched, after a long, hot, exhausting day. We really appreciated it.

I hope that I will one day return to NYC, and when I do, I wouldn't think twice about staying here again. If you're considering staying here - don't consider it, just book it. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room if you can - it seemed very peaceful nearer the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davieb110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

For the amount that you spend here, I think it was just okay and that some of the other chains in the area like the Hyatt, Hilton, Westin and DoubleTree Suites had better accommodations. Certainly, the service with the piano player was a nice touch, but I don't hang out in the lobby much and I was disappointed by my room which I was told was an "upgrade." It was a corner room, but the room was very small compared to the other hotels I have listed (and I have been to NY a lot on business.) Also note that I did have some difficulty with cell phone coverage from my room.

Great location though and walking distance to Rockefeller Center without the crazy crowds that are at Time Square. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

For convenience, I would stay here again, but considering it is a bit expensive at times, I would not pay extra to stay here compared to the comparable hotels I have listed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our very central location but we regret to read that you did not enjoy your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and trust that your next visit will be more pleasing.

Yours sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

No frills, great location, quiet compared to some. Bathroom door was on a spring, to allow room door to open, and would close with a loud bang if we forgot to control it, which we always did, esp at 3:00am! Not a remarkably romantic destination.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danioro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our very central location and our quiet property.
We are sorry for the inconvenient you went through because of the bathroom's door.

Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing