We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy European elegance”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy European elegance”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Won a trip to New York which we had never been. Fortunate to stay in such elegance! Class to the max! Staff were classy, friendly, knowledgable, and accommodating. Appetizers and drinks were exceptional. My favorite drink was the Grapefruit Cosmopolitan. Awesome bar snacks too while sitting in the lounge having a drink relaxing at the end of the busy day. Rooms and room service were all top notch. Immaculate, inviting and beautiful sitting area with comfy chairs to relax while waiting. Fresh apples adorning the tables. Should it rain, the doormen even provide you with umbrellas. Couldn't of asked for better and can't wait to come back. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,071
    1,688
    385
    127
    66
See reviews for
1,070
2,888
343
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Sofitel NYC met AND Exceeded my Expectations. Same great quality as I've come to expect from the Accor / Sofitel Brand.

Highlights:
Close to everything including food, entertainment, and transportation.
Free Internet.
Great Drinks and food at Gaby.
Impeccable service.
Very quiet rooms,

This Sofitel was in a Ideal location for visits to Time square, Midtown, Central Park and Mid-town Manhattan in general. Very close to time square but not too close. Service was great from the Doorman to Bellhop, Concierge, Check-in, and Room Service. This rooms were large and the bathrooms are spacious with separate shower and tub.
The bedding was fantastic.

I did not hear anything from neighboring rooms. My room was the first room from the elevator and I did not hear any voices, foot track, or even noise from the elevator.

Service was prompt and wonderful. We were even provided a pleasant surprise in our room as my wife and I as we were celebrating our 5 year Wedding anniversary.
You Will not go wrong staying at this hotel. This is nothing to fear nor doubt at staying here.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. All rooms are a nice size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toriabe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your interest in the Sofitel New York and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you appreciated our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

From the moment the taxi pulls up to the Sofitel, the staff treats you like the most special guest they have seen all day. The facilities and food are exceptional, and what you might expect of such a fine establishment in the city. But the personal attention and hospitality---and true desire to meet any need---is extended by the ever-present hotel leadership and his attentive, warm, and detail-oriented staff. I have stayed at many other hotels near Broadway, but, hands down, this is the one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the professionalism of our staff and the service we deliver.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We like to stay at Sofitels in Europe, so chose the New York Sofitel for the chain's reputation. It didn't disappoint.

Check in was fast, efficient, and friendly. We were up to our room, and bags followed within minutes. They were happy to bring a crib for our baby, and even a "welcome" package for her of bath items including a rubber duck!

The beds were very comfortable, and we slept well. Even though the hotel is central (2 blocks to Times Square, a short walk to Rockefeller plaza and about 20 min to Central Park) it was very quiet and calm.

I would definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunerChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very comfy bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
318 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A big fan of Sofitel, alas, the chain’s rates – aside from its fabulous properties at Miami and London’s airports -- are usually somewhat beyond our corporate budget. So it was with great pleasure that I was able to get an under $300 per night “deal” at its Manhattan property for last weekend.

I think of Sofitel, generally, as a four star hotel company – with extras. The big extra is that its service is generally exceptional. And the Manhattan stay corroborated that…from a friendly welcome at check-in to the accommodation of special requests. In one instance, I needed to send a FedEx; staffers sent forms and (big) envelopes to my room when I really just needed to send a letter. Upon inquiry, I was told the hotel didn’t have small envelopes but a few hours later, one was found and sent up. The point of this is not the availability of envelopes! It's that the request was heard and followed-up on in a way that frankly exceeded my expectations.

I also appreciated the restaurant’s willingness to let me order lunch during brunch.

Overall, you get the sense that hotel employees are empowered to make decisions based on staff requests. I’ve found that to be consistent across the brand, and it’s really unusual in the four star category. The approach inspires loyalty to the brand.

My room was small (17th floor) with a bed that was also rather small (maybe a queen or double rather than a king) and there were pluses and minuses about it. I hate auto-minibars, though, again, at this price point that’s not a big deal. The mattress was a little bit soft to my taste, again, a preference. The bathroom had a confounding double door sort of set-up that wasn’t terribly private and frankly was annoying.

But: Great small touches that I really appreciated, including turn-down service, gorgeous selection of towel sizes (including bath sheets), a separate shower and tub set-up, a candle (with matches) and fresh flowers – a big WOW.

So much to like.

The restaurant didn’t have much ambience, perhaps the biggest surprise for a hotel chain with French roots. But what I tried there, from a burger to bread pudding, was good. I think there’s room for improvement on the wine list (Sofitel should go with the French angle and offer a really good France-based wine list for starters).

But overall, loved the stay. Sofitel’s NY property goes on the list of others that are first-picks (including Lyon, London Heathrow, Miami, and somewhere-sort-of-near-SFO) that I’ll book first and foremost, if the price is reasonably right.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you find our staff professional and friendly, that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and that you had a good experience at gaby Brasserie Française.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

she will see that you have all the information you need to book a room to your specifications. (The suites at this hotel are exceptional). Sonia's service lets you know that your experience at this hotel will have a personal touch with her patience, knowledge and eagerness to please. The location of this hotel is perfect in Midtown, and the doormen begin your experience with their helpfulness with your bags and continue throughout your stay with helping with packages, taxis, directions, etc. The hotel itself is lovely and cozy and quiet. Raja at the Conceirge desk is at your service before you arrive with any help you need for dining, or sightseeing. Check in is smooth and quick. The rooms are comfortable, tasteful, and inviting with good storage, large bathrooms and beds that make you feel you are in a warm cocoon! Housekeeping keeps everything perfect. The restaurant is a great place to stop for breakfast, a drink, or meal and the wait staff are knowledgeable, and extremely efficient. This is our second stay at Sofitel and though we travel often to NY, our only regret is that we did not start staying there long ago. It is an oasis in a busy, sometimes impersonal city, and that it what sets it apart from so many others.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious and well laid out with lots of light and some great views of the city. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words on our staff and in particular on Sonia. We really appreciated your feedback.
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel New York and that you enjoyed the quiet of the suite you stayed in. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story. It is also a pleasure for us to hear that you had a very good time in our restaurant Gaby Brasserie Française.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York.

Sincerely Yours
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for six days in Feb 14. The hotel is lovely with an impressive lobby and reception. Take time to look at the flower displays. They are amazing. We had a good sized room on the 16th floor. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The beds are extremely comfortable. The location is excellent, close to Times Square and Fifth Avenue. The concierge was helpful and advised us on shows and also a helicopter trip. The doorman was also a good source of information from good places to eat, etc. We didn't eat at Gaby's but someone we spoke to said it was very good. As someone else has said, the in room drinks are expensive so just be aware. I missed not having a coffee maker in the room but you can pick up a complimentary one to go in the lounge area of Gaby's which was great. My absolute tip, although it is a holiday, is get up early every day and cram as much into your day as you can.

Room Tip: Depends whats important to you. If a view is important, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing