We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #63 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Sofitel NY is consistently good. I stay a few times a year and everything is always clean and well kept. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are good size. Good convenient location. Staff are helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,141
    1,704
    390
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,090
2,930
349
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Butler, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Feels recently updated, beautiful lobby with sitting areas and a quiet bar. Rooms are very nicely done, very comfortable. Arrived to a bottle of champagne and classical music playing when we checked in - nice touch. Here on business so not sure how price compares but a place I would highly recommend. Service also fantastic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our very comfy bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We visited New York for my son's 18th birthday and stayed at the Sofitel for location and a smaller boutique hotel fell. The service was excellent! Rooms were a good size for New York, very clean, comfortable beds, nice bathroom. Beautiful lobby for people watching and relaxing. It was noticeable this hotel caters to business people, but we were comfortable there as tourists.
The location to shopping, dining, theater and transportation was excellent. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Higher floor for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York to celebrate your son's 18th birthday and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just stayed again last week at the Sofitel on 47th street while in New York for business. This is an excellent hotel ideally (at least for me) located. The staff is courteous and usually efficient, the rooms if not huge, big enough and comfortable.
On the downside: the first impression upon check in is quite shabby, with the down lights above the reception desk underlining the shine of overworn unattractive and badly cut brown uniforms. The breakfast area is not so convenient and feels more like a railway station buffet than a brasserie, and the service there is sometimes unreliable.
Still, a place definitely worth considering when in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moscow_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer. We are sincerely sorry if Gaby Brasserie Francaise did not reflect the high standards we set for our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was our sixth four day stay at Sofitel NYC and each time has been perfect.

As a family (a couple with one teenager - we always have a suite) we are used to encountering problems, but it is how they are dealt with and how quickly and politely and professionally which makes you judge a hotel - in the past if we have had a =n issue it has been dealt with quick as a flash.

NOT that we have any problems this time!!! we asked for extra pillows and towels and they arrived very quickly

check in was smooth and quick and our room (2514) was ready and everything was perfect.

We did notice the carpeting was new.

Also the sofa bed had a memory foam mattress which my daughter loved so much we literally had to drag her out of each morning!

We are in love with Red Flame Diner just a few doors down, so I cannot comment on breakfast in the hotel.

The bar does serve the most delightful drinks. My daughter (being under 21) can vouch for the hot chocolate and I must say the cocktails are lovely.

I would not consider going anywhere else in NYC as the location is perfect, the staff are polite and professional and I think it is great value for money.

Room Tip: High floor for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leese25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you find our staff professional and friendly, that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and the different amenities we offer to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights mid-April for my 30th birthday.
On arrival, the very friendly receptionist informed us that we had been selected as their "guests of the day" - we were thrilled! This meant we'd been upgraded to a larger room on the 22nd floor and we also had a bottle of champagne and birthday cake awaiting us - what an awesome surprise!
The room was immaculate and the bed and pillows exceptionally comforable. We loved the walk-in shower and separate bath tub as it meant getting ready was a lot quicker. The complimentary bottles of mineral water each night were a nice touch.
It is located very central and is easy to get around by either taxi or the subway, once you get your bearings that is!
The concierge were extremely helpful. Each night we told them the sort of restaurant we wanted to dine in and they got in spot-on each time. We went to a fish restaurant called Catch in the meatpacking district that we would highly recommend.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying here. Thank you for making our visit even more memorable - we'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel New York to celebrate your 30th birthday and for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property, the different amenities we offer and that you found our staff very professional.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel New York to celebrate your 31th birthday. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel recently for three nights. The hotel is very well located for all the main attractions around Times Square. The rooms are comfortable and have good sound insulation. We chose a standard room which was large enough, but didn't have a view. Only fault with the rooms was that there were no tea and coffee making facilities which i would have expected for the price.

The bar was OK, but expensive and the service was a little slow. There are lots of better options in easy walking distance.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristoljimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#13 of 467 in New York City
3,584 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,465 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing