We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel, still in pristine condition”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
los angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Classic hotel, still in pristine condition”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was a little concerned that the age of the hotel would start to show. it certainly isn't one of the new or trendy spots in NYC. But this hotel can't be beat. Event the basic size rooms are larger than any other you can find in the city. 350 sq ft at least. Nice touch providing votives in the bathroom. Everything is modern and kept up and as good as new. No signs of wear or age to be found.
Soft robes, Lanvin products, top notch all the way and the most convenient location you can find.
Last time I stayed in the area, I was across the street at the Royalton. The Royalton has a more hipster vibe, but the Sofitel blows it away for comfort and serenity. Will be back for certain!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phitnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,097
    1,695
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,905
345
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great midtown location and, if you get a high floor room, also quiet. The lobby is nice and so is the restaurant. However, the rooms are small (even for NYC standards), no coffee/tea facilities available in the room, bathrooms quite dated and honestly the general feeling is that of a hotel of a lower category.

Service in the restaurant leaves room for improvement: we had breakfast there twice with external guests on business meetings and it proved always quite difficult to get a waiter, to be served more coffee and we had to ask three times before eventually getting some strawberry jam.

For the price you pay, you'd deserve certainly more.

It's a pity, as in general Sofitel has got a very good standard, but the NYC's one doesn't compare favorably.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our central location. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It seems I overlooked reviewing this hotel - wonder why? it might be because it was the end of an exhausting 'round the world trip. So my memories are good. This hotel was beautiful - high quality, excellent service, quiet, comfortable and very clean. I could not fault it and would return there, if I was going to return to New York. It is central to everything, with easy walking distance to 5th Avenue and to Broadway. There are lots of nearby restaurants to eat at, including a delicious Indian restaurant up the street where staff were amazed that I knew about Mango pickle and Raita as accompaniments to the meal. I received a complimentary tomato pickle that was to die for - wish I had inspected how it was made! Thank you New York - don't want to return, but loved the visit I had.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syam52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is centrally located on a side street. The hotel lobby is beautiful and quiet; rooms are well-appointed and spacious for Manhattan. Nice restaurant and bar area. Hotel staff is very well versed in customer service - excellent from door person, front desk, room attendants, waitstaff. We visit twice a year for long weekends (3-4 nights) and always stay here. Can't beat hotel and packages offered anywhere else, and nowhere would you feel so welcomed with the attention paid to you by staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This Hotel is ideally located for all activities ,Theaters,dining ,touring..Excellent luxury hotel.The food ,we had breakfast each day is the finest among all hotels in the city.Rooms are of excellent size and all services are first rate

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgesclams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our amenities. We thank you also for sharing your experience at Gaby Brasserie Française. We really appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After a day running around NYC, it's so nice to come back to a quiet, elegant and very comfortable hotel. I've stayed here before because it's lovely and and the location is excellent. The room rate was very reasonable $256 - because I paid in advance (non-refundable.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onesuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you found our hotel elegant and very comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Sofitel New York is a great Sofitel Hotel. The brand should say it all. As I have said in other occasions on this site, if you are traveling to New York City, it is important to define the area in which you have or want to stay. If you are looking for the quintessential Midtown location, this is the hotel for you. Just a couple of blocks from Times Square. But moreover, is the quality of the property, the properness of the rooms and the courteous professionality of the staff, which allows me to recommend this hotel without any reserves. Service and cleanliness. Multilingual staff (French, of course, and Spanish, are easily spoken at the Front Desk). I am a LeClub Accorhotels member, and even if I don't travel as much as I would like to, I had enough points to allow for a great priced room, and not content with that, I received an upgrade to a marvelous Junior Suite.
I was pampered and treated as every guest should be at any quality property, and is easy to want to come back to this marvelous hotel. Oh! By the way, check the rates and compare them with similar hotels: you'll be surprised at how less you have to spend here for, I repeat, a first class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armandele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,432 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#78 of 468 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing