We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Once again, we have had a lovely stay at the hotel which we have visited many times over the last 12 years.. Every detail is looked after in a professional manner from check in to check out.
The location is superb: a block from the center of Times Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you find our staff professional and friendly, that you enjoyed our very convenient location in the heart of Manhattan and the spacious bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,999
    1,653
    382
    121
    63
See reviews for
1,038
2,845
336
843
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 5 days/4 nights in New-York early June and we booked one of the 4 Suite Prestige in Sofitel.
The terrace is amazing with fantastic view on Chrysler and Empire State buildings.
We will come-back for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoulouGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York, that you enjoyed our central location and our very spacious bedroom. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

i rate this hotel very high because i like everything about it but their beds and pillows. it has a great location just off of 5th ave and a stones throw to the theater district. the staff is very well trained and the room though on the small side was very well appointed. the bathroom had very good towels and great Lanvin toiletries. the elevator system was very efficient.
but the bed was terrible, as were the pillows. the hotel needs to test out the beds at a Westin !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmatt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sofitel New York on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, that you enjoyed our central location and the professionalism of the staff.

We regret that you were disappointed with our bed and pillows. We are very concerned that you did not receive the comfort you deserve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Your on 44th street right off 5th Ave. You can walk to Broadway. Your in the midst of hundreds of excellent restaurants. Your just a few steps from shopping 5th and Madison Avenues. you can't beat the location. The people who work there are the best. Try it for a weekend or stay over night if you don't want to drive home after the show.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbrucec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your first stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted that you had a great experience, appreciated the staff’s professionalism and enjoyed our different amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaén, España
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was last week in this hotel in Honey Moon in room 2223. No compliment at all from staff from hotel. Basic price for the room they charged me was 660 US$ per night plus taxes......no cheap at all. Nobody to help you with lugagge to room. You have to carry yourself as in a Formula 1.

Room was so small, even there was no place no open completely our suitcase and Bed was unusually small. On next morning at 14:30 I arrived at the room from walk and still was undone. It is true that 5 minutes later they were asking to me when could be made.

My room had upon our arrival a deep smell to cigarrete. At that time I did not say anything, for not making my wife to be more dissapointed, but I said at the time of checking out. The man attending me said that he had to talk to somebody, but of course he would give me an answer by e-mail. Now I see he was a cheater as absolutely nothing came from them at least to apologize.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Midosaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you were disappointed with the size of the rooms and the experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. We are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve for your Honey Moon.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our central location. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I am not used to write such bad reviews, especially after all the good experiences we recently had in the USA.
This property should not be allowed to put a "Sofitel" sign on their front door. It hurts the Sofitel image.
An over crowed check in area with only 2 staff checking in guest at a snail pace.
After 10 minutes waiting I went to "search" for more staff and asked them to go to the reception and help their colleagues.
The suite we got was a huge disappointment, we were to move a a slightly better one but decided not waste time and re- and unpacking again and again.
The Platinum (the highest tier at Accor hotels) welcome present is a 300ml water bottle and 4 mini chocolates. Budget Hotel ?
The luggage was dumped in the room after more than 30 minutes waiting
The concierge send us to a fully booked restaurant and we were turned away upon arrival.
The blankets for the sofa bed for our 9 year old were never delivered.
The very arrogant front desk staff simply ignored me when I went down to collect the sheets and the blankets because my 9 year old was sleeping on the sofa without cover in the mean time.
Coffee and tea set up is only delivered upon request. It took them 2 hours to bring it up and again it was simply dumped in the hall way of the suite.
The TV stopped working at 11:30pm. I did not even bother to call them.
In order to compensate me for all the inconvenience I was offered a rate reduction of 200USD for the remainder of my stay. (this would be 3 nights x 200usd = 600usd). Upon check out I was told that my bill would be adjusted with 200USD flat.
Instead of crediting my account with 200USD it was charged 859USD. When calling the front desk and asking to speak to the staff whom made the 859usd charge I was told that this was not possible because this person was busy making reports.
It seems they have a problem to understand the difference between credit and debit. They also have a mountain of problem accounting system resulting in credit cards being charged wrongly.
The front desk staff is very defensive, arrogant, and has a problem to understand what is customer service. This is the first Sofitel hotel we will give a miss in the future. Sad story

the good on this hotel ?
Excellent bed.
Location.
Descent (but too expensive breakfast
Doormen - super guys - hard working and efficient (they should train the rest of the staff inclusive management)
.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

We regret that you were disappointing by the suite and the issues you had with your bill .We regret that you experienced an inattentive service of our staff. We strive for the highest level of professionalism and we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our beds, the central location and the breakfast. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just an overnight stay - but nice hotel in great location. Good service from a very thoughtful staff and very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Room was cheerful and very clean and even had a decent view.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience, that you enjoyed our quiet property, and our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York for another stay. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Sofitel New York Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing