We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“midtown comfort”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #63 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“midtown comfort”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed over the 4th of July. Booked a suite with a terrace but was upgraded to the presidential suite rooms 2805 and 2806. It was a delightfully huge set of rooms but was disappointed to not have a sofabed which was guaranteed to us in the original reservation. Needless to say, it all worked out and we were happy with both the service and the cleanliness. Service was always speedy and helpful. My only complaint was that I was charged for 6 bottles from the minibar which we never drank and will hopefully work out with the hotel. I made the mistake of taking some bottles out of the fridge to cool some water I bought but would hope a hotel of this level would do a bottle count or simply see the bottles I put on top of the fridge...
Hotel is in a great location if you want to be close to Times Square and the theaters.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviennnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to know that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our property and the different amenities we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,137
    1,703
    389
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,089
2,926
349
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The room was clean, but the hotel's service was spotty at best. Twice called for service to the room (towels/water) not delivered. Also got checked into a room that had people already staying in it...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel New York again and for taking the time to share your comments.

We are sincerely sorry that our housecleaning service did not reflect the high standards of our hotel. We also apologize for the confusion at the check-in. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value our guests and your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct this towel problem.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel New York.

Sincerely yours,

Marc Pichot
Hotel Manger
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have never been disappointed when staying at a Sofitel. The New York location is right where you want to be - on 44th between 5th and 6th. Once inside it's all first class and quiet. Down the street toward 6th Ave is the Red Flame Restaurant - a great place to have a good, reasonably priced breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenRonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Sofitel New York and that you enjoyed our very central location. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Me and my wife were celebrating our one year wedding anniversary, for my wife has never been to the city and I thought it would be nice to stay at a luxurious hotel. Boy, was I wrong. Greeted with very snobby staff who tried to double charge my card, then handed it back to me and said it was no good, which is embarrassing to say the least. Very difficult to understand anyone there as far as English goes. We purchased a skyscraper suite with a guaranteed floor of 24 or above, we received a suite on the 17th floor with a very poor view of the city, old buildings and the street. We moved some items around in the mini-bar because they had no fridge (or microwave) to place our waters in there and when we were checking out, they tried to charge us over $80 in items we didn't drink, which we found out the mini-bar has sensors on it that alerts the front desk to charge the room if the item is moved from its place. The building is very old and so are the rooms, carpet looks like it's deteriorating and it felt like you're in a retirement home. Don't waste your money here, go somewhere nicer, especially if you're paying a big chunk for a suite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOffices, Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

We regret that you couldn’t experience the best stay for your wedding anniversary. We are sorry that you were incorrectly billed following your check-out and regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known for around the world.

Sincerely,
Marc Pichot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 466 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,581 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 466 in New York City
2,909 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 466 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing